We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential needs a little improvement. :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Resta Reef Resort to your Saves list
Resta Reef Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good potential needs a little improvement. :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort for a week at the end April. Is a little nice resort and although we had a nice holiday, the place needs some improvements.

The all place needs to be renovate a little bit. The rooms are ok but they looks like they have been built overnight, the bathroom tiles are falling into pieces and they looks a bit dated. The same for the main restaurant "La Fontana", it looks a bit sad and would benefit with more light, is a bit dark in the evening. At least the place is really clean.

I'm not usually fussy with food I always had lovely and plenty of food in every resort I have been. At the Resta the food was just ok, not bad but very average. I tried a little bit of everything and in some cases tastes exactly the same (like potatoes with curry or saffron they tasted the same) and it would be appreciated to see more healthy and refreshing fruit display rather than just some dates, mandarin, a local fruit and sometimes white melon. That would be a good alternative to the big display of desserts that were more or less the same every day. I didn't really like the fact that I had to ask for drinks like coke or beer to the waiter every time and as they use very small glasses (and you are allowed only one glass at the time) I had to ask two or three times during the meal, sometimes the drink didn't came at all.

My husband went diving with the Emperor Diving Centre and he said they were brilliant friendly
and very professional. We did the Oceans Classic trip and that was really nice as well we saw many turtles but unfortunately we didn't spot the Dugong. :(

The pool area is ok, the tiles around the edges are very slippery unfortunately, so if go this resort walk slowly around the pool. There are two beaches the main one in front of the hotel and the small one (adults only) on the left on a little hill. If you don't want to be disturbed by the animation team or the people selling trips and massages from the hotel, then go there. We didn't try the animation or the disco (Down to Earth) so I can't really rate that.

I had a massage at the spa (Aromatherapy) sold to me by one of the spa guys going around all day. The massage was lovely, a bit less relaxing than expected but still much needed, but the guys, although they were kind, they were kind of annoying sometimes. After I booked my massage they kept coming to my sunbed trying to sell me more treatments to me or my husband, I have to say I had tried to avoid them a couple of times. Even while booking the massage the guy was insisting on which treatment I should have booked and on which day, knowing that I was interested in only one aromatheraphy massage... Saying that I recommend the spa just be aware of the spa reps.

The staff in reception was really professional and all the staff in general looks always really busy and if needed they are really efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    542
    152
    60
    24
See reviews for
304
666
78
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have just spent a week in this hotel and have had a great holiday here, the room was spacious and the huge bed was a godsend, after 3 days our air conditioning stopped working so we told the reception that evening and they straight away went to look at it, as it was not fixable we were moved to another room straight away. The food is great and constantly on offer thoroughout the day, the bar staff and waiters are all very friendly and helpful as are the general manager sherif and Charlotte who is guest relations. Thanks to these people and the lovely weather we had a fab holiday and will definitely be returning very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff were very accommodating
The guest relations manager was extremely helpful and good fun to be around Charlotte was a bundle of fun, the hotel was really clean and the food was really tasty. One of the best holidays I've ever been on an will definitely be going back !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great time together at Resta Reef. The staff were warm, friendly and polite. Everyone was helpful and did their best to provide everything you wanted. We were all inclusive and the amount of food on offer was unbelievable. No matter when you felt hungry, there was always something available. There were choices to suit most palettes and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality. There were activities available for all ages. Whether you wanted a relaxed break or fun filled holiday there was something for everyone. Thanks to all staff for making it such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Resta Reef was recommended by our tour operator. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff helpful, friendly and attentive. I preferred it to the Resta Reef Grande which is right next door as it was smaller so you got a more personal service. The rooms were comfortable and the shower good. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: There is a lot of ground floor rooms, but in my experience of foreign travel it is a good idea to em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have stayed in Marsa Alam three times before but this was our first time at the Resta Reef.The new privately owned airport is probably the best in Egypt,but can only be reached from Manchester and Gatwick.If you fly to Hurghada you have a 3 hour transfer.
The Resta Reef is a good 3* hotel offering comfortable accommodation,nice gardens and a lovely beach.The main restaurant has a good selection of food,and there are bars at the pool and beach offering snacks.The main hotel building is very close to the beach and sea which means it is very exposed to the winds during the winter months,but there are windbreaks on the beach.The service from the staff deserves special mention as it was first class.
All in all we got a very good deal,and had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just got back home from my first time in Marsa Alam having been to Sharm many, many times.
Booked via Thomson and got a very good last minute deal.
Arrived at Marsa Alam airport - pretty swift getting through and only a 5 min drive to hotel. TIP: when getting VISA just queue at the window as you enter the building - reps will call you over to sort out but they seem to charge extra!

THE GENERAL AREA: Few hotels on way to our one...just a dusty landscape and when we arrived front of the building seemed unfinished so a little worried at first! There are a couple of shops across the road from hotel but really not much more to see/do in general area (however, there are a few shops within the hotel itself).
THE HOTEL: Big marble entrance way opening on to a large reception foyer with views directly onto beach/sea. We were given a welcome drink and check in was swift. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Cases were in our room the time it took to walk there. WE were in a ground floor room with a beautiful clear side view to the sea. Little dissappointed when I first saw the room - not up to standard of other hotels i have stayed in in Sharm i.e quite tired looking and not as spacious but very clean and soon got over this. Had a large bacony area. And unlike other hotels stayed in, no tea/coffee facilties in room - you will have to request these at an extra cost of 8Euros for the week. But they do supply 2 free bottles of water a day. Mohamed cleaned the room daily and did an excellent job.

Hotel grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Not a long walk through hotel to beach (took 10 mins to reach beach from some I've stayed at!) - plenty of beds/umbrellas. Unlike Sharm, the sea is more wavey, full of coral (beach shoes are a must when walking in the sea) and has a multitude of fish that swim around you. It has it's own reef off the end of the jetty and just standing there you can see the colourful coral and variety of fish - unfortunately, most days the black flag was up meaning you couldn't snorkel/dive because the sea was so choppy. This must also account for the lack of water activities available i.e boats, surfing etc

The food was good with a choice for everyone (we didn't use the a la carte italian restaurant)and snacks/ice cream available throughout the day. Very good, attentive staff throughout and didn't feel the need to tip (though we did on the last day). Lots of seating on terraces which directly overlook the beach/sea.
There was nightly entertainment if you wanted and there is also a nightclub on site.

One thing we were glad about - no mosquitoes!!

We took a cab to Port Ghalib one evening - a must see and only 10 mins away. Beautiful surroundings and the yachts! Also quite a selection of shops and restarants/bars (TGI's is located here if you want somewhere familiar).

All in all if you want a busy place with loads of activities, clubs etc then you better go to somewhere like Sharm. But if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with the natural beauty of the sea without having to take a boat trip then this is the place for you. I like both aspects but loved this place so much I am already planning to return.

Room Tip: Room: in the 4000's is closer to the beach/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#21 of 70 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#2 of 70 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
16.6 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
40.1 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#20 of 70 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resta Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.