We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, friendly staff, relaxing resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Resta Reef Resort to your Saves list
Resta Reef Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service, friendly staff, relaxing resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Resta Reef..we enjoyed the selection of food, the attention to detail in the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are cleaned every day, we had the wonderful and charming Mohammad taking care of us,we were in room 4113 nothing was too much trouble for him. We would give him a ten out ten !! Thank you to the wonderful staff at Resta Reef, the staff make the place...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    471
    128
    52
    18
See reviews for
248
552
58
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely staff bouth in hotell and animation. We had a great time in Resta Reef Resort! The food was variably and well done. This resort is perfect sized so you have near to everything, beach, pools and restaurants on the resort. The snorkling is a amazing thing to do.
Jennie and Raili from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you want a relaxing holiday go here. The rooms do need some TLC, but they are kept clean and are more than adequate for your needs, ie...Sleep, shower etc. Could not fault the food, the service from all staff was faultless, and the energetic Charlotte (Customer Relations Manager) is always there to ensure you are having the stay you require. The house reef has got more fish to enjoy watching while snorkelling than what most of the house reefs in Sharm have, and, your only waist deep in water at high tide, so if you don't snorkell, you can wade and the fish will be there. I'm a Scuba Diver and have seen less fish diving in the Red Sea, than what can be seen in waist deep water. The Hotel also has a pier so for the more adventuress among you reading this, you get out to the reef to go snorkelling, honestly it's amazing. Wife and I enjoyed our 2 week stay and will be going back. Many thanks to all the staff, who made our holiday a good one.

Room Tip: Get a Sea View, you won't be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had 3 nights in the hotel before being moved to the Grand next door because of Power Failiure in the Hotel.

ROOMS. the rooms are adequate but are in need of a little TLC but are a little dated but overall good enough to sleep and wash in with a nice walk in shower clean towels and bottled water changed daily.

POOLS The big disappointment for me was the quality of the 2 pools. Both were small and always had bits floating in but seemed to be cleaned nightly by staff.I would say the Resort needs a smaller version of the Grands pool which would give the place a new lease of life.

BEACH The Beach on the Resta Side was of better quality than the Grand side but kids and adults should bring Sea Shoes to enter the sea as it is complete Reef.It is great for getting the kids into snorkelling and for the more confident swimmer you can enter the reef at the end of the pier and experience the DEEP BLUE A lot of the Grand residents come to the Reefs Beach As there is more space than the Grands beach.

FOOD The food was ok plentiful and varied but having tasted the Resta Grands food and The Reefs than I'd say they use different quality of meats The Beef Sausage is totally different And choice is less. overall the food was good enough for 3 days so I can't comment on it fully.But the Reefs Chips are proper chips not like the Grand.The service from the waiters and staff is much better than that of the Grand and full marks to them Service with a smile. Head chef is really friendly with the kids.

ENTERTAINMENT The entertainment over 3 days was more personel and based towards having fun with everyone.The mini disco is good and the animation team are enthusiastic and willing overall 3 days we had good fun.Note whilst the mini disco is on you can't order any drinks you have to pay for them.

TRIPS We went on OSKARS SAFARI which cost 40 euros per Quad Bike which is amazing value for a half day trip.
30 min quad bike trip from resort to Port Ghalib Reef to swim with the Turtles and the SeaCow.All Quad biking is done off road on sand and is probably ok for 5 years and upwards.
the snorkelling you spend as long as you want snorkelling with the Turtles(Guarenteed Sighting) and the Dugong which is not Guarenteed after this a 15 min quad ride around the port Ghalib and then a 15 min ride to a Bedouin tent to Habiscus tea and sheesha pipes with the locals we stayed for about 30 minutes and the took a 30 minute ride back to the resort.Overall this is a great half day trip 9 till 13 30 SEE ADAM FOR BEST PRICE WHO ALSO WORKS IN THE GOLD SHOP IN GRAND RESTA.

We also chartered a big dive boat for 550 for the day off emperor dives which included 2 scuba dives for 4 snorkelling for the rest of us and pizza,pasta,salad and unlimited water and coca cola also had wifi on board. Swam with the turtles again and finalyl got to sea the sea cow which was a bonus Well worth the money and well run by Bernie and Ahmed the guides.


OVERALL. The Hotel has some great staff all round but is in need of a few upgrades like the pools,rooms and little bits of the food. DON'T TOUCH THE CHIPS /FRIES THEY ARE PERFECT

If you want a more personal holiday Or are only going scuba diving or snorkelling than The Reef is for you. if you like a nice swimming pool with that extra quality of food than stay at the Grand
You can use the Grands facilities but you have to pay for drinks and food

THE INTERNET IS AWFUL IN THE REEF AND NOT MUCH BETTER IN THE GRAND

Room Tip: All rooms are near to everything as it is smaller than the Grand Family Rooms are near the dive scho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my third time at this hotel...and it's still as great as ever...the food is amazing..always something for everyone...pasta, salad, meat on the grill, omelettes, desserts...the bar staff are amazing too, and the waiters...they all remember you when you go back..which gives you the personal touch...then you have the manager Sherif...who makes sure eveything is ok..and the same with Ramy..also Charlotte on guest relations always makes sure everything is ok too...there are 2 pools, one swim up bar pool, which is heated...and the cold pool!!...the lagoon is amazing...the amount of different fish you see is ace...you will need wet shoes as it is very rocky...overall the staff make this a delightful hotel to return to...so i'm booked to go back on the 29th may..it is a lovely relaxing holiday..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The resta reef was an excellent hotel! We stayed from 19th march for one week!
The food was excellent with plenty of choice - especially the pasta bar!!! Yum!
The snorkelling was fantastic however it was quite windy most days so only
Managed to snorkel in the shallow bay! Still brilliant though!
We even managed to see dolphins from the jetty at 12 lunch time one day:)
The staff were very friendly and helpful cannot fault whatsoever!
The only negative was the animation team wasn't as good as other hotels we have been to in the past!

Oh and If you have a dome in the ceiling in your room it is not a camera in the middle which is what we thought haha.

The night time entertainment was quite poor but we are 19 and 18 so maybe it was for the older generation.....

Overall excellent holiday and we will be returning possibly in the summer months!

(It was 36 Celsius when we was there!)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our 3rd time in Egypt, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If your looking for rest & relaxation, this is the place to get it! The weather was gorgeous with temps between 28 & 32c. The beach is lovely, with plenty of sunbeds, windbreaks & parasols. There is an adults only section, although the few kiddies there were well behaved. The jetty has steps down into the sea which is watched over constantly by a life guard (i presume?)& they operate a flag system. White is safe to swim & snorkle, Red is choppy sea but still swimmable & black which is no go. The steps are lifted so no-one can go past the reef. When it got really windy, which it did on a few occasions, they roped the whole jetty off. If anyone walked too near the drop off someone would blow a whistle to call them back. It still surprises me how many people did that & ignored the whistle pretending not to hear it! Our room was approx 3 mins from the sea, & we were almost the furthest away! We had a garden view room but we could see the sea from our balcony. Our room (1130) was tired & dated but clean, & the bed was huge & soooo comfortable. Our room cleaner Mahmood, was funny & very attentive. He decorated our room using loo roll & flower petals the day before we left, & made hearts & swans with the towels!!! We always felt important to the staff, who ALWAYS greeted us with a smile & a hello, i dont think we met anyone who was rude or grumpy? The food catered for all tastes, with salad, rice & veg available at lunch & dinner times. The sliced oranges they had at breakfast were so tasty & juicy, i couldnt get enough! The head chef Abdo was a delight, he came round all the tables to check we were enjoying our food. All the waiters were busy scurrying around clearing tables & resetting them as & when needed, we never had to wait for a table to be cleared. The boys were charming & polite & you never had an empty glass for long, they remembered your drink & usually refilled your glass without being asked! The entertainment was also quite good. The animation team Allesandro (now back in Italy), Mara (also now home in Italy) Bleide(?) & Kiara were very good. If you didnt want to exercise they left you alone to soak up the rays!!! They put on a few shows & were quite comical. They had a professional belly dancer who was amazing & a singer from South Africa called Hayley. She has a lovely voice & sings a wide variety of songs. Charlotte the guest relations officer was lovely & so was her cat Chico, A ginger bruiser who is very affectionate & vocal! Charlotte had a fruit basket & bath robes sent to our room when she found out we had stayed at the Resta Grand a couple of years before, a lovely gesture we thought. Im sorry this has turned out to be an essay, but i just cant say enough about the place. Please give it go, you wont be sorry!!! If i've left anything out im sorry, you will just have to go yourselves ok!!! 5* service at 3* price. Well done Resta Reef, See you next year!

Room Tip: When we left (06/03/13), they were in the process of a massive refurb. WE saw a picture of a complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#5 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resta Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.