We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms near the mountain.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683   |  
Hotel amenities
Farmer City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rooms near the mountain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms are nice but don't have air conditioning so that could be a problem if it gets really hot there. We didn't need an air conditioner while there. The ceiling fans did the job. The main lodge is very nice with places to sit a view Mt. McKinley. Food at the restaurants is good but expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    212
    98
    29
    13
See reviews for
112
271
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilesville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went for the view and just to enjoy some downtime. There is another Princess lodge that is right at the entrance to Denali Park (it's called the Denali Princess). But, that one has no view of the mountain itself and is in a mini-commercial area. We just wanted to relax and hang out (we've been to the Park before). Remember though that the mountain is visible only about 1/3 of the days. We stayed two nights and did have a beautiful full view the first day, zero the second, and a sort-of okay view the third. They do offer a shuttle into Talkeetna (about an hour trip they say), but we didn't do that since we were going to Talkeetna on our own after staying here. The room is nice enough. It was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Two complaints: (i) Our only complaint was that the food at the Grizzly Bar (which is the more casual place to eat) is straight off the Sysco truck. Not horrible, but nothing you couldn't buy in the frozen food section of your grocery. I think they could do better than that, especially for the prices the hotel charges. (ii) the WiFi is available only in the lodge and it's horrible! I could not keep a connection going long enough to download any files or even do the most basic work-checking task. They do have public computers you can use, but that's not a substitute if you need to do more than read a few emails. So, if you need to do more than that, this isn't a good place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed in rooms near lodge. Two double beds, cable tv, clean comfortable room. Did cruise then land tour. Got to see mt twice awesome! Hiked some around property ok trails. Ate at 20320 good food and service. mt climbing seminar good. Weather in early June the best

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our stay at the Princess McKinley lodge was part of our package for our Princess Alaskan Cruise, the land portion. The accommodations are rustic looking but well appointed. We had no issues with the rooms, baggage pickup, or the food at the lodge. Our day there, June 22, 2014 was sunny and clear and we had fabulous views of Mt McKinley. The trails were easy enough that anyone could easily walk. We didn't see any wildlife on the grounds, but there were quite a few people the day we were there. Lots of photo opportunities on the grounds.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if that is an issue one would have to ask for a first level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights there a few weeks ago, taking advantage of the 2nd nt 50% off deal.

The positives: the view of Mt. McKinley was spectacular from the deck of lodge. Grounds are quite pretty, and enjoyed s'mores at the fire pit and hiking the short hiking trails. Washer/drier in each lodge a big plus. Food was tasty at the Grizzly Bar, though not exceptional. Front desk folks friendly and helpful. The shuttle was convenient when we didn't feel like walking. Definitely a hike between car and building where we stayed but we could load/unload by the door. Front-desk people friendly, no issues there.
Negatives: service was variable in Grizzly Bar, slow on deck on the busy night, but bartender excellent on the other night. As stated in other reviews, the lodge is still 100 miles from the entrance to Denali Park, taking about 2 hrs to travel each way. We went to Denali for one day and it was a trek. The rooms are outdated and not air-conditioned. There was a warm spell when we were there, and the fan was much-needed. There is NOTHING outside these grounds within ~ an hour so you are kind of stuck if you don't like it.

So, I woukd rec staying closer to Denali NP if you are in the area for that purpose, but if you just want a great view on a short stay this will probably fit the bill.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metairie.la
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

we had cloudy conditions most of the time we were there(1 night) so the mountain was not "out". would have enjoyed the deck and inside viewing area if that were not the case. did manage to walk 1 trail before the rain started and that was really nice. we had a jetboat safari wilderness excursion booked which was good since there was not too much else to do with the rainy weather. this was part of our princess landcruise and the service we had with princess was excellent. everything went like clockwork

Room Tip: all rooms are spread out like strips of motel units. if you are unable to walk far ask for the close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently stayed here and were placed in the back of the property and on the second floor. There is no elevators in any of the buildings except for the main lodge, so to take your luggage upstairs, you have to drag or pull them. There is no air conditioners in the rooms, just small fans. They had 2 hot tubs for the whole resort that stayed packed. This resort is very large and has multiple buildings of rooms over 115 acres. No wi-fi except for in the main lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.