We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, Relaxing, Welcoming Hotel :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Save Saved
You added Iberotel Lamaya Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberotel Lamaya Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Marsa Alam
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Immaculate, Relaxing, Welcoming Hotel :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After a wonderfully swift 10 minute transfer from the airport, we arrived at the impressive looking Iberotel Lamaya. We were welcomed like old friends and greeted with a flannel, cold drink and a brief talk to point out where everything was and we were then shown to our room.
A few days before we arrived, I emailed Thomson customer services to request a nice room with a sea view – they said they would do their best but could not promise anything – however we were upgraded to a top floor extremely spacious suite with a wonderful view over the ocean – we were over the moon! So it's definitely worth asking!
The hotel grounds are absolutely immaculate and throughout the day you will see gardeners and groundsmen working very hard to ensure that they stay that way – I challenge you to try and find one blade of grass out of place!
There are 3 lovely pools, 2 heated and one was freezing! So only attempt this one if you are feeling brave or have had a few drinks to numb the pain first! There are plenty of sunbeds and we were pleased to see a big sign saying that any towels left on sunbeds to “reserve” them would be removed!
There were 2 places to eat- the large main restaurant next to reception and the beach snack bar. We used the main restaurant each day for breakfast and evening meals, and the beach snack bar for lunch. Main restaurant serves beautifully cooked and excellent quality food – there may not be as much choice as some other all inclusive hotels, but everything is cooked to perfection! For breakfast I would highly recommend the pancakes, and the omelettes were cooked to order. In the evenings there is an outside grill where the chef can be found cooking chicken on huge skewers, whole crabs and quails, which are all delicious! The beach bar serves burgers, hot dogs, pizzas etc. I would recommend the seafood pizza! Also there is a freezer full of ice creams and ice lollies which we definitely got our money's worth of!
The reception and beach bars are both great – the staff are friendly, helpful and are all so welcoming. We tried some of the cocktails but mainly drank the local lager “Sakara”. The pool bar serve cappuccinos – be sure to order at least one even if it's only for the “coffee art”. You will see what I mean! :) Every day between 3-5pm you will also find coffee and cakes being served here.
The animation team are great, they all make a big effort to walk around and have a chat with all of the guests to ensure that you are having a good time, and they try to get everyone to join in with the daytime activities, but if you say “no” they do not try to push you into it. You will also see people walking around trying to sell massages too, again they are all very friendly and never try to push you into anything. My boyfriend did have a massage which cost £30 (sterling) and he was very pleased with it.
The biggest part of the holiday for my boyfriend was the snorkelling! He purchased an underwater digital camera at the airport and he was so glad that he did! He spent at least an hour in the water every day and has some absolutely AMAZING footage – the fish are so surreal, you just cannot believe the colours & shapes until you see them for yourself. But the highlight of the holiday was seeing a turtle, 2 rays and an octopus! My boyfriend was absolutely ecstatic! He has snorkelled all over the world, even in the Barrier Reef and he said Marsa Alam beats anywhere he has ever been hands down! If you are not much of a snorkeller like me, you can still walk along the pier and just looking over the edge you can still see some fantastic fish and coral through the completely clear water. It really is breathtaking and you have to see it to appreciate how beautiful it is.
Whilst at Marsa Alam we went on 2 trips. We took the shuttle bus (£10/ 100 Egyptian) to Al Quesir. The trip takes around an hour and when you reach the town you should be prepared for an initial shock! The town almost looks “war stricken” - all of the shops are run down, dirty and dusty and there is a lot of litter everywhere. You can grab some bargains in the shops but you do have to work very hard with your haggling to get a decent price! Stick to your guns and don't let them over charge you! Also be very wary about the young boys who follow you around asking you for money – they all get a little too close for comfort and try to look inside your bag/ purse to see how much money you have. I don't think they would steal but they will follow you around like a shadow insistently asking for “five pounds”!! Just ignore them and eventually they go away!
We also went on the Super Safari which we booked through Thomson. This was an absolutely fantastic day out and we thought it was great value for money too – would highly recommend it! The jeep took us on a very rough and rugged (but great fun) drive through the desert and we arrived at the small nomadic Bedouin village camp site. Here we were greeted with a cup of Egyptian tea before we participated in quad bike and camel rides. The villagers then cooked up a fantastic feast for us, which we enjoyed whilst they put on a dancing and entertainment show for us. After this our guide took us to watch the sun set over the immense sand dunes, and then he gave us a detailed talk on the stars and constellations - we were all invited to have a look at Jupiter through a telescope. We arrived back at the hotel around 8pm – all in all it was a brilliant excursion and great value for £59 each!
We also visited the free water slides down the road, worth doing and kills an hour or so! Water in pools is very warm :)
Over all we had a wonderful week at Lamaya and we were very sad to leave. The staff are all so friendly and will go out of their way to ensure that you have a great holiday. We also really liked the little added extras, like receiving a bag of Egyptian tea on our last day as a departing gift. I would 100% recommend Lamaya if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing week with incredible marine life. I cannot think of any faults at all, other than the fact that a tea spoon was not provided in our room with the kettle etc but that was a very minor issue!

Room Tip: If you book through Thomson be sure to email customer services a few days before you leave to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    624
    237
    90
    30
    16
See reviews for
339
464
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent there 5 days with my family, Madinat coraya is really a great place, the hotel is very nice although it's perfect for diving and snorkling, the aqua park is great, the view from the rooms is fabulous also the animation team & the stuff are very nice & very helpful, the check in was at 5 min , the only thing that prevent me to rate the hotel as an excellent one is the food there was some problems in the variety & the taste of the food and it isn't proportionate with how great the hotel is also Morgana meals are very poor....I think that Madinat Coraya needs some cafes & restaurants to create a night life at it & it'll be better than naama bay.

Room Tip: High floors with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raseborg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent two weeks at Lamaya and it was a very pleasant stay, good choice for those who travel with kids, heated childrens pool, playground and kid sclub. Also if you like snorkeling or diving this is a good choice(Coraya Dive center located hust by the hotel), there is at coral reef just by the beach. The staff was very friendly, an extra plus to the cleaner for very good job. Will use this hotel again if I visti Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Returned from our 2 week stay on 26th December from what was a lovely holiday. Our special thanks go to Khaled Hassan - thank you so much.

We cannot fault this hotel, its amenities, staff and facilities, cleanliness and food. There is nothing negative. The Christmas Eve Gala dinner was superb - the choice of food overwhelming and the staff must have worked so hard to achieve what they did. On a day to day basis the food was excellent with plenty of choice - easy enough to find something you might like if anything doesnt look to your taste. Loved the coffee machines - have never drunk so many lattes and the popcorn machine a bonus for the adults!

The rooms were lovely - very clean and well looked after although maybe a little bland. Keeps you fit going up and down the stairs as we were on the 3rd floor but the view was worth it. The eagles(?) in residence were beautiful.

All staff were very friendly and accommodating and work so hard to keep everything up to speed.

The beach was clean, the snorkelling off the jetty amazing - all the usual suspects plus octopus, eel, rays, and cuttlefish which we've not seen before. It looks like a box of jewels.

You can walk all the way across the headland past the Coraya to the wreck of a boat which is a good 1 hour but great way to get a tan and/or windburn!

The weather was pleasant - we arrived on 11th Dec and it was very cloudy and windy but 4 days later not a cloud to be seen, the wind died down and it was lovely. Very chilly in the evenings though but we knew this and had taken appropriate knitwear.

I cannot comment on the pools as we did not sit there once as we like the beach.

My partner borrowed some gear from the Coraya Divers who were very pleasant and reasonably priced.

We named the Coraya Divers donkey Didier but when we left we was lying on his back with his legs in the air moaning so perhaps someone knows if he was ok?

Would we go back? definitely. Have been to Marsa before at Three Corners Fayrouz, Resta Grand with no issues but there is just something about the Lamaya...............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raasepori, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spend two week at Lamaya Resort in January with our two children (8 months and 4 year-old). I don´t have anything to complain about. If I have to find any negative to say is that the childrens corner food-table could have more children-friendly food. My kids didn´t find mashed bean or zucchini that appealing so the only food oldest daughter ate was at the snack-bar (pizza, hamburger and french fries) .
They called from the reception and asked us if everything was okay, the cleaner ask us everyday if everything is okay.
Weather was great, the 3 out of 4 pools were heated. Animation-team was super! For those who are traveling with small children and have strollers i recommend to get a room on the ground floor. There are a lot of stairs and no elevator.

Thank you Lamaya Resort for a perfect vacation. We are thinking of visiting this place next year again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmno, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here one week. Very nice location, not far from the airport, but this distance is not a problem . It was quite Spacious rooms and very clean. Staff very, very quick. Very nice pool.
Poor choice in restaurant. Plenty vegetarian food.
Absolutely uncomfortable pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

great hotel, very clean, food great,lots to choose from. Very quiet, if you like somewhere lively this is not for you. Snorkelling from the jetty or beach great. Staff very freindly. Oceans cruise great. Wouls love to go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#5 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Lamaya Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberotel Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Lamaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.