We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nat/frost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Resta Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 hotels in Marsa Alam
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nat/frost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed there for two weeks,16jan 2013-30jan2013, It was great! Staff very friendly and really looked after us, Thanks to Saad, Mostafa, Ahmed and the all team we had a great holiday.Rooms very clean, food was great, good choices and the snorkeling just at the hotel, right there even better.The entertaiment team, crazy italians and Charlotte with DJ Alex kept us very amused.We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    422
    116
    43
    12
See reviews for
220
493
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escharen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The overall rating has to be considered in relation to the price of this resort. Resta Reef is not luxurious but offers a lot of things that are valuable or even essential for a nice stay.
First of all the quality of the whole staff from manager to gardner and frontoffice to waiters; they are all extremely service oriented and well accessible.
Rooms are functional and are kept very clean, like also the public areas and toilets. Animation program is versatile and is not forced. Meals are excellent and offer a good variety.

The whole area is of limited size which works out peasant. Number of beach beds and towels is fine. A good mix of nationalities and hapily not that many Russians make it pleasant. During the night when there is westwind there is a slight threat for noise from the powerplant in spite of the distance. A pier into the sea makes snorkeling at the reef attractive when the sea and wind does allow it. Nice intimate beach. Possibilities for excursions are limited. Therefor this resort can specialy be recommended for a stay up to 8 days and then offers more pleasure than many big ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here 23rd to 30th January 2013 - what can I say, we were looking for a relaxing week away and that is exactly what we got! A very clean resort, excellent rooms which were cleaned every day (fresh towels and bedding each day), wide choice of food, good service from the staff. Met some lovely people and despite the lack of sunshine we still feel as if we have had a good holiday. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Family rooms are excellent - very roomy for 2, shower very powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Here till the 5th feb the hotel it self is 65km away from nearest big town it is in the desert the airport is only 10 minutes away but you probably know that so important information first
Tips we have not felt obliged to tip and the service is still very good but we will leave tips on our last day
Money exchange i brought 1000 egyptian pounds with me which cost £106 to buy from travel agent and i wish i didnt as i didnt need to bring any with me the hotel has a cash machine which also takes credit cards where you can insert english notes which exchanges it for egyptian pounds and 100 english pounds will get you 1150 egyptian pounds so its a much better rate here also at the end of the hotel drive are cheaper shops and a hsbc bank but the shops in the hotwl are about 500% dearer than the shops outside hotel i just went to buy 3 stamps which where marked 1.65 egyptian pounds and that wound be a total of 4.95 egyptian pounds or 50p he wanted 27 egyptian pounds which is about £3.00 6 times the value!!!
It is easy to buy in the shops here even when you haggle they know what people pay but if you want to buy anything then if they say 200 egyptian pounds you will get it for less than 100 but in town you will get it for 50 so it depends how desperate you are kids t shirts they want about 70 egyptian pounds in hotel but only 20-25 in town silicone snorkel is 200-300 in hotel but 100 - 120 £10-£12 in shops you need them here also coral shoes for in the sea are about £4
The hotel food is fairly basic but we havent got hungry if you live on mcdonalds then stay home the sea here was 23oc today 1st feb the heated pool was 32 and the nonheated pool was19
Local beer is fine as is the local spirits ill add more as the week goes on

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice hotel for a low cost. Good food, but not much beef/chicken. Their pastas was very good! The snorkeling is fantastic! This is wy you should take this hotel. Not much else to do but the hotel has a variety of sports to do, as football, volleyball, stretching, boule, tabletennis, pool, waterpool and more. The Grand resort nextdoor has a better variety during the evening. The beds and pillow in the room are hard, I liked the bed but not the pillow. But if you need a soft bed, this is not for you :-) The lighting in the rooms are poor ( in case you need to put on any makeup).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back from a very enjoyable holiday. We stopped at Resta Reef 23.01.2013 to 30.01.2013,we had a brilliant time as we wanted a relaxed holiday,which we had. Our overall stay was very pleasant, some of the staff really went the extra mile to make it even better.
We would like to thank a few of them,and we found just one arrogant bar tender who really put a small mark from it being a perfect holiday:
MAHMOUD; head chef from the hot kitchen (very friendly,funny and easy going who made us feel very important guest in the restaurant)also MASOUD another chef who made us feel very welcome.
SAIED;the restaurant manager,who was very polite and his team was well trained, Saied was very professional and has really led by example.
AHMED: concierge(bell man at front desk) who had a very good manner towards all the guest not just us,very polite and very helpful,always smiling,also a big thanks to GEMAL who was really helpful and friendly.
MARIO:front desk,very helpful and polite.
MOHAMMAD SAAD; bar attendant, who was very professional, always filled up soon as our drinks glasses was empty, he always remembered our beverage preferences,again very polite and friendly.
CHARLOTTE:our very own,( british rep)from the animation team,who was extremely friendly and helpful. From day one she filled us in with all the entertainment goes on thru out the day and evening,which we felt very comfortable and relaxed about,she even got my partner to get involve with the miss Resta Reef competition :) which i will let her tell u about if you do visit the resort(she will be there until october 2013 she said)
SARAH AND SUE:our Thomson reps who were very professional and helpful,always gave us the honest advise for excursion,shopping tips etc.
The only small down side was an incident when my partner ordered a coffee which arrived cold so she went back to ask for a new one and was challenged back by the bar tender saying its not cold and he started to pour it on the sink running his finger down it which we found a bit rude and un professional...he is sometime on the pool bar,disco bar his name is mostafa.
Our overall stay was very good, the people are very friendly.
By the way do take UK adaptor with you or you have to end up paying 5 pound for one in local shops.Watch out for the shop keepers at the Resta Reef they are very arogant.They will try to sale you everything for triple the money it cost.They have a fake face(basically they show you that they are your best friend and they are giving you the best deal)we didn't buy anything from the Resta Reef shops.We bought some souvenir from the market al QUSEIR and duty free which was cheap.
We would love to re visit again and recommend everyone to visit the beautiful Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped at the Resta Reef 23.1.2013 - 30.1.2013 and had a wonderful time. Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels, beds were comfy - TV was quite good 3 english channels. Food was lovely and had plenty to choose from the waiters were fab and our drinks glass was always re-filled when empty. One heated pool - swim up bar - not a big pool but lovely and warm, there are 2 pools, hotel right on the beach with plenty of sunbeds to go around also clean beach towels every day so no need to take your own. If you want tea/coffee in your room you have to pay extra think its about £6 for the week, we took our own travel kettle and tea bags. All the staff at the hotel were fab nothing was to much trouble for any of them they were very welcoming. The hotel is smaller than the Grand which is next door ( you can use their pool but have to pay for drinks/food) but we prefered it at the Reef as it was more cosy and everybody chatted to you - we made many new friends ! We would go back as it was lovely - Oh and added bonus Marsa Alam airport in 10 mins away, check in was very very quick and its a lovely airport. The down side is that there is not a lot to do in the evenings ( no prom for a stroll) but entertainment in hotel is good. WE HAD A BRILL TIME

Room Tip: We had room 4001 which overlooked the pools and sea and had a lovely ground floor balgoney - althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam | Red Sea, Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resta Reef Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.