We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14thAug-28Aug family Hols” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Lamaya Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Lamaya Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Welsh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“14thAug-28Aug family Hols”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Flights-Thomsons really need to sort this out... Flight out of Manchester was dreadful.. Why for 5 and 3/4 hours a film could not be shown..and now flights have been axed from Manchester to Marsa Alam for next year... We have been loyal to Marsa Alam and next year Gatwick..(We will not be beaten!!) flight back flight attendants lovely far nicer and pleasant than those on way out , but boy it was cold could have been just back of plane and we did have jumpers on.. But as we were flying into a head wind long long flight .
Hotel - first impression brilliant..food first night was iffy but to be fair they do stay open for flights and it is late..room lovely overlooking jetty,superior family room ,loads of space and Ali the cleaner was excellent and lovely towel art everyday even with kids toys incorporated!we stayed in room 2159,
Food,great at breakfast and we did beach bar at lunch.. Both were excellent. Struggled a bit for kids at night but they loved the pasta so job done.
Pool area.. Lovely....though had few probs with pool.. One was a "deposit" left by child which was very quickly and professionally handled and the lads cleaned pool for 12 hours.. Next was filter prob in big pool.. Shut for whole day.. The main pool is the feature but again soon sorted by Ahmed and his team of pool lads
Ahmed the rep is lovely!!! Even taught him some Welsh!! He is very caring and genuine and rightly won best rep award xx
Animation team- really let down with kids entertainment ESP for 8-14 year olds ... Mini disco isn't.. It's a tots party.. Last few days to be fair to Deiter he took them to aqua park... He was like The pied piper of Hamlyn.. Kids nearly fell off their sun beds in rush... It would not take much to organise a proper mini disco even by terrace for 3/4 of an hour for the kids then even tots can join in and parents can have a few drinks watching kids dance to current music .. Not kids play songs,animation is good but u can set your clock to it ..Carla's aqua gym... Get ready boy he works u!!
Entertainment.. Personally I don't want to sit in a theatre and when we did go it smelt awful..we want to sit on terrace band listen to singer or music,. He was bad but funny and gave u something to look at and to dance.. Disco too late for kids and for us as we have to look after them but then he disappeared .. Then nothing not even music from speakers.. Kids had to take ds out to keep occupied.. We actually took our own music couple of nights! Such a pity as area is lovely.. Animation could do couple of night on terrace and rest in theatre.. We do not want a party just music! Singer that was there for one night about the 26th was great all kids and adults dancing... Next night( our last night.. Nothing ) not even music from speakers!!! Shame as the same happened on the Sat night... Saturday night and no entertainment.. Just the theatre... U have to take alcohol in there which is also a bind...but please management take note of this
All in all FANTASTIC HOLIDAY!! WE are returning next year.... In Aug ! ( will e mail you Ahmed!!) to all the staff in the hotel and the girls in the wellness clinic ( best massages ever!!) than u so much for making my.Petes Elise and Sauls holiday such a memorable and enjoyable time.. Many thanks again Melanie xx

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    266
    100
    32
    19
See reviews for
372
499
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in!! We stayed here for a week from 14th-21st August ( we wanted to stay for longer :-( ) & we will definitely be returning. All of the staff are brilliant, from cleaners, gardeners, reception, bar staff, managers- they work very hard & are always so polite & go above & beyond their job! Check-in was perfect, the staff work well as a team to make this quick for you! Our room was amazing, sunset sea-view, always cleaned to a very high standard, perfect! This resort is very chilled out & we enjoyed being able to go for lots of walks around the beautiful resort too! Sooo many sunbeds so no early morning reservations needed-fab! All inclusive really means that-drinks self-service, even the wine! fab! We swam with turtles as they came right in to the shallow water & saw about 8 or 9 dolphins as we walked to the other end of the resort. The jetty was great to go on in the day & at night when it is lit up, the fish you see here are amazing! The animation team are great with the kids & we enjoyed chatting to them as we were very lazy not doing any sports activities in the day, but the staff would give you great resort info as they passed by! Ahmed is great at his job, so approachable & always checking we didn't need anything! We can't wait to stay here again! Any questions about this hotel feel free to ask :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashraf A, General Manager at Iberotel Lamaya Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for choosing Lamaya to celebrate your honeymoon. My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued praise, it is very much appreciated and has provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel and we hope to welcome to you soon.

Ashraf Ayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I really enjoyed this holiday, have just got back and am already missing it so much. The rep, Ahmed was so helpful and kind, always ready to help and ensure you enjoyed your holiday for which I am so great full, thank you. The staff were so attentive and friendly, they work so hard so you can have the best stay possible. The animation team are great for kids and adults ranging from activities like Water polo with timo and excercise activities with Rita and the others, to evening entertainment for all. I'm so glad we went, i will miss the place dearly. I recommended it to anyone and everyone!! And I hope others have such an enjoyable stay like we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Family holiday to Iberotel Lamaya August 2013.


The hotel is pleasant, well decorated with fantastic grounds. The staff were excellent, polite, helpful and attentive. The rep Ahmed was brilliant, he always looked very smart, he was knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for him.


We visited on an all inclusive basis and the food was typical of an all inclusive package, the drinks were not the best quality, especially the soft drinks.


The daytime entertainment was good but concentrated on the very young and adults, there was little for the 8-12 year olds. We did not go to any of the evening entertainment as the theatre smelt unpleasant!

Our room was very good looking over the bay, it was cleaned daily, the cleaner was very friendly and helpful, especially when we locked ourselves out!

I would agree with the comments about the pool, one or another was closed when it was evident that they had not used enough chemicals to keep it clean. Unfortunately as is typical with many hotels the sunbed situation is not brilliant by the pool but there were plenty on the beach.


The location to the reef is excellent and the snorkelling was fantastic.


All in all a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic break meeting up with friends from 2 years ago and new friends from last year. It was great to be welcomed as long lost friends by the staff and shown to room in preferred block. Good to see michael and Ann and a German couple (sorry don't know your names) that we have dived with previous years. Great diving (as always) with Coraya divers, who make theholiday perfect for us - thank you Sonya and Kai. Special mention to Andy and sue who make our holidays special and John and Blerina. Diving was fantastic as always, hotel is exceptional, only thing missing is real orange juice at breakfast. Missing the staff and dive team already, already booked for next may, just can't wait. If you are in any doubt just go! Xxxx

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashraf A, General Manager at Iberotel Lamaya Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for your time taken to post a review. The entire Lamaya team were very pleased to receive such feedback & praise. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay & look very much forward to hosting you back to Lamaya in May.

Thank you,

Ashraf Ayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

and the title sums it up, just back from a two week trouble free holiday. No troubles at the hotel, the transfer or indeed untroubled by the disconcerting events currently in Egypt. Marsa Alam is 100s of miles way from recent events and as there is no business or commerce other than tourism we found the whole resort peaceful, and long may it stay so, although our thoughts are with all staff who may have families affected by the situation.
This is our 13th all inclusive and 5th time in Egypt and our first time at Lamaya and we would definitely go back.
The 10 minute transfer from the private Airport is a dream - we went to the bank just inside the terminal for our four Visas and saved about £12, by this time our bags were out, duly collected then on the bus and swiftly at the hotel to be met with a very warm welcome and smooth registration process which found us in our rooms in a seamless motion.
We are two adults a 16 year old and an 11 year old and the room was great for our needs, large bathroom, followed by two single beds leading to a separate double bedroom which had a door between giving extra privacy if needed..... we were ground floor overlooking the pool bar which made access through the 'patio' doors even easier to the
Pool area which was again just enough for our needs....... one pool being given over to those wanting more active pursuits whilst being close to the animation hut. music, activities and pool bar whilst the other pool nearby was a good size and depth with gentle steps at one end for the more cautious. Although no longer needed for our party, if the kids were still young then the kiddies pool would've been more than adequate and suitably shaded all day.
On the lower 'deck' is another pool area for those wanting an even more relaxed setting.
Yes the old 'towel' debate still rages but I was up most mornings at 7 (by choice) and always found a bed for the four of us and we even managed to keep 'our spot' for the whole two weeks. There are enough sunbeds, the pool guys will always find you more and there is enough shade even if it means on occasions you are following the shade of a palm tree as the sun moves round.
From the pool area you have easy access to reception, the main restaurant, the beach bar, the beach and the snorkeling or diving, plus a wide pathway that allows you to walk from one side of the cove to the other should you so choose. The pathway also allows those who are into running to put in a few miles.
So lets just imagine you missed the great breakfast that is on offer until 1030.... well, snacks are available at the pool bar and beach bar ........ if your snooze takes you past all of this then a lovely menu is available to you from the beach bar or indeed the main restaurant from about 12 noon.
We always used the beach restaurant as the food was fab, as were the waiters, yes waiters because the other great thing at the beach bar was you were served so you could all sit and eat together from starters to pudding.
The beach bar leads to the beach where volley ball and boccia are regularly played, for the beach lovers among you then take your pick of umbrellas as there are plenty to spare.
Jettys' take you over the coral where everyone can experience the delights of the superb marine life and the crystal clear waters allows 'Nemo' to be spotted without actually having to enter the water.
For the divers out there there is a dive school onsite for you to take advantage of, for those who simply wish to snorkel then the complex and bay are ideal for those of any experience.
At the end of the jettys are two platforms, from which steps descend to allow easy access to the sea and all that lies below. the first platform that you come to has gentler steps and is ideal for those that simply want to sit or stand on something whilst being able to hold on as they put only their face in water..... that in itself will allow a myriad of multi-coloured fish to be seen.......... the second platform is busier and the steps slightly steeper................
either way, what is great is that the coral/sea line is easily defined by a rope suspended by bouys and this allows even the novice to experience some awesome snorkeling by simply just holding on to the rope and 'hanging' there, or by slowly pulling themselves along the rope line to discover even more delights.
I found the best snorkeling to be between 6-8 in the morning when the sea seemed calmer and clearer, however I still went mid day and evening and still had fun, amongst a whole host of colorful fish I cant name I saw stingray, Unicorn Fish, Napoleon Fish, Barracuda, single fish, shoals of fish, and even a turtle which to my delight came towards and then underneath me so close I could've have touched it............ magical
The complex seems large enough to loose yourself in yet small enough for safety and peace of mind........... a great mix of busyness or relaxation as you wish
Staff are friendly, helpful, polite, courteous and always willing to help and that ranges from the gardeners and cleaners right through to reception and management and that is before you decide to tip them.
All the areas are clean and tidy and a small army keeps it so, food is superb, could've eaten something different every night and the little BBQ spot just outside the main restaurant is not to be missed.
Entertainment during the day and night is fun and the animation team work really hard to keep your day full if you choose to take them up on their offers of stretching, volley ball, aerobics, aqua gym, water polo, archery, boccia and pool games.............. whilst they are encouraging they are by no means over bearing or pushy and are all a great laugh and fab team which can be seen in their nightly shows which are always good for a laugh and light entertainment.
Charli the English hotel liason young lady was always on hand to help as was Ahmed the Thompson rep of which much has already been said and which we all agree with........ helpful, accessable, friendly, informative and all round great guy helped make this holiday a fantastic experience from start to finish.
so you can tell by this little piece I've written that we had fun and a great time and that all the elements of Lamaya contributed to this....... from location, to staff, service to amenities it was a great package and highly recommended............... enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashraf A, General Manager at Iberotel Lamaya Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for choosing Lamaya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback, it is very much appreciated and has provided us with great motivation to continuously improve the service we offer.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Ashraf Ayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Traveling as a party of 5 , 3 Adults , 2 Kids aged 10.

Firstly let me start by saying I would go back to Iberotel Lamaya as the overall experience was great, however when you read on you will see there are some major issues being 'swept under the carpet' , some of which are quite serious.

However as I have already said I would go back and rated '4' please accept that without the issues below it would be a '5'+++.

Good bits to start ;

Staff and Service overall great

Food overall great - See below in negative for the exception.

Animation Team / Entertainment - Shows as expected, animation team brilliant. Great interaction with the kids. Special thanks to Dika he was superb. – Apologies if name not spelled right.

Rooms - Given two family rooms, clean, tidy, housekeeping great. You may read some posts saying some rooms were 'smelly', our were as well when first entered, however after 1 minute of aircon being on smell went. We didn't even complain about this it was so minor. Just turn aircon on to get rid of 'stale' smell.

Reef - Very good especially on right side of bay in morning. Should it be windy it can be 'choppy' and makes visibility bad.

Now the negative bits ;

We ended up with a £800 medical bill at the end of the holiday, we are insured but it took 5 - 6 days between our party for various visits to doctor, treatment, feeling unwell etc.

The 3 adults had 'stomach upsets', two so bad they had to have an IV drip, and two ear infections, one my daughter, the other myself.

On returning to the UK my doctor commented I had one of the worst infections he had seen.

The on-site doctor diagnosed the typical 'pharaohs revenge' and 'swimmers ear', and explained that the chemicals in the pool often caused 'side effects' with some people not used to regular swimming.

Upon returning to the UK I looked up 'swimmers ear' ;

"Swimming in polluted water is a common way to contract swimmer's ear, but it is also possible to contract swimmer's ear from water trapped in the ear canal after a shower, especially in a humid climate.[2] Constriction of the ear canal from bone growth (Surfer's ear) can trap debris leading to infection".

I then read posts about hygiene around the pool and realised that was most likely the cause.
As there is no sea access directly from the hotel we used the pool much more than normal, so did many others. There were many people affected, quite often the doctors waiting room was full.

You have to settle your medical bill on departure, that’s fine if you have a spare £ 800 in your bank account, what if you didn't?

I also found out the doctors practice is actually owned by the hotel and the doctor is an employee, so in effect they benefit from the poor pool hygiene as they make profit on medical bills.

In summary be careful with the pool, by 3pm each day it was looking ‘misty’, make the walk to the sea more often and swim there.

The second negative is related to the above;

Many people eat dinner outside and the lighting is by candle, great setting but you cannot see what you’re eating. We found raw chicken being served, maybe a cause of our upset stomachs.

We advised Thompson and management accordingly. They agreed to pay our medical excess on the treatment for stomach problems, approximately £ 150.00 as compensation.

When we received our medical bills they asked us to pay £ 800.00 but invoiced for £ 960.00, effectively asking me to make a fraudulent claim on my insurance to cover the excess. I did not think about this at the time, however I have written a letter of complaint to both the hotel and Thompson.

Effectively, the hotel have paid nothing in compensation and encouraged me to make a fraudulent claim.

In summary, please check what you’re eating is properly cooked and you avoid the above.

We wanted to book a trip to see Dolphins and Turtles/Sea Cows, the price for the 5 people was £ 280.00, there was also a private company canvassing on site for the same trip.

We have been to Egypt 11 times before and know that you can often get a 'deal' to hire the whole boat for not much more than the reps charge. You get a whole boat, loads of shade, no crowding etc.

The independent 'Sam' who is found on beach or around pool 01289 333516 quoted us £ 320.00 for the hire of the whole boat, including gear, lunch exactly the same trip as the tour company.So I get a whole boat for a tenner a person more - Bargain...

Please ignore comments you may hear like;

Don't book privately they are not insured

Don't book privately the bus will be a 'death trap’, no air-con, driver may not have a licence

Don't book privately you won't be safe with the political situation

Don't book privately the boat will be unsafe

In reality;

The bus was new , aircon worked, driver great, private trip so only us on it.

We didn't feel in any 'danger' at all.

Boat was big, clean, great food, good guide.

It was quite funny as when we left port there was us 5 on one boat and the boat next to it was the normal boat with 40+ people aboard, crowded, no shade.

In summary, if you’re in a family party a private trip may well be worth the money Would recommend 'Sam' 100% if you want private.

Overall it was a great holiday, which show how good this place really is as the above would not put me off rebooking for next year, however I would hope that some of the points raised would be investigated, particularly the pool hygiene as I would not want to have the same problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashraf A, General Manager at Iberotel Lamaya Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Lamaya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.

Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service.
Actions have been taken to ensure that the negative points you have made are rectified.

Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Ashraf Ayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberotel Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Lamaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.