We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbia Glacier trip did not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anadyr Adventures Day Trips

Anadyr Adventures Day Trips
225 N Harbor Drive, Valdez, AK
+1 800-865-2925
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Activities in Valdez
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Half day to 7 day wilderness kayaking expeditions departing from Valdez Alaska. Glacier kayaking at it's finest with small group sizes and naturalist trained guides.
Central NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Columbia Glacier trip did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a trip! We started and ended with a very fast boat ride to our kayak launch spot or pick up spot, but everything in between was slow and exquisite. There were 6 of us in 3 kayaks (a family with teenagers, and we are seniors), plus our guide, who was very knowledgeable. We wove in and out of icebergs, close enough to excite us, but far enough to be safe even when they rolled over (which a few did). We spent several hours with the bergs and the bergie bits, and then paddled to a few other very pleasant spots. It was an absolutely magical day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    1
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Entire experience was awesome. Beautiful sites,glaciers,icebergs,wildlife. Enjoyed it very much. guides are knowledgable and fun. We would do another trip with Anadyr.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful kayak adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our traveling party (four of us) took an afternoon guided kayak tour at the Valdez Glacier Lake with Anadyr Adventures. What a great time! We had a little bit of light rain off and on, but that couldn't dampen the experience. Our guide, Laura, was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. Having hot chocolate on top of the glacier was just like the icing on the cake. So glad we included this in our Alaska itinerary.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Superb in every way.. Sensational guide :) Safe and great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day Kayaking experience through Sawmill Bay and Shoup Bay and Glacier. Darcie our guide was wonderful- Her knowledge of birds, ocean and land creatures was outstanding. The company was well prepared for our tour providing us with snacks and mosquito (face) net and toilet items as well as providing sleeping bags, mats and quality tent. Darcie went out of her way to ensure that we felt comfortable throughout the adventure and cooked up the most delicious meals- We had requested low fat meals and Darcie ensured that we had lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Darcie was very safety conscious and made sure that our equipment was well fitting and in good working order. Our visit to the area near the end of the glacier was a highlight as we were able to paddle within a close vicinity and see the amazing colours hidden in the ice. Whilst out paddling we saw sea otters, Stellar Seals, Harbour seals, a river otter, multitude of eagles, black bear footprints, arctic terns, a mink and so many salmon that jumped and swam - sometimes in a frenzied flurry beneath our kayak. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone in good general health. My husband and I are both over 55 and were able to cope with the demands of the kayaking- We were also able to leave our packs at Anadyr whilst we were out paddling.Wanting to add to your bucket list? Make sure you put this adventure near the top of your list! An adventure to cherish! Thanks Darcie and Anadyr for making our 3 days of Kayaking around Valdez so memorable :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Columbia glacier kayaking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

excellent equipment, very safety orientated and very helpfully in recommending clothing requirements. 1.5 hour boat ride each way on katamaran's with very smooth seas. Vessel leaves at 10am and returns at 5pm. Kayaking amongest very large chunks of iceburgs that calved off the columbia glacier. Important note, you will not be kayaking near the face of Columbia glacier, as the face is about 10 to 12 miles away from where you will be kayaking. they provide boots and rain gear. we enjoyed it very much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anadyr Adventures Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anadyr Adventures Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.