We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanic White Tip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elphinstone Reef

Elphinstone Reef
In Front of Blue Reef, Marsa Alam, Egypt
01229574380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 attractions in Marsa Alam
Type: Reefs
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction Details
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oceanic White Tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went i November and saw about 5 curious sharks at Elphinestone, they stayed with us for the whole dive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    17
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crowded, lots of fish and a few distant sharks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Two live aboards and a few day boats unloaded all their divers at the same time early in the morning. It was a bit crowded down there. As a result a few sharks graced us with their presence from a distance and I was amazed at the amount of small fish on the reef. We were shocked by a zodiak that zoomed over our group and parked above us with the props running when we were near the surface, a very unsafe situation!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitenbach, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“big fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation,
this time too i.e. reputation
this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Sharks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent forget FOOTBALL & take a proper adrenlin buzz dive this reef with the White Tip Sharks & Dolphins an excellent dive with plenty of corals & marine life

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unfortunately we never seen any of the big guys, but I suppose its all about the luck on the day. Infil and exfil by gemini, went with Emperor Divers. The current was quite strong initially on first dive and some divers were seen clutching the reef. Good strong drift dive. Started at 30 metres and stepped up during the dive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elphinstone Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elphinstone Reef to your Saves list