We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Lamaya Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Lamaya Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Our return to the lamaya was not as pleasurable as we had anticipated. We felt that little things were starting to slip. For example at breakfast there was no cups & saucers & no waiter serving tea & coffee instead self serve ourselves from a machine into large mugs ( that wouldn't have looked out of place in a roadside greasy spoon, with 30% having chips in rim)
The animation team although changed since last year were excellent.
The hotel grounds were kept spotless & gardens immaculate room was clean.
The food in main restaurant was good & beach bar was great for lunch serving burgers, pizza etc. The evening entertainment ( singer) was not good hence why we mainly stayed down at the pool bar. Where the staff were brilliant & funny making us laugh with their coffee art.
Upon leaving we got caught up in French air traffic strike causing a delay of 4 hours where we was told we could have a drink at hotel but if we wished to eat we would have to pay 17euros???? Sure was something to do with Thomson, was given vouchers to be used at costa in airport. was not given any choice in menu cheese & ham panini apple pie crisp coke sounds better than tasted.
We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    265
    100
    32
    19
See reviews for
371
498
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am in Lamaya Resort on beautiful holiday i feel this hotel may second home i feel hire so special and nice every people are very kind and every one kind of all the guest, and we are really enojy in Lamaya Resort .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I had yet another fantastic holiday at the Lamaya.Upon arrival we were met by the management team given warm facecloths and a cocktail.We were alocated a sea view room which was cleaned every day by the wonderful Ahmed (thank you for the fantastic towel displays)0ver the period of our holiday waiter service had returned to the dining room for tea and coffee at breakfast There was always a choice of food in the restaurant to suit all tastes (thank you chef Ahmed) and the beach bar served excellent burgers,pasta and pizza.The pool staff and the staff from the terrace bar were excellent special thanks to Hassan Wahid Mohammed Ali (sorry that we can,t remember all your names)but you made our holiday extra special,The animation team were brilliant ,very polite and took the time to talk to us everyday especially the lovely Jessica.A very special thank you to Ahmed the best Thomson rep that we have ever had in over 30 years of travel, he was always available without being over bearing.We saw first hand how understanding and caring he was to all his clients and he had a wealth of knowledge.Thank you Hatan and Sameth from reception you're the best! As Thomson are now thanfully flying from Manchester again we are hoping to return in November

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This was not the hotel of our choice Thomson pulled out of our original hotel. We were informed of this only a few weeks before our departure date. On looking at the lamaya in the holiday brochure all looked well. How wrong can you be. The hotel looked tired. Chipped tiles, walls chipped and void of paint. In our room alone a socket fell off the wall a lamp was faulty and the air con unit was leaking water. All the faults in our room was reported and they were attended to but the air con still leaked the lamp was hit and miss and we never used the socked again. The cleaning of our room left a lot to be desired. Food in the main restaurant was very average. You had to get your own drinks. even at breakfast we were never served coffee or tea. The smaller restaurant by the pool was good the food was nice.
In a previous review it was mentioned about a guest having trouble getting in and out of the pool. That person was myself. The management did nothing to help the situation at all the idea of using the aerobic step was a. suggestion from another guest who we had made friends with thank god it worked. The step was used by lots of guests who had minor disability issues. I was assured that the hotel were in the process of changing the access into the pool. Alas to late for me.
I and quite a lot of guests suffered Egyptian tummy. Not sure in this case that the sun caused it. I am still suffering with it and have had to see my doctor today.
On a good note the thomsons rep at the resort Ahmed was great. He came to see each of us at least twice a day just to check all was ok.
In a nutshell this hotel should only be rated as a 3 star hotel in the thomsons brochure and it certainly does not fit the criteria for a platinum. We have paid 4 star money for a 3 star hotel.
I for one will definitely not going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were not meant to be at this hotel but thomsons re allocated us ! Rooms not kept clean items broken within! No waiter service in morning for breakfast !pool unsuitable for people with slight disabilities !lights got turned off around 11!pool bar the best even thou u had to add your own mixers! Waiters and bar staff tried there best !thanks to mohammef ali and team ! Would not ho again more like 3 star

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMFORD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having spent a great holiday at this hotel last year, this year was just as good. We were greeted like family and it was amazing how the staff remember guests from year to year. It could be that we always have a laugh with staff at the hotels we stay in and always treat them with respect and are courteous. Saying please and thank you costs nothing. All the staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful and deserve a special mention. The guys at the beach bar restaurant were wonderful, supplying us ladies with rubber gloves filled with ice to cool us down when it was very hot. Thanks! We were treated to an Indian meal one evening and because my husband and I do not eat Indian, we were cooked a European meal which was excellent, the only problem being that there was too much and we couldn't eat it all.

The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the service from everyone was second to none. There is no problem with the drinks and water is left each day in the room. However the water in the fridge in the room is payable. There is also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We had a family room on the ground floor where the terrace afforded a view of the gardens, the pool and the sea. Great location. The gardens are kept beautiful. There are cocktails served each evening whilst watching the sun go down. There is a jetty where you can walk and see so many beautiful fish, or swim.

The Thomson Rep. Ahmed Ragab was fantastic (the best we have had in a long time). He was always at the hotel at 9 in the morning at the same spot in front of the pool bar and stayed for his full 2 hours (actually sometimes longer) and also in the evening.

The only downside was that our flight had already been changed by almost 4 hours before we left and then we got caught up in the French air traffic controllers' strike which meant that we didn't leave the hotel until 10.00p.m. We were given a voucher at the airport to receive food at Costa but unfortunately the food on offer was not to our taste (smoked turkey or salami Panini, slice of apple pie, small bag of crisps and a bottle of water or a can of pepsi). Tea and coffee was payable. As we didn't eat the food we were asked what was wrong with it. On explaining it was not to our taste and that we would rather have had a cup of tea, the manager brought us 4 cups of tea and 4 chocolate brownie bars. This went down well, so thanks to Costa for that.

We landed at Gatwick at 5.55a.m. but did not receive our luggage until about 8.30. The only explanation given was that some tour operators were experiencing problems with baggage. The long wait necessitated us having to pay an additional £10 for parking of the hire car booked to bring us from the airport to home.

This was a good holiday and we have nothing but praise for all the staff at the hotel. WELL DONE IBEROTEL LAMAYA RESORT

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

went in 2009 and returned 29th may for 2 weeks the hotel was very good the management and staff could not do enough for you. our representative ahmed was excellent. however we were delayed coming home and we were told if we wanted a meal at the hotel we would have to pay 17 euros. the flight was delayed by 5 hours so the flight coming in from Gatwick did not arrive at marsa alam until 1am . so many people were put up at this hotel for one night free of charge we were very disappointed that they wanted to charge us for dinner. saying all this it is a great hotel and would return some time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberotel Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Lamaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.