We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Code fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill

THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill
100 N harbor dr., inside the best western hotel, Valdez, AK 99686
9078358114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Valdez
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Code fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friends (10) and myself arrived at the restaurant with no reservation, and enjoy a very good food and service! I had a code, and it was the best code I ever had!

Dr. Itzik Gonen

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Valdez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Food - very fresh and delicious -
The halibut tacos are to die for -
The view of the harbor is a terrific plus.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I liked Off The Hook slightly more than Old Town Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family (two adults with four young children) tried both restaurants which are casual and great for families. Both have great food. I would recommend this restaurant over Old Town Burgers (OTB) because it has beautiful views of the harbor and has a little more Alaska ambiance (there is a stuffed brown bear for kids to check out at the entrance). Old Town Burgers has a cheaper menu and enormous portion sizes but less selection and feels like a bowling alley restaurant.
At Off The Hook, I had the halibut with lemon caper sauce -- excellent. I did not enjoy my side of rice since it was white rice with a dollop of soy sauce, and so I would recommend getting mashed potatoes or something different. The fries were better here than at OTB. My husband said his sockeye salmon was a little dry but the mango salsa more than made up for it. The service was alright... about on par with OTB. Considering the small town nature of Valdez, both restaurants are great. If we return, I will probably stick with Off The Hook.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good food , service and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal. The food was very good. The menu options were varied and interesting. The service was very good. The view of the harbor was fun and interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent one night in Valdez on our tour of southern Alaska and to be honest this was the most disappointing restaurant that we ate in. It stands in a beautiful position overlooking the marina and the waiters, both of whom were Turkish, could not be faulted. But we were placed at a table right next door to the bar, where there was a karaoke evening going on at full volume the whole time we were there. A couple of us ordered scollops with parmesan as a starter, and to be honest it was dreadful. The scollops arrived, swimming in a weak brown liquid, covered with melted cheese, overcooked and pretty tasteless. Which was a real shame. We complained - nicely - but rather felt that the manager didn't care too much. And then, to top it off, when the bill arrived it charged us for a bottle of wine that we never had. It is a pity because this could be a blow-your-socks-off place to eat … but, for our visit at least, it wasn't that great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.