We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joel & Lois B from Pa. Wonderfull Place! Wonderfull Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKinley View B&B
Save
You added McKinley View B&B to your Saves list
Mile 113.6 Parks Highway, Trapper Creek, AK 99683   |  
Hotel amenities
Commodore, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Joel & Lois B from Pa. Wonderfull Place! Wonderfull Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I agree exactly with the other comments. Gracious and friendly hosts, great breakfast, great setting. Just a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I stayed there in the bear room July 7th & 8th 2012, the weather was not good for 2 days. But on the morning we were leaving to go down south to the Kenai the weather changed overnight and the morning dawned bright and clear. The view of the Mountain was spectacular and we became members of the 30% club.

Angela's Heaven is a place "NOT TO BE MISSED" just up the road a couple of miles on the right (115mm). From the road it doesn't look like much, but don't let that fool you. One inside, it's clean, warm and friendly, great, great food! Angela was very busy when we were there but she took the time to explain everything to us. Just a wonderful lady.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from Denali to Seward and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a room facing Denali and the lovely view at the back of the house. Our room led directly on to a deck where we just sat and watched the birds and wildlife - and would have liked time to take a walk. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was ample and good. The only snag was that we hit the one night when the local pizza restaurant was closed - so we opted to take the drive to Talkeetna.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at the McKinley View B&B in Trapper Creek Alaska. The rooms were kept extremely clean. Breakfast was great, the views were beautiful. Renee and Rod were the best of hostesses. Nice that all rooms had their own bathrooms and your own entrance as well!

Room Tip: Ask Renee and Ron for Great places to eat, like Trapper Creek Pizza Pub and of course get the best h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This B&B is just off the highway, but gives a real remote feel in location. A great way to break up the trip from the Anchorage area or MatSu Valley to Fairbanks, the McKinley View B&B exceeded all expectations with a very comfortable room, modern bath,great TV selection variety, free WiFi, kitchen/common room with TV (restaurant choices in Trapper Creek are slim to none in off season), delicious, hearty breakfast, and friendly hosts who are happy to visit and share local knowledge. Seems like thay have thought of everything you might want or need!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Located about a mile south of Trapper Creek AK right off the Parks Highway, this little treasure should be considered by anyone who wants a great value in a B&B heading anywhere north of Anchorage. Renee, the host, is extremely gracious, and communicates very well in advance of your stay. The B&B is just as described. There are 4 rooms, two with an incredible view of Denali. The day I went, it was clear, and have attached a picture which does not do it justice! The rooms were clean, comfortable and fitting, esp considering the cost per night in winter is only $75. This includes a full breakfast of all you can eat eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. That alone would run you $15 at most restaurants in AK. The breakfast was excellent. The two rooms in the back open up to a deck with chairs that allow you sit and enjoy the awesome view. Since it was -10F when I was visiting, I didn't spend too much time out back, but the view is truly amazing. I used this B&B as a staging site for viewing the Northern Lights, with its great exposure to the north. Unfortunately, mother nature did not cooperate the night I stayed, but I would come back here in a heartbeat. If I wanted to be super picky, the only possible complaint I might have were the somewhat thin walls allowing you to hear the people next door to you, but the positives of this B&B WAY outweigh the single negative I could find. I would 100% recommend this place. It is about 2 hours north of ANC, and two hours south of the entrance to Denali.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the north side of the house have the view....ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Found the place quite easily (after a brief 'phone conversation with the gracious hostess). It's just off the main road, thus entailing no detours and delays. Great views from the rooms, good breakfast and conversation. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

What a great view and beautiful property. They were able to accomodate me in order for me to complete a grizzly hunt. Outstanding folks, very courteous, and very helpful! Thank you both for everything.

Jason

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley View B&B

Address: Mile 113.6 Parks Highway, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Location: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming B&B on the Parks Highway in Trapper Creek, Alaska. We are just two hours north of Anchorage. All rooms feature private baths, private entrances, satellite tv, WI-FI and a guest computer in the common area. A great place to start your drive north to Denali National Park just two hours or plan a hiking adventure at beautiful Denali State Park. We do apologize but this facility is not set up to accommodate children 7 years of age or younger. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKinley View B&B Alaska/Trapper Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.