We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull family trip in a quiet & peaceful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Samaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Samaya Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Samaya Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull family trip in a quiet & peaceful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were looking forward to spend a week holiday all together...in family. We made the right choice ! All the members of the staff were cutting themselves in 4 to make us feel at home. Our room was large and very comfortable. Our baby felt very quickly at ease in this new environnement. It was very nice to walk around and stop from time to time enjoying the area with this nice view on this marvellous red sea.
To recommend with both eyes closed !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Medium size 4 stars resort on the red sea with the taste of 5+ stars resort. Amazing crew, who waste no efforts to make you feel at home. Very good food with different tastes to match everyone needs. Majority of guests are German makes the resort like a German Club Resort. Diving center onsite about 200m walking from the hotel reception, where you find a professional diving team to enjoy you diving trips everywhere around Marsa Alam. Eliphenstone is the most wonderful diving site 2:30 hours by boot from the hotel where you can see Sharks and Dulphins in the same place. Don't wait and just try it :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for a week April 20 to 27. This is a small hotel nicely set at the south-end of the bay. I was allocated a family room which had a separate sleeping area with 2 additional single beds and a nice terrace overlooking the outdoor restaurant area. There is a kettle, a TV ( didn't watch ) and mini-bar. I didn't switch on the AC the room was cool enough during day and night .

Selection and food quality were excellent , we did not only get chicken every day ! The personnel without exception were most amicable, the entertainment team was discreet and definitely most friendly. There were quite a number of small children and the hotel became very quiet after dinner, at about 11 PM there wasn't anyone around , most guests went to sleep early. The majority of the clientèle was German speaking and a mix of other european nationalities Swiss, French, Dutch etc. only a few English voices. I wish I had stayed longer.

I came for diving, the weather was sunny and warm during the day up to 30 C and very windy, the sea was rough ! In the evenings temperature dipped to about 18 - 19 C and sitting outside without a cardigan or long sleeved shirt would have been uncomfortable. Water temp was about 23 C according to my dive computer, underwater was murky with poor visibility .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was surprised: Wonderful service, excellent food (I'm picky on that point), large and comfortable rooms. Don't go if you're looking for adventure, don't go if you mind 90% German clientele. Go if you're looking for a family vacation around the pool or snorkeling/diving. I took my two daughters, 2 1/2 and 5 years old at the end of March and had a wonderful stay. Day care is 10am-12pm and 3-5:30pm for those three and up including teen-agers. Prices have come down on wifi but make it easier on yourself and just by a local SIM for €15 including 500MB from one of the local merchants. Wonderful staff, very good food. 10 minute transfer from airport but few flights and you never seem to hear planes coming/going. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms much quieter than those facing inwards. If facing inwards then further from the bar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I used to take a break at Marsa Alam during Jan and Feb every year to enjoy the warm and sunny weather. This year I stayed 5 nights at Ibrotel Samaya Resort and I couldn't expect such wonderful atmosphere and fraindly staff. They didn't waste efforts to make us happy and enjoying every moment during the vacation. Rooms are amazing as well as the food and water temp. was 23 centegrate during Jan.

We was very sad to leave such fantastic place back to work and school in Cairo. However, we are planning to be back again and enjoy Marsa Amal in the same hotel during Spring this year.

Forgot to tel you about diving. Both my daughter and I had 2 dives on the house reef of the hotel. We saw a beautiful Aquarium and we missed the boat dives this time due to short vacation. Next time we are planning to go to Dolphins house and play with them.

Don't wait and just enjoy unforgettable vacation in Marsa Alam

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We have booked this trip through a German touroperator. It was a last minute all inclusive deal with very good value for money. The Samaya Resort is an Iberotel hotel in Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, which is a bay with a couple of Iberotel and Sol y Mar hotels. Madinat Coraya also has its drawbacks.

Reasons for going to Samaya Resort:
- The hygiene is good.
- The heated pools have a watertemperture of 27 degrees Celsius in january.
- There is a free water park with 13 slides.
- There are family rooms with two separate sleeping areas.
- The hotel looks luxury.

Reasons for not going to Samaya Resort:
- There are no regular buses, regular taxis, car hire or rent bikes so you're really stuck on the resort.
- There is little choice of tours and excursions are expensive.
- The evening entertainment is done by the animators and looks rather amateurish.
- Childrenentertainment is very nice but only in German.
- You can go on a tour to Luxor but then you have to travel by bus for 14 hours. You can also go by plain but this costs 220 euro per person.
- Bottled water is not part of the all inclusive deal.
- Wifi doesn't work. There is only one computer with internetconnection, costing 7 euro's per hour.
- Because of the coral you can not enter the water from the beach. You have got to use the scaffold near the Lamaya hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilden, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

After having had such a great experience at the Iberotel Makadi Bay Family Resort, we decided this time to travel further south in Egypt and spent our vacation at the Iberotel Samaya in Marsa Alam. We started this journey with high expectations from our previous Iberotel stay, and to put it simple, we were more than positively surprised.

The hotel is located at the tip of the south pensinsula of Madinat Coraya, which is about a ten minute ride from Marsa Alam airport. Mentioning that it should be noted that even though the airport is close, there is hardly any disturbance through air traffic, as this is a rather small and infrequently flown to airport, which has very nice facilities though.

The hotel is fairly new (opened within the last two years) and eco certified. The architechture of the three story buildings follows Egyptian style commonly employed at most modern hotel hotels in Egypt. There is an activity pool, a sun shaded kids pool and another swimming pool with sunbeds available even if the hotel is booked. There is one main restaurant, but throughout the day the pool bar is available for snacks. The guests are 95% German families with kids, which was perfect for us. There is plenty of entertainment for the kids and some activities for the parents as well. This resort is club style as it is part of TUIs "schöne Ferien" (nice Vaction) brand. All entertainment is mostly in German.

The family rooms in this hotel are well kept and very clean. Almost all of the rooms have ocean view due to the location on the peninsula. The family rooms are spacious and offer a great setting for families. Every room has a balcony, TV with various international channels, safe and air conditioning. On our arrival night we got a room where the air conditioning did not work and after an initial attempt to repair the AC we were moved to another upgraded room with ocean view. This was all very uncomplicated and cordial, and is only one of the good examples for receiving great service at the Iberotel Samaya.

Most of the guests in this hotel are on an all inclusive plan. Meaning you can eat and drink as much as you like. The restaurant and the pool bar offer plenty of opportunites to indulge or just to nibble, depending on personality. There is always something being offered if you are hungry or thirsty. What food quality is concerned I would simply say that the food offered is good. Not spectacular, but not bad either. Staying for two weeks it might get a bit boring, but then this also depends on the individual. What a price value comparison is concerned I would rate the food as excellent!

The Iberotel Samaya has also beach access on the peninsula where you can have sun chairs right by the sea. There is no access to go swimming due to the reef, but the chairs on the beach provide a wondeful view of the Red Sea. However, there is great access to the Red Sea serveral hundred meters away from the hotel. The snorkeling and diving opportunities at this location are simply amazing! I am a novice to the underwater world, but I have never seen or imagined such great underwater life.

The overall service at this hotel has been perfect. No matter where you went, asked questions or had a problem, the staff was simply great, hepful and caring. I have no doubt in recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking a for a value oriented family vacation. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Samaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Samaya Resort

Address: Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Samaya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberotel Samaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Samaya Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Samaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.