We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill

THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill
100 N harbor dr., inside the best western hotel, Valdez, AK 99686
9078358114
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Valdez
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Valdez, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Fantastic is an understatement. Their servers are outstanding and the accommodate to every need the guest may want. Slightly pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    18
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Local Flavor & Stella in a Chalice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

While spending the evening in Valdez my son and my self decided to try the local fare. Growing up in a land locked state I never knew what seafood was supposed to taste like. I can only describe it as FRESH. It has a different taste and texture. We wanted to eat light so we began with the apps. We ordered the Halibut Ceviche, & our waitress suggested a Pot of Steamed Shrimp. The portion sizes were more than enough, but it was to late we had already placed our orders. I had the Fish & Chips & my son the North Star Alaskan Halibut, Salmon & Shrimp oven baked with three cheese and Alfredo sauce. Wow if only we can get this in Vermont. The atmosphere was casual and the Stella in a Chalice was perfectly poured.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat In Valdez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful meal in a nice relaxed atmosphere with a fantastic view! This is the place you want to eat in Valdez. The seafood chowder is different than most chowders and was delicious! It has a nice spicy flavor! The sweet potato fries are WONDERFUL! The owners Melanie and Alberto are nice people and Alberto, being Peruvian, adds his flare to his food. And if you want a great drink to relax with, try a Thompson's Pass. Expect food to cost you a bit more in Alaska but remember you are enjoying fresh seafood. This was our favorite meal in Alaska.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The food was tasty and we had some leftovers, but it's overpriced for the amount of fish we received. Atmosphere was ok. Kind of slow and we never got our sauce for the sweet potato fries. Sweet potato fries were the best thing in the house!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Consistantly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Burgers are really good and the Lomo Saltado is probably my favorite thing to eat EVER!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THC Off The Hook Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.