We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Alaska” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill

THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill
100 N harbor dr., inside the best western hotel, Valdez, AK 99686
9078358114
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Valdez
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
“Pure Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Best food we have had in 45 days of traveling in Alaska. The chef is always trying new dishes. The Halibut Oscar is incredible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    18
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OMG It was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm staying at the Best Western (see separate review) on business. It's not my first trip to Valdez but it's my first stay here, and my first time eating at this restaurant.
They were quite busy but managed to get me, alone, to a table in short order. It took a few minutes before anyone caught up with me but Lauren smiled and said she'd be by soon. I interrupted and asked for 'a good bloody mary' while I waited. She asked the usual - salt, spicy, etc.. I told her I really like my bloody mary's spicy - but not just 'Tabasco' hotter. And she delivered. Wow, it was one of the best hand-mixed mary's I've had. I thought by looking at it that it would be weak and maybe watery but it was right-on!
I looked over both menus - there was one for dinner and one for burgers and such. Both had a number of offerings that sounded good.
I noted a disparity on price between them with some things higher on one and some things higher on the other. I couldn't make sense of the differences even taking into account a 'lunch' version versus a 'dinner' version. I asked about a couple of items and was told one or the other was the 'lunch' or 'dinner' version, and one was called a misprint.
I finally settled on a appetizer called "Mussels fra Diavola." It came and I tasted it. By the time I got done I was down to porcelain and could have licked the bowl. The mussels were good but the sauce was outstanding!
I hemmed and hawed about what to have for dinner (as if I needed more after the mussels) and decided to try something different - Seafood Rice, a Peruvian themed dish. What a hit! It was as good as, or better than the mussels. Again, I literally licked the plate clean.
I noted that all of the wait and bus staff worked very well together. My drink, appetizer and dinner were all delivered by different table attendants and the busing was done by anyone walking by any table. They all worked together like a well-oiled machine.
I'll be back to this place, and dine on more of their fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Probably the closest you will get to a "nice" restaurant in Valdez. Located in the Best Western. The best thing on the menu is the Fish and Chips with the halibut. Great views!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperry, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good food & service reasonably priced. It gets busy when excursion ships come in because it is right on the harbor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Over-priced and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were staying at the Best Western, so called in here for a meal.

The food was a bit pretentious,and way over-priced (even for Alaska) for what it was. The staff were fairly offhand - there was a window table available overlooking the harbour but it was not offered to us. I thought it was maybe reserved, but the next guests were asked if they'd like it!

I think there are better places to eat in Valdez.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.