We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanic White Tip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elphinstone Reef

Elphinstone Reef
Marsa Alam, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving
Attraction details
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oceanic White Tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went i November and saw about 5 curious sharks at Elphinestone, they stayed with us for the whole dive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    81
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Crowded, lots of fish and a few distant sharks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Two live aboards and a few day boats unloaded all their divers at the same time early in the morning. It was a bit crowded down there. As a result a few sharks graced us with their presence from a distance and I was amazed at the amount of small fish on the reef. We were shocked by a zodiak that zoomed over our group and parked above us with the props running when we were near the surface, a very unsafe situation!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitenbach, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“big fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation,
this time too i.e. reputation
this time too i.e. lived up to it's reputation

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Sharks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent forget FOOTBALL & take a proper adrenlin buzz dive this reef with the White Tip Sharks & Dolphins an excellent dive with plenty of corals & marine life

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unfortunately we never seen any of the big guys, but I suppose its all about the luck on the day. Infil and exfil by gemini, went with Emperor Divers. The current was quite strong initially on first dive and some divers were seen clutching the reef. Good strong drift dive. Started at 30 metres and stepped up during the dive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elphinstone Reef also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Elphinstone Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elphinstone Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.