We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful sea and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Utopia Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Utopia Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utopia Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20 km south of El Quseir, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful sea and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Surely you can't expect the Maldives 5 star treatment here since is a low budget resort but for sure you will be amazed by the great coral reef you can enjoy snorkeling just within few meters from the shore. People of the diving centre are very nice and helpful, definitely is worth to book some tours by boat or by bus, turtles, dolphins and coral reef will welcome you for sure.
Food and drink is pretty average here, don't expect a great gourmet but at least no big gastrointestinal discomfort (avoid raw vegetable and no-no tap water also for teeth cleaning).

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the west side! there is a quite big diesel generator running 24/7 that produce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    198
    100
    57
    37
See reviews for
103
205
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I do not belong among people who like to stay in a huge resort for one thousand or more clients.... But if you want to dive in the Red sea you practically do not have another choice...
From this point of view I can say that Utopia beach resort is a good place as a base for underwater Adventure.... Clean and nice rooms, satisfactory food and good services... Of course, you have to take into consideration that you are NOT in Europe, of course :-)
So, if you love diving, Coral reefs, wonderful underwater nature - I can recommend Utopia as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Better to stay in bungalows, not in the main building where you can here quite noisy Power generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just a quick note to explain that I booked an holiday at the Utopia resort.
What I did not note is that the resort has two different hotels the Utopia and the Pensée Azur. It seems to be only one but not.
In the past , they were belonging to only one person, but after his death the hotels were separeted .
This is the reason of too many differencies on the advices of the website.
I prefer to be clear to everybody.
Today you stay in one hotel but you can not take drinks, lunch or dinner in the other one even if you have all-inclusive package.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Utopia for week during our first visit to Marsa Alam.

So the best part of the resort is the sea. The reaf and water are amazing and great for snorkling and diving. The dive center folks are really nice and helful in getting you whatever experience you want.

Sadly, besides from the sea, the hotel did not live up to my expectations. The rooms are a little run down (and some noisy). Everyday when our room was cleaned, they forgot the replace things (glasses, towels, sheets). We had to call daily to get these items when we returned to our room from the beech. Whenever they delivered clean towels to our room, they were usually damp. We saw the person who cleaned our room daily and he kept pushing us to give him a tip and we kept telling him the room was not made up properly. The water pressure in the shower is also horrible. It goes from spitting to trickle and back to spitting every 30 seconds.

The staff at the hotel is very nice. Everyone is friendly and trys to accomadate you. I think the biggest disappoint of the hotel was the food. Besides from Monday nights (local Egyption food) the food is very bland and nothing to get excited about. Lunch was the worst, since the food was not even that hot. I know all inclusives you get tired of the same food, but from the first day we were disappointed with the quality and variety of the food provided.

One last point, unless you tip the bartender, they will generally not let you take a drink back to your room for the evening. I like to have a glass of wine at night while reading and did not want to sit in the smoke filled lobby, so I attempted to bring the glass back to my room. Every nite was the same... someone chasing me down saying that glasses were not allowed to be taken from area they were received from. The don't care about the wine... they just want to keep track of the glass. I guess there is a shortage because several times I had to wait for a drink because they did not have a glass available. I don't think it's a lot to ask to be able to have a glass of wine on your patio in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Utopia Beach Club is a huge resort on a beautiful beach right on the Red Sea. We have been there in September 2011 and loved the fact that without having to rent boats or book a private excursion you could just go into the see and it was already being in the most wonderful acquarium with corals and fish of all sort!
Sunbeds on the beach are comfortable and towels are provided. We felt that the staff was very present and careful, so we even left money and cameras under the umbrella without issues.
Rooms are very basic, but they do get cleaned every day. The shower had very little water pressure, so it was best to use the ones outside.
Food was ok, but really not a gourmet choice (this is the downside of all inclusive packages). Breakfast is nice and also the freshly baked bread at lunch. Once we went to the beduin tent on the beach for dinner, where we had a nice fish menu including lobsters at 25 euros each.
The staff of the hotel was always very helpful. We needed a doctor in a couple of occasions, due to some coral accident and that comes at additional cost, but still we were well taken care of.

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach are bungalows and probably older than the ones in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have spent one week there with my baby and my wife (from October 9 untill 15).
It was my first time in a village because usually we organize by ourselves our vacations.
THE ONLY PROBLEM it's with the noise of the engines generator; these are quite near to the residence and are not sound proofing.
THE SEA IS FANTASTIC because you have a beatiful beach and in 2 points it is possible to go in the sea which bottom is sandy; very good for babies and old aged or disable people. In one case (north reef) the sandy bottom is continuos untill the open sea and you can dive.

Rooms: location next to the beach (500-525) and far away from the engines
The food is quite good even if I suggest the chef the to make it more varied.
The swimming pools allow you to play with your baby not only in the sea.
In general everythink is enough clean, and we had not any diseases (the water is not drinkable). The staff is always kind and enough efficient.
Conclusions: if you like the Nature, this the right place, if you like movida or something similar, forget about it.
Mario Marini

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

from the moment we set foot in utopia beach resort we felt welcome and at home. The staff were friendly, chatty and helpfull and even more so felt like an extension to the family. every egyptian we met was always happy to see us and to offer assistance where ever possible. The rooms were lovely well decorated and everything was in good working order the beds were comfortable and queen sized, the hotel itself as you can see from the photo's was very grand and well kept inside and out.
every part of this hotel from the reception to the pool to the beach is absolutely stunning and a pleasure to be around.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone (providing you don't fully book this hotel when we return hehe)
We made so many friends in egypt with very little effort as every egyptian loves to learn english and will take the time to speak to you to perfect thier english language.

we could go on about Utopia beach resort and egypt for hours but the resounding fact is that we all had an amazing stay with utopia and cannot wait to go back will definately be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: we had rooms near to reception that were in the 100s that were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Utopia Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Beach Club

Address: 20 km south of El Quseir, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utopia Beach Club is a family managed Beach Resort. A natural paradise for divers, snorkelers and sun lovers. Located on one of the most breathtaking shores of the South Red Sea, Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Utopia Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Beach Club Hotel Marsa Alam
Utopia Beach Hotel
Hotel Utopia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utopia Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.