We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Diving and Snorkeling in Southern Egypt.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lahami Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsa Alam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lahami Bay Resort
Save
You added Lahami Bay Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Marsa Alam - Berenice Road | 115 km south of Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Diving and Snorkeling in Southern Egypt.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

The Lahami Bay Resort is one of the southernmost hotels along the Egyptian Red Sea coast.
The Hotel consists of widespread gardens with nice two-story buildings of which each houses four rooms. The rooms are very spacious and in pretty good shape, so are the gardens! I think most of the guests were return guests, which also speaks for itself.

Ursula, the host, is "a little bit of a character" but warm and caring and I think she's the one who keeps this place running.

Barakuda Diving Team is the on-site scuba dive center. They offer various house reef boat trips with a smaller wooden boat as well as day-trips with one of the usual Egyptian dive boats that could use a little TLC.You can also do beach-entry dives.The same beach entry can be used for snorkeling. There's also a surf center on the premises but since I'm a diver, I didn't have anything to do with that :-).

For Egyptian standards, I'd say, this hotel is maintained better than most... and I've been to a few of them. My only complaint would be the very spotty and unreliable WLAN/internet. If you advertise it, make it work! And if it doesn't work, offer alternatives. But just shrugging is not the right way to handle this (hence the -1*...).

Other than that, I really liked the gardens and pool area, the rooms were huge and clean, the food and drinks were plentiful and good and the diving/snorkeling is great!

Speaking of food/drinks, I was on the all-inclusive program. The good news: you don't have to wear a silly plastic band the whole stay. The bad news: whenever you order something to drink, you'll have to sign the bill. At the end of your stay, you get the pile of bills to check and (hopefully) don't have to pay a thing. Quite a lot of effort, I think, but I guess that the Egyptian way of doing this when you have a mixed crowd of half-pension and all-inclusive guests.

Did I mention that the the diving/snorkeling is great?! It really is! There are almost 30 outside reefs within a 90 minute boat-ride radius, plus the 6 buoys along the house reef, plus the beach entry house reef dives. That allows you to dive, no matter what the weather!
The dive center is pretty well organized but I'll review that separately.

I can definitely recommend the hotel and am considering to go there again next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    214
    56
    18
    5
See reviews for
112
199
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Can you imagine a hotel of this rank fighting with people? That's what happened to me and my 12-year old daughter. The instructor of the surfstation is not a doctor and if your child has a pain in her back after his class it doesn't mean that he can try to do her any massage.And if he does so and makes her feel even worse, so that you have to visit a real doctor, who gives her an injection and medicine, I think, you have the right to shout at him. If he smokes when teaching your child and doesn't understand why he should stop it you have the right to shout at him.You have the right to ask for the manager to interfere and to help you, but instead the manager of the hotel doesn't listen to you at all, but listens to the instructor, to the other guests who don'n want any noise and (though you've never spoken a word to them before) threaten to throw you away . Finally the manager comes to a very wise decision to make you leave the territory. And that's when you already paid in advance. You have half of the holiday left and ruined with your daughter suffering from pain in her back and neck (thanks to the instructor)The only thing that makes you feel a bit better in such a situation is the fact that you don't stay in this hotel (which is awfully expensive) and can return to a much cheaper and friendlier Wadi Lahmy Azur, but which has unfortunately no surfstation, but diving and kiting (fully booked - probably because their instructors don't try to do any massage but teach).

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were there for one week at Easter and these are our comments.
Pros:
the position of the hotel, on the best part of the bay;
the garden well maintained;
Turisanda' staff ( especially Jacopo and Valentina) that was very polite; actually they invited us to take part to the different activities they were organizing, but they never pushed too much us or didn't respect our privacy.
Very good cleaning of our room and bathroom,
Very polite and reliable housekeepers.
Cons:
Rooms and bathrooms need urgently to be refurbished;
Awful food, very little variety...it's good only if you are on diet...

Regarding the sea, it was nice, but very cold for the period, and when we were there is was not transparent as in Sharm el Sheik.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are currently at LAHAMI bay hotel and unbelievably are the only two guests this week. The staff,service and food quality has been outstanding! We have had many visits to Egypt but this is by far the best. We would highly recommend this hotel. The diving and snorkelling have been fantastic. Despite perceived concerns of travelling to Egypt we have felt very relaxed and consider this a very safe area for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The resort is well designed and comfortable. It appears as a sort of magical garden in the middle of the desert at the edge of the Red Sea. Although it can house quite a number of people, it seems relatively quiet, except at dinner time, when an excellent buffet is served. The resort has three beaches but is most of all a good place for divers who like some luxury. The resort has a house reef jutting out from the beach and operates an excellent diving centre with very capable and pleasant staff. Minuses are perhaps the unnecessary crooner at night and the somewhat too liberal behaviour of a few of the restaurant and boat staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the flanks, away from the main building, facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lahami Bay Resort is located at a remote and beautiful area of the Red Sea. There is absolutely nothing outside the hotel, just desert. The hotel maintains excellent standards and the snorkeling cannot be beaten in Egypt. The journey from the airport is long (2 hours). The rooms are comfortable and quiet. They are very spacious, with a comfortable king sized bed, a sitting area, a full bathroom with separate toilet and bidet, and ample storage. The mini bar was restocked daily. The room had satellite television; no Internet connection in the rooms. There’s wifi connection (2$/15min.) in the common areas near the reception. There are three different beach areas. All have fixed umbrellas and good quality wooden sunbeds with mattresses. Towels are given to you by the pool or the beach. The layout of the reefs is different from other hotels on this coast in that there is no need for a pontoon for entry to the sea as access is from the beach. There are many turtles, Napoleans, rays and reef sharks; the coral is colourful, varied and in pristine condition. Staff are outstanding, they were incredibly helpful, courteous and friendly. The food was generally very good. Breakfasts were excellent, with lots of varieties of bread, cheeses, fruit, fresh yogurt, etc. The buffet at noon and in the evening had lots of choice. There was nothing going on past 11 pm, when the bars closed. We’ll come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Negative:
Definitely not a 5 star hotel. The toilet in the room was not properly cleaned when we moved in. The bathroom and toilet doors stayed dirty despite our explicit request to the cleaning personal to take care of it. The service was not a 5 star hotel level. The waters were slow, often not friendly, sometimes on a border of plain rude (not all of them). The hotel in general produces a shabby impression.

Positive:
House reef is quite bid and in a very good state. A lot of big fishes and turtles to see.

It seems that people keep coming there because of the exceptional house reef, so hotel profit from it and makes no effort to improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahami Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahami Bay Resort

Address: Marsa Alam - Berenice Road | 115 km south of Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#30 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lahami Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Lahami Bay Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahami Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.