We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elphinstone Reef

Elphinstone Reef
Marsa Alam, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Marsa Alam
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction details
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A must for all the divers who like the deep blue. Very nice dive for experienced divers, we were lucky to see hammerhead shark and few grey sharks. From the dives in the Marsa Alam region, absolutely the best one - not colorfull like the reefs at the shore but the deep blue and the sharks ....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    68
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great but with out sharks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Dive was somethig special. Open water, great corals, baracudas, napoleons and other coral fishes. But I was there to see sharks. Maybe next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammersfoort
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My first Manta ray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

With the zodiac from Extra Divers, Brayka bay resort we travelled 20 minutes. With 10 divers we went into the deep, north side of the reef. Because there was almost no current we hoverd at thirty meters when one of us spotted a big Manta ray below us. Reviewing the film we shot it must has passed us at 50 meters deep.
Returning back to the pick up point we were taken over by a whitetip rif shark which went about 10 meters underneath us.

Great dive!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Best dive trip so far. Middle of the Red sea, strong currents, therefore big fish: Hammerheads, tuna, biggest napoleon fish ever

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best dives in the world...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

...sounds maybe exaggerated, I haven't tried "everything" yet, but it certainly was the most beautiful and fascinating of our 50 dives som far. We sailed out to the reef in zodiac in just 17 minutes from the shore, dolphins at the bow, hammerhead in the deep, and loads and loads and loads of live in between. At one point, it was almost like a "fish soup" :-) We will dive this site every time we visit the Red Sea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elphinstone Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.