We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!! Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach to your Saves list
CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsa Shagra, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!! Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

iWe have just returned from 16 glorious days at Calimera, again like some of the reviews we were concerned about the complex after reading some of the reviews. We think that some people must of stayed at a different place to us!! From the moment we arrived to the day we left the staff couldn't do enough for us, the Egyptian people are some of the most friendly people we have ever met.
On arrival (1900hrs) we were shown in to reception, given a cold drink while we checked in, a member of staff showed us to our room and then returned with our cases. The room was a double superior, it was massive, the bathroom had a shower which four people could've showered in!! We requested a sea view which we got. The room was clean and was cleaned every day, we recieved clean towels when asked for and had our sheets changed four times during our stay. Every day we recived fresh bottles of water in the fridge.
The food was fine considering the amount of people that they were catering for. In fact we found that there was too much choice!! We wanted to try every thing and we never finished everything on our plates!! The cakes,choices of breads and desserts were to die for. The themed evenings in the restaurant gave us the chance to eat freshly cooked local food, the best falafel i've ever tasted!! We never had any problem finding a table, we sat amongst the Italiens inside and out and felt no bad atmosphere at all. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. On entering the restaurant there are alcho gel dispensers which you are encouraged to use on you hands before helping yourself from the buffet. At lunchtime we ate at the snack bar by the Active Pool as we found the food in the restaurant too heavy at lunchtime.
The pool areas,beach and public loos were extremley clean. The pool filters were changed on a regular basis throughout the day, the loos were cleaner than some of the public loos in Britain!!! We never had a problem finding a sun lounger poolside or beach, yes we did put our towels down on the loungers on our way to breakfast!! (If you can't beat 'em join 'em!)
The gardens were always being attended, watering, mowing, pruning and sweeping was always going on. We have never seen such green grass and walked on such soft and spongey grass before! There are bins and ashtrays all over hence no dog ends or litter any where.
The beaches were good, but do take some protective footwear due to pieces of stray coral. My husband loved the snorkling and one morning came face to face with a 4ft Reef shark!! He was informed that they often come in the shallow waters to feed on the fish NOT the snorklers!! One morning whilst watching the sun rise of fthe end of the jetty we were lucky enough to see a pod of wild dolphins swim by AMAZING!! That morninig we also saw a Blue Spotted Ray in about 5 inches of water. On a calm day you can see many different fish from the jetty. The music from the Eden Beach did get a bit tiresome so we often caught the free bus to the peaceful Abo Dabab beach highly recommended. We used to pre order a lunch bag and go off to Abo Dabab for the day, the lunch bag consists of 5 filled rolls, 4 pieces of fruit, a bottle of water and a carton of juice and that is for one person!!
We NEVER had to pay for water, you are welcome to help yourself from the water dispensers at the bars you are NOT limited to the amount of cups you fill!!! You are charged if you want a BOTTLE of water though. The bar staff especially Mohamed and Hamed who worked The Active Bar were fantastic. Many an evening they wanted to learn Cockney slang which was hilarious and not forgetting Zidan who the Relax Bar we are missing them all!!
I did get Egyptian belly (through being a pig and eatin too much!) went to the hotel GP who gave me an injection and some tablets 3hrs later I was fine and back on the beach!!!
We got on fine with the Italiens and Germans and found them polite, infact some more polite than some Brits we've encountered on our hols!!
Don't go to Calimera if all your kids eat are chicken nuggets and fish fingers and you want you carvery on a Sunday because wont get it!!! If you only want to mix with Brits book book with a tour operator who has exclusivity on certain hotels then you can have a home from home holiday!!! But I bet you will still find something to complain about!!!
HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!! Hello also to Sarah and Max from Seaford, Eastbourne.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    81
    29
    19
    10
See reviews for
78
96
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I was slightly weary of going on this holiday after reading some horrible reviews, but once i was there it was clarified that those reviews were complete rubbish and i had nothinig to worry about. The resort is just beautiful with a fantastic team working there, everyone of the staff would bend over backwards to make the guests happy. We were continuely told we could do or have what ever we wanted. The staff really made it feel like a home from home we made so many friends and will truly miss them until we return for a second visit. The people outside the hotel were also really friendly, every shop we went to we got invited in for a cup of tea and a smoke. The food was lovely and had a very wide variety to choose from. I would definatley recommend going into the dessert during the night, the stars are amazing out there, bit scary going out into the darkness but with a good guide you are totally safe. All in all this was the best two weeks of my life, we were treated like royalty, made some great friends and the place was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Hotel Calimera Habiba at the end of May for 2 weeks! It was brilliant, couldn't of asked for much better! Rooms lovely, big, cleaned everyday. Resort was great, beach was nice, pools nice, restaurants nice.! Lots of day trips and entertainment! So hot!

Don't think I will ever find a better holiday!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Just spent a week at the Calimera with three friends, and all I can say is WOW!
The hotel was lovely, we had a huge suite that had a massive balcony and sunbeds. The staff were very friendly and helpful - our cleaner made some amazing sculptures out of towels!. Manners and the occasional tipping goes a long way. The food was'nt great, but there was something for everyone and they also had theme nights. Never had a problem finding sunbeds. You do need shoes for the sea because of the corral, but if you are a first time snorkeller like me this beach is perfect. Never felt unsafe and still plenty of sealife to see - I saw the most amazing coloured Ray!.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and excursions are expensive and a good bus ride away, so not ideal for people whose main objective is just to relax.
The hotel does have a lot of Italians, but the only time this was a pain was on the Bedouin night, almost all in italian.
The only word of advice I would give is that if you wan't to do some shopping or eat at the non all-inclusive restaurants is take Euros - we did'nt and took Egyptian Pounds and as a result had to continually convert.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

just returned from the hotel couldnt fault anything everyone was friendly nice and everything was fantastic the views the people and the food they couldnt have done more if they tried.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We have recently returned from our third stay at this resort and as usual had a lovely holiday. The resort is looking a little tatty round the edges now having been open for three years and could so with a bit of TLC BUT that does not detract from the surroundings which are if anything prettier than last year. Having read the reviews we were expecting the standard of food to be dire but it was not. Please bear in mind that four of five star in Egypt is not the same as four or five star in say Mexico. Stomach upsets (a touch of the runs) are quite usual and is not a bug and probably nothing to do with the quality of the food more to do with the British mentality of having air conditioning on full blast because its "too hot" drinking too much alcohol and not enough water, and baking in the sun. As for the scaremongering about an out break of Legionnaires what can I say, we were informed by Thomas Cook that there had been two cases reported, one in 2006 and one in September 2008. We were offered a move to another hotel but felt that the tour operators knee jerk reaction was over the top so we stayed. The water systems were chlorinated and following that it was probably the safest hotel in Egypt. We hope that Thomas Cook return to this resort because it is lovely. Perfect for a relaxing holiday with guaranteed sunshine and Abu Dabab beach which is a ten minute courtesey bus drive away is snorkelling heaven. We saw Dennis the Dugong this time so third time lucky. The majority of the guests are Italian but tend to stick to the beach and the Eden Village. Anis, Ramzi and the team will try to get you involved in the games but a polite "no thankyou" is all you need; the same applies to the on site Photographer. This year we took a taxi into Marsa Alam which is some 22 kilometres away from the hotel - it's was a great experience but be warned you will not find KFC or McDonalds and please if you do go into Marsa cover up, no bare shoulders, arms or legs ladies. Respect the culture and you will get respect back.Basically this is a no hassle, relaxing resort in beautiful surroundings - enjoy.

  • Liked — Total relaxation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Have just returned fro the Hotel Calimera Habiba and would reccomend you do not visit. Although the rooms and hotel grounds are excellent, we found the food to be of a poor standard. During our stay everyone had stomach upset's and has to get medicine from the doctor. On our return we have been advised by Thomas Cook that this hotel has just reported cases of Legionairres Disease and if we have any symptoms to contact our doctor. It is a shame because with with just a little more care with food quality and whatever caused the legionaires outbreak this could be a great destination.

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach

Address: Marsa Shagra, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Habiba Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Calimera Habiba Beach Marsa Alam
Calimera Habiba Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.