We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive holiday at Brayka bay reef resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brayka Bay Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Brayka Bay Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsa Alam Rd, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 hotels in Marsa Alam
Ammersfoort
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dive holiday at Brayka bay reef resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I found this a good resort. The rooms are fine although a bit outdated. The cleaning was good and wen the airconditioning broke down it was fixed the next day.
Food was good and there was a daily change of the theme.

The diving school Extra Divers is very good and well organized.

Room Tip: Block 15 is located next to the divingschool of Extra Divers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    258
    82
    44
    23
See reviews for
187
254
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel in Feb 2010. We got a really cheap deal so thought why not. This was my first experience of all inclusive and it really put me off for a while. Both I and my other half suffered from upset stomachs. The room was very basic and wasn't of a 4 star quality. The best part about the hotel was the beach lovely white Sands and no jetty. There is literally nothing outside the hotel so its ok if you just want to relax . Overall I wouldn't recommend if you want a decent hotel . I guess if your on a tight budget you would be able to put up with the issues I've mentioned . I won't be returning .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uhlisko, Banská Bystrica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed holidays in March 2012, temperatures were around 27 C during the day and 22 C during the night.
Resort has an excellent location in the bay and compared to other resort it is least windy.
Hotel rooms are little bit more "used" than we expect, but were clean.
Food was a mid-level quality, not bad.
Hotel has a childrens pools and it is plenty of children's activities. Snorkeling is pretty good but not the best of Marsa Alam.
I recommend not only for families with children.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on left side from hotel reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A fantastic resort with a nice beach, gym etc. The all inclusive is great, the rooms are good also for families. There is not that much to do unless you like to swim, dive and sun. To far away from Kairo etc if you have kids. I would defin go there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, that is the place to go. the coral reef here is the best..just few steps away from the room! The food was amazing..Rooms spacious, not far from the main restaurant. if you want a nightlife choose sharm el sheikh or hugharda as Marsa Alam would not be the place for you...however I loved it..

Room Tip: sea view rooms have breathtaking views..worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Been to Egypt many times...Sharm, Marsa Alam, Hurgharda, Luxor, Cairo....stayed at around 20 hotels....so i have experienced from 3 star to 5 star..
it was a couple of years ago i went so hopefully it has since improved although i would never risk it again !!!
First impression of the hotel was lovely...........
The saving grace for this hotel is the reef, it is amazing with loads to see, i even came face to face with a huge shark, but only for a second....i was outta there !!!!
Rooms are ok , although we where situated away from the main hotel.
Now the bad part.....the food....me and my husband are not fussy eaters , although we do not stuff ourselves with anything either. The dining room was dirty and grubby looking with food on the floor, the cooks in the white uniforms where filthy....all the food was luke warm if not cold.
It was full of noisy russians.
The food was mushy slop.....we just tried to nibble at food that looked quite safe.
On around the 3rd day we both fell extremely ill, very very severe sickness and dioreah...we where both room bound most of the holiday, my husband could not make it out at all, we needed to be within 3 feet of the bathroom.
All we could eat when we did manage to go for food was a bit of soup and bread.
Cannot describe how ill we where......and it carried on 4 weeks after our return....
My husband lost 10lb in weight and i lost 7lb.
If you love snorkelling but wanna lose weight at the same time go to this hotel, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ok, so this was my first tim doing the all inclusive concept. It lived up to my expectations with all its pro's and cons. I will sum it up for you.

Pro:
A- You can actually leave your wallet at home. No extra charges on food and drinks.
B- A world of plenty, meaning things were always in stock
C- a lot of variation

Cons:
A- Quality can be some what disappointing, Don't expect haute cuisine and good wine.
B- The buffet opening can be like a buffalo stampede.
C- You never know if things are rinsed with tap or bottled water. (google curs of pharao)

Brayka was a fine place to stay. But not all ends of the resort were very smart looking. We had a suite, meaning double bedroom and bathroom. The room was very spacious and generally clean. Room lacked atmosphere and beds where spartan (like sleeping on a big rock). Beach was superb. A lot of snorkeling possibilities. Plenty of comfortable sun beds and umbrella's. As long as you don't pay attention to people "reserving" sunbeds early in the morning and don't return till 11am. Pool was a bit to cold for me.

All in all Brayka Reef Resort was a fine place to stay for a week.

Tip: Spa Was Brilliant. Very good massage!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brayka Bay Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brayka Bay Reef Resort

Address: Marsa Alam Rd, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#25 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brayka Bay Reef Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zee Resorts Brayka Bay, Marsa Alam is offering a new and unique holiday experience comprising three different concepts within one destination and providing a total inventory of roundly 928 rooms and suites. Two Hotels with 680 rooms are already in operation with one more to open in summer 2014 adding another 276 rooms. Formerly known as Brayka Bay Reef Resort and the Royal Brayka Bay Resort the hotels are built in preferred location making them the perfect holiday getaway. Beautifully nestled in the stunning Brayka Bay, they range over 1.3 Km of coast line offering tropical gardens, excellent leisure facilities, sandy beaches and two stunning outer coral reefs that are home to an incredible diversity of marine life. Zee Resorts Brayka Bay are much more than just hotels, they are a destination within a destination where relaxation meets family time along with fun and party with friends. Three different Resorts offering three different holiday concepts give you the choice to "bond, relax & party" while having access to all facilities within the entire destination complex. Zee Resorts Brayka Bay are offering everything needed to turn a great holiday into an experience of a lifetime. A whole bunch of activities and facilities is waiting for you. No matter which restaurant you would like to dine in, what type of sports you would like to learn or where you want to relax, we leave it on you to try and experience. An extensive variety of tours and excursions will bring you close to the beautiful landscapes, historical and archeological sites as well as the terrestrial wildlife Marsa Alam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Brayka Bay Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brayka Bay Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Brayka Bay Reef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brayka Bay Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.