We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Marketing Team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Sky Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Sky Hotel to your Saves list
Mountain Sky Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Emmons, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Creative Marketing Team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall we had a very good experience with this hotel. I was a little leary when we saw the outside of the building. The pictures on the website kind of mislead you. We did have one of the newer rooms which was nice and the front desk and bar/restaurant people were extremely nice. It is also just a few blocks from the waterfront/main street. There was a fan in the room for people that have a hard time sleeping without noise. We probably would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    47
    16
    13
See reviews for
21
43
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place needs an over haul! The hotels web site makes it seem like a nice place to stay WRONG it smells like dirty dirty carpet, moldy shower, horrible bedding and pillow from the 1960's. The breakfast was a joke and they ran out of milk. The staff kind of tries but does not put in the 100%. There basement hotel rooms are just down right scary. If you can avoid this place don't stay here it is gross

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A lot of tours stop here so it can get quite busy and noisy. Unimpressed with their restaurant or their continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had to stay in this dump 1 night because there was no room in the Best Western. Also, the rate is even higher than the Best Western!
My wife refused to take a shower because of all the mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
I apologize about your recent stay and take it very seriously when people use the word "dump" for our hotel. We have over 100 rooms and unfortunately dont have the ability to remodel everything as quickly as we'd like. We are upgrading all of our bathrooms as well as new windows as well as other amenities in the hotel. Our staff is working around the clock to ensure we maintain and retain the premier place to stay in Valdez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Dirty, Dirty, and Dirty. Do not be fooled by their fancy website. There is no excuse for renting a room with a large hole in the shower tile and tile that was so blackened with mold that there was more black than white grout! The bedspreads were the same that were pictured on website but the pillows were flattened and both beds had large nasty stains on the spread and one pillow. The sheets probably were disgusting but they use brown sheets so you can't see the stains if there are any. Made me wonder. There was a moldy smell throughout the place. I was disgusted and would have checked out but had no choice as the other hotels were booked. The carpet in the hallway was dirty and terribly worn. The continental breakfast was empty at 9:00 a.m. and tables were filthy. Another guest said, "There is nothing left and the woman serving is very rude". We checked out another room thinking we should get away from the shower mold but low and behold it was the same. Unless you are stuck... stay away. I will say the 2 women working the front desk were very very nice. Upon checkout I noticed a letter at the front desk explaining that they were making improvements and to please excuse their construction. I did not see any construction going on except outside the hotel. Siding was off the back and a broken sign on the front of the building. Hotel is located on a fairly busy intersection in town and about 2 blocks from the harbor. Rooms facing toward the harbor are very very noisy as you are literally on the main road in/out of Valdez. Lots of trucks and cars and noise from the Totem Inn Bar across the street. Back side would be quieter but you'll face the dumpsters. Oh, by the way... no air conditioning so you'll need to keep your windows open which makes it noisier. We checked out the Best Western where everyone told us to stay and the rooms was much nicer and met a guest there that said the Totem Inn was better than Mountain Sky, but not better than Best Western. I would rather camp out than stay here.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you check in. No air conditioning. Stay away from the main lobby as restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I am saddened to hear about your stay. We do realize that there are some items that need attention and are trying to find a way to complete them as quickly as possible. We are going to replace the carpet, finishing siding and windows and have remodeled about 1/4 of the bathrooms up to this point. We strive for perfection and fell way short here. Looking at other reviews we hope that you can understand that this was an isolated incident. We really hope that if your travels bring you back to Valdez that you can come and see us again.

Again you have our sincerest apologies,

Jeremy Miner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our impression of the Mountain Sky Hotel was that it had just opened for the season that day! The staff seemed very disorganized, the rooms smelled alittle musty and the continental breakfast was sparce and out of basic things like butter and cream cheese at 8:00 am! Also the breakfast room was extremely small. I don't know how they handle a crowd.
On the upside the staff was very nice and tried to be helpful, the rooms were clean and it was in a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We appreciate your review of The Mountain Sky. Thanks for posting some of the issues you experienced when you stayed with us. We take all criticism to heart and will make the changes accordingly. I will share your comments with our staff and ensure that we deliver an exceptional experience during your next trip to Valdez.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Miner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I traveled to Valdez to spend time with my deceased son Aaron's friends and attend Tailgate Alaska 2012. The Tailgate crew set me up at the Mountain Sky Hotel, and I felt at home from the start. The owner, Jeremy, introduced himself and we chatted for a minute. I checked in and was excited to see such a large room, equipped with a coffee pot and a fridge, we were staying for 2 weeks, so that was a plus. The beds were so comfortable I had to set my alarm because I was afraid I might sleep in. The free breakfast was so tasty and satisfied us for a day in the Alaskan Wilderness. After a day in the mountains, there is nothing better than a cold local beer, a quick swim in the indoor pool and a nice relaxing soak in the hot tub. Go back to your room and take a hot, well equipped shower and then head to 32* the great restaurant right off the lobby serving tasty treats like pizza and salmon. The rooms were always stocked with clean towels and was very tidy when we returned for the night. There is even a laundry room in the basement. And...you can walk to the grocery store, bar, restaurant, bank. What else can you ask for in a hotel? I would recommend the Mountain Sky Hotel to anyone, you will feel like family and you won't want to leave. Enjoy, please.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Hotel

Address: 100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
Location: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the head of the Azure waters of the Prince William Sound, nestled beneath the Chugach Mountains - Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for the adventurous traveler and the home-away- from-home vacationer alike. Enjoy the largest standard rooms in the area with easy access to adventure and the stunning wildlife of the sound......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Valdez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Sky Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.