We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat
Save
You added Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat to your Saves list
620 Fiddlehead Lane, Valdez, AK 99686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Valdez B&B and Inns
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A really great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Wild Roses By The Sea B&B in Sept 2011 for 3 nights. We stayed downstairs in the Ocean View Guest House and we really enjoyed our stay. I don't think anyone could stay with Rose without becoming friends. She is incredibly sweet and runs a fantastic B&B. Her breakfast are great and she keeps the B&B very nice. The views are to die for, the location is superb, our room was very large, clean and nicely decorated. I highly recommend this B&B and I do this with hesitation because this is a place I'd like to keep a secret. I only hope that we can return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our 2 nights in the Sea view room in September were top notch. Some stays are just a place to rest your head after an exciting day discovering Alaska, others are special and contribute to making your holiday. A great location just 5 minutes out of town with an amazing view over to the Glacier. Rose's house was warm and inviting, and she together with Abby (the friendliest dog ever) made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is homemade and changes each day. My favourite was the fresh banana bread and my partner loved the reindeer sausage. We enjoyed getting to know Rose and the other guests and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. There's just 3 rooms and i did hear a few negative experiences of other options in town... My tip - book this one in advance to avoid disappointment!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at wild Roses by theSea in the canyon view room. Wonderful experince. Very clean and nicely decorated. Rose was wonderful. She even brought breakfast and coffee to our room. Would definetly stay there again. Beautiful home with wonderful view. Rose is also a great cook.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for two nights on our way to McCarthy and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Our suite was clean and extremely spacious, and the spa tub was heaven sent after an active day hiking around the local area. The hostess was very attentive, and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The views of Prince William Sound from the living room and the front of the house were spectacular, especially in the morning or late afternoon. Also available in the living room were numerous booklets and publications about Alaska in general and Valdez in particular that proved to be quite helpful in planning our daily agenda.
We enjoyed our stay here very much and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Rose was the perfect host & the view of Prince William Sound from the living room & our bedroom was a magnificent one! Rose made us feel right at home & cooked us a lovely breakfast before we headed out on our glacier cruise and fixed us a to-go breakfast for our early departure the next morning. Hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We recently spent two nights at Wild Rose's By the Sea. We loved relaxing in the comfortable living room with the gorgeous view of the water and mountains. Our bed was comfortable, our room and bathroom spacious and clean and Rose's delicious, plentiful and beautifully prepared breakfasts kept us going all day. We especially enjoyed getting to know Rose!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

What can I say, "Roses" was our first stop and introduction to Alaska and Valdez and it was just the best. We stepped out of the taxi ($12 for 2 from town), looked over the wildflowers in the garden to Prince William Sound and the mountains (with glacier!) beyond. Beautiful, like a postcard. We went inside, Rose wasn't there to greet us but had left a welcome note, put on the slippers inside the door, and were greeted with soft music, beautiful decore, a lovely cosy home and that view out of the big picture windows. We made ourselves a cup of coffee, stepped out onto the balcony to see a black bear below, it doesn't get much better than that. Rose is a hostess extroadinaire, nothing was too much trouble. Her breakfasts were amazing, yoghurt and fresh fruit/berries, eggs as flans, quiches, souffles and then to top it off "crumbles" and "crisps"! All this just for brekky. It is a couple of miles out of town, Anadyr who we did our kayak trips with did a pick up drop off service, but you may want to think about car hire for a bit more freedom to get around. Its an easy walk from town if you dont mind the risk of running into a bear or two! We had 4 nights with Rose and were really sorry to leave her, what a special lady. If you're considering Valdez, you wont do any better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat

Address: 620 Fiddlehead Lane, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.