We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lamaya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jaz Lamaya Resort to your Saves list
Jaz Lamaya Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Raseborg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Lamaya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent two weeks at Lamaya and it was a very pleasant stay, good choice for those who travel with kids, heated childrens pool, playground and kid sclub. Also if you like snorkeling or diving this is a good choice(Coraya Dive center located hust by the hotel), there is at coral reef just by the beach. The staff was very friendly, an extra plus to the cleaner for very good job. Will use this hotel again if I visti Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    288
    103
    33
    19
See reviews for
407
518
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Returned from our 2 week stay on 26th December from what was a lovely holiday. Our special thanks go to Khaled Hassan - thank you so much.

We cannot fault this hotel, its amenities, staff and facilities, cleanliness and food. There is nothing negative. The Christmas Eve Gala dinner was superb - the choice of food overwhelming and the staff must have worked so hard to achieve what they did. On a day to day basis the food was excellent with plenty of choice - easy enough to find something you might like if anything doesnt look to your taste. Loved the coffee machines - have never drunk so many lattes and the popcorn machine a bonus for the adults!

The rooms were lovely - very clean and well looked after although maybe a little bland. Keeps you fit going up and down the stairs as we were on the 3rd floor but the view was worth it. The eagles(?) in residence were beautiful.

All staff were very friendly and accommodating and work so hard to keep everything up to speed.

The beach was clean, the snorkelling off the jetty amazing - all the usual suspects plus octopus, eel, rays, and cuttlefish which we've not seen before. It looks like a box of jewels.

You can walk all the way across the headland past the Coraya to the wreck of a boat which is a good 1 hour but great way to get a tan and/or windburn!

The weather was pleasant - we arrived on 11th Dec and it was very cloudy and windy but 4 days later not a cloud to be seen, the wind died down and it was lovely. Very chilly in the evenings though but we knew this and had taken appropriate knitwear.

I cannot comment on the pools as we did not sit there once as we like the beach.

My partner borrowed some gear from the Coraya Divers who were very pleasant and reasonably priced.

We named the Coraya Divers donkey Didier but when we left we was lying on his back with his legs in the air moaning so perhaps someone knows if he was ok?

Would we go back? definitely. Have been to Marsa before at Three Corners Fayrouz, Resta Grand with no issues but there is just something about the Lamaya...............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raasepori, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spend two week at Lamaya Resort in January with our two children (8 months and 4 year-old). I don´t have anything to complain about. If I have to find any negative to say is that the childrens corner food-table could have more children-friendly food. My kids didn´t find mashed bean or zucchini that appealing so the only food oldest daughter ate was at the snack-bar (pizza, hamburger and french fries) .
They called from the reception and asked us if everything was okay, the cleaner ask us everyday if everything is okay.
Weather was great, the 3 out of 4 pools were heated. Animation-team was super! For those who are traveling with small children and have strollers i recommend to get a room on the ground floor. There are a lot of stairs and no elevator.

Thank you Lamaya Resort for a perfect vacation. We are thinking of visiting this place next year again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmno, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here one week. Very nice location, not far from the airport, but this distance is not a problem . It was quite Spacious rooms and very clean. Staff very, very quick. Very nice pool.
Poor choice in restaurant. Plenty vegetarian food.
Absolutely uncomfortable pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

great hotel, very clean, food great,lots to choose from. Very quiet, if you like somewhere lively this is not for you. Snorkelling from the jetty or beach great. Staff very freindly. Oceans cruise great. Wouls love to go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our ninth trip to Egypt - each time for 2 weeks. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in.
The location, staff, management, food, service - can,t fault it. Hopefully will be returning in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sunshine, clear blue skies, beautiful coral reefs! All to be enjoyed from this fantastic modern well maintained comfortable resort hotel. The management and staff know how to deliver service with a smile. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is first class and the drinks are fantstic too. We have returned three times now, it's that good. As experienced sub-aqua divers having Coraya Divers dive centre on site offering a wide range of trips and top class house reef diving is the icing on the cake. For divers looking to combine a hotel based holiday with some great diving, the Iberotel Lamaya Resort combined with diving independently with Coraya Divers will not disappoint. We booked a packaged flight and AI hotel deal via Thomson and arrange the diving independently with Coraya Divers.. check out my Youtube video if you are interested in diving during your stay: http://youtu.be/n1myxtT3N3o

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Lamaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.