We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Worthington Glacier Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangaea Adventures Day Tours

Pangaea Adventures Day Tours
107 N. Harbor Dr., Valdez, AK 99686
1.907.835.8442
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Worthington Glacier Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went on a full day hike on Worthington Glacier with our guide Eric. It was an amazing experience to be right on the glacier and to be so close to the ice. It really impressed upon us the incredible power of nature and time. We saw successively larger crevasses and moulins, Eric had great knowledge of the glacier and could point us towards the most impressive structures in the ice. He also helped make the experience safe by showing us how to use our crampons and how to safely get up the ice. It was our first time using crampons and being on a glacier, but it wasn't too challenging. I would recommend that someone doing the full day hike be a comfortable hiking up a relatively steep hill, but it's not very demanding. But if you want this experience and something less strenuous, I heard that they also offer a half-day hike. However, I think that the full day hike was worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    16
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Freezing trip but warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

In 2012 (early Aug.), we took the Columbia Glacier full day trip that included a ferry ride and kayaking. It just happened to be one of the coldest days of the season and raining (as it usually is on the coast). Even though we were freezing, we had a wonderful time! Warning to anyone taking this trip, it will be colder on the water near the glacier than it is on land and even though they provide gloves, I recommend an under-layer! The guide (Zach?) was very understanding and did everything he could to keep us positive, including as much hot tea and hot cocoa as we wanted! :) We maneuvered around many beautiful icebergs and did a lot of exploring. One nice thing about a cloudy/rainy day is how blue the ice is! Thanks for the adventure, guys!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool experience to Shoup Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Glacier was neat, and especially liked the black-legged kittiwake rookery - simply amazing. Kayaking was easy with very helpful guides

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevasseret Zion, Israel
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on a Columbia glacier one day kayaking. The company provides all equipment needed. Zach and Mag were our guides and they were terrific. Really funny, knowledgable, helping u with all your needs, very very patient, taking pic of u when u on the kayak etc... Zach is local, a d has explained to us a lot about Valdez. His sense of humor is incredible! Although it was raining and cold- we had great time. The scenary is amazing, and paddling in between the icebergs is awesome. I fully recommend this company and tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Some friends and I did the columbia glacier kayak with Dooley. He did a great job. Super easy going and enjoyable. Felt like he was one of the friends. He brought us to some awesome areas in the ice fields, and very knowledgable. He answered all the questions we had. I recommended these guys to other friends too and I will definitely go out with these guys again. Hopefully on a day that is sunny...But hey they dont control the weather. The second day we went ice climbing with Pete. He was also an excellent guide. Very safe and informative regarding all the equipment. He gave us an intermmediate wall to try at first then upon our request gave us something more challenging which not only made for an experience of a lifetime but wicked cool photos!!

Use these guys they're a great group of guides

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pangaea Adventures Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Pangaea Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangaea Adventures Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.