We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the weather before you book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pangaea Adventures Day Tours

Pangaea Adventures Day Tours
107 N. Harbor Dr., Valdez, AK 99686
1.907.835.8442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Activities in Valdez
Attraction details
Chandler, az
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check the weather before you book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We did the Columbia Glacier daytrip and were fortunate enough to have a sunny day. I would not want to do this trip in the rain (they go rain or shine), so wouldn't recommend booking it far in advance. Wait until a couple days before and pick the day with the best forecast. The best place to check weather is http://pafg.arh.noaa.gov/zonefcst.php?zone=AKZ131. This is the marine forecast for NE Prince WIlliam Sound, and it is much more accurate than what you'll find on weather.com or weatherunderground. We waited for a date with a 'mostly sunny' forecast. We had a great time and the forecast was pretty accurate.

I would give them 5 stars, but I think it is a bit overpriced (their only competition charges the exact same amount for this trip, hmmmm). At $229 this was our most expensive excursion in our 2 months in Alaska, and we did quite a few. It was even more expensive than a Denali flightseeing trip with a glacier landing! (also more expensive than a guided fishing charter and two other glacier cruises we did). But, they had plenty of takers (including us), so I guess they know their market.

The guides were great and they keep the groups small. Our group was 3 tandem kayaks (5 people + 1 guide). They had two other groups out the same day with similar guide ratios, but they were so far away we really didn't see them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youtah, Front Office Manager at Pangaea Adventures Day Tours, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Arizona, Kevin! And thanks for the review.

You're right, we do go out rain or shine, and Valdez gets A LOT of rain during the summertime! But we do provide rain gear (waterproof rain jacket, rain pants, and rubber boots!), and our guides go out of their way to make it a pleasant experience for everyone, especially on cold and wet days. I definitely recommend checking the weather, but also keep in mind that Valdez is very unpredictable. Sometimes when the morning starts out cold and damp, it will often clear up by the afternoon. Also, the Columbia Glacier zone is about 30 miles from our shop, so the weather out there can be totally different than what's happening here in town! But our guides are always prepared for any sort of weather.

As far as the prices go, while it may seem expensive, we will definitely make it worthwhile! The scenery is spectacular, the wildlife abundant, and our crew are fun and knowledgeable, making for an unforgettable and totally unique experience. Very rarely do we have a disappointed guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    16
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“8 day kayak camping from Meares to Columbia glaciers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Six of us, all guys, took the 8 day, 7 night escorted kayak camping trip from Meares Glacier to Columbia Glacier in mid July,2012. In all, we covered about 70 miles kayaking. The wildlife and landscape views were stunning: we not only saw glaciers, but also a couple dozen bald eagles, countless otters, sea lions, and birds, and a few humpback whales as well. The Our guides, Zak and Barrett, were excellent. They give great commentary as we went along, and their cooking skills were amazing on a trip like this. Their primary goal was our safety, but along the way they made sure we enjoyed ourselves at our own pace. I have never seen two more hardworking and dedicated workers. Our goal was to get off the grid, and with this trip we did. I would go back in an instant, and would not hesitate to go with Pangaea again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Columbia Glacier Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We did the kayaking trip to the Columbia Glacier. Everyone in the family of 5 had a great time. Kayaked through the ice field, and had lunch on on island surrounded by ice. Zack, Megan & Matt - Thanks for a great trip. We would definitely choose to go with them again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Whitewater Rafting of the Keystone Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pangaea is now offering this 1/2 day experience that has not been offered commercially since Princess Cruises left out Valdez. This river is rated a III through this canyon. Since the river was quite high due to sunny weather the last few days, the Worthington Glacier was giving it's all. We skirted a "Hole" that probably would have flipped us. Pangaea has two 6 man rafts and brand new dry suits. Guides were very professional. The chaser driver took pictures along the way with our cameras.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome - must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We paddled the Columbia glacier day tour with Pangaea. The guides were a lot of fun. The views were breathtaking. I would highly recommend this tour/company.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pangaea Adventures Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangaea Adventures Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.