We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad we could only stay overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribou Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribou Cabins
Save
You added Caribou Cabins to your Saves list
5 Borealis Avenue, Tok, AK 99780   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Tok B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Too bad we could only stay overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We needed to stay overnight in Tok and after the Westmark was not taking any reservations (possibly due to closing for the winter) I decided to book a night here after seeing their ad in the Alaska Milepost Guide.

The property is well off the main highways and is absolutely quiet. In fact if it weren't for the signs you'd drive by and not realize the cabins were there.

Innkeeper Kris was nice enough to stay up for our late arrival, something that not all B&B operators do. He allowed us nighttime access to the dining area stocked with some continental breakfast-type foods, which was nice as we had been driving over 12 hours and had not eaten since Fairbanks. It saved us from having to go back into town just for a snack.

Now on to the cabins...they are real log cabins, but get those thoughts of drafty, creaky, bug-infested, primitive shacks out of your head. They are spotlessly clean with modern features like double paned windows, glass storm door, satellite TV, and a cozy but adequate bathroom with plenty of hot water. Our cabin even had a hot tub, though we didn't use it at all. It was a cold night when we arrived, but the two heaters had no problem keeping the cabin warm. In fact we just used only one of them after a while. The beds were comfortable and my friend and I had no problem sleeping.

WiFi was not a problem, though we were in Cabin 1 which is closest to the main house. Other cabins may or may not have as good a signal. Breakfast is included, and while it is of a continental-style variety consisting primarily of breads, cereals, and fruits, they also provide hard boiled eggs for those like me who want some protein in their breakfast as well.

The only complaint is that the lighting is a bit dim in the loft area and in the area below the loft where the table and hot tub are. But the issue is minor.

I would have loved to stay longer but we had a long drive to do the next day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This place is fantastic and please do not listen to the one bad review. We are a military family moving to Fairbanks and this was the perfect spot! Much nicer than anywhere we stayed in Canada and very resonably priced. The cabins are perfect and our two dogs are very happy. Everything is spotless and the owner is friendly and helpful. If you stay in Tok this is the best option. It is nice because it is just off the main drag so it is very quite.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Tok served as our last stopover before getting to Anchorage on a mad dash from San Francisco. My husband had researched and found the Caribou Cabins on-line and thought they sounded nice enough to go ahead and book a cabin.

I loved it! The place was very cute - everything is as described on their site. We got a taste for Northern hospitality when we pulled in and learned that although the proprietors were on vacation, they had left a nice note and let us know that our cabin (#2, I think) was open. We did have 2 issues - the toilet tank wouldn't refill with water after the first flush, and I think our furnace pilot light was out (thankfully there was also a separate heater in the unit... maybe they didn't mean for our furnace to be used). We called the owner and although he tried, he couldn't get someone over to the property that night - oh well, we filled up the bowl using the ice bucket when needed and it flushed fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We loved it here and felt quite comfortable. Unfortunately ,we were only able to stay one night but we were warmly welcomed. We were able to help ourselves to a generous breakfast and the only sour note was that the bed was a bit of a torture rack. Otherwise a lovely spot.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We booked our room over a month in advance, confirmed a late check in, and confirmed that we would be in a cabin that had a loft since our little girl didn't sleep well in the same room with us. We even informed the owner that we were a military family moving to Anchorage and we would be getting off of the ferry in Haines, driving 9 hours to Tok with our 1 year old, and arriving very late at night. Upon arriving at the Caribou Cabins at 11 pm, we were told that our room had been given away because a guest wanted to stay another night. The owner gave us a map with a listing of hotels in the area and told us we'd have to stay somewhere else and "to make up for it" we could use his phone. After demanding that he book us a room at another hotel and pay for it since this was their mistake, he finally agreed. Even though he was knew there were rooms available at nicer places such as the Burnt Paw Cabins, he booked us a room in the older section of the Golden Bear Motel. Although I would not recommend the Golden Bear since our room was in great need of a major renovation, the staff was very friendly. They even said that they have had a lot of customers stay with them after Caribou Cabins had given their rooms away too! I would never recommend Caribou Cabins to someone wanting a reliable place to stay and a business run professionally. Caribou Cabins should not have given our room away, and then we should not have had to argue with them to find us another room and pay for it.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreatLand, Owner at Caribou Cabins, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
The guest has a legitimate complaint in that they had a reservation and that they showed up to find that there was no room for them. A situation developed about 14 hours prior to their arrival and although we tried, we were unfortunately not able to get in touch with them with this being Alaska and cell phone coverage being sparse. We did everything we could to avoid it but it was just completely beyond our control. This is the only time we have ever had anything like this happen in our 3 years of operation.

We deeply apologized to the guest and upon their arrival we used a map in our office to show them everything available in the area, discussed the options and made the arraignments for them. We also agreed right away to pay for their lodging at The Golden Bear when it was determined that would be best since it was closest.

The only other people we have ever sent to another establishment like The Golden Bear were walk-ins, not guests with reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

On our trip to alaska we actually stayed here on the way and on the way back!! Fantastic brand new log cabins, immaculately cared for and beautifully decorated. A true Alaska feel! The breakfast was a great self serve with lots of choices of name brand items to be taken back to the comfort of your own private dining area in your cabin! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we could have spent more time here! Best kept secret in Alaska!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Cabin owners, Carrie and Kris greeted us upon arrival and immediately made us feel very welcome.

Our cabin and the surroundings were awesome - quiet, private and so incredibly comfortable. The cabin looked brand new, was super clean, and included a very efficient jacuzzi and gas heater. A self-served breakfast was included with plenty of choices - which could be gathered in a basket from the main house the night before or in the morning, and taken back to the comfort and privacy of the cabin.

We highly recommend a stay at the Caribou Cabins if traveling through Tok and we plan to return again on our next trip to AK.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribou Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Cabins

Address: 5 Borealis Avenue, Tok, AK 99780
Location: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best lodging Alaska has to offer by staying in your own private log cabin. Located on a quiet, wooded setting just over a mile from Tok, All of our cabins inclue private bath/shower, front porch/deck, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Continental breakfast is also included. Pets and large families are welcome. Our Denali Cabins with Jacuzzi tub and are open year round! Located on Borealis Ave, Tok (half a mile from Tok Cut Off/Glenn Highway). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribou Cabins Tok, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribou Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.