We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Lamaya Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Lamaya Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is our third holiday here,we love to relax on the lovely beach.
We had a nice room,it was very clean and overlooking the pool,and saw the sunsets too.
The staff are very friendly,and nothing is too much trouble.
The gardens are well kept,and pretty.
see you next April
Ange and Terry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    261
    97
    32
    19
See reviews for
369
491
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just got back from a week at Lamaya. First time we've ever done an all inclusive and it was incredible. The staff are truly exceptional, the actual hotel and grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Our room was spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking both beach and pools. The food (I was worried it would be the same every day) was excellent and had such a variety there really was something for all tastes. The snorkeling was very impressive. Could not fault it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siedlce
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The stuff is very kind and with possitive attitude. Food is also good but I would be really glad to see more variety of meat. The animation team is excellent although there are usually older couples and families who are not into having fun at all. Great management at a lobby bar and at the beach bar as well. Generally, you will find it peacefull and very comfortable. So far, the best hotel in Egypt we have ever been to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

- large choice for the food
- well-qualified staff
- excellent animations
- English, German spoken (not French)
- pools, volley ball court, baby foot etc.

Excursions possible. Honestly a good place to spend a holiday-time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenborg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The service was perfect, no problem at all. And the staff is so kind, they aren't just staff, they are your friend. The food taste amazing, there're lots of different food you can choose from. Our room was very nice. It was clean and it smelled good. Everything is close by, such as stores, the ocean, wich is so beautiful and clear so you can see the coralls. The pool is large and is always clean. And the entertainment was excellent! There're lots of things to do, so it's never a boring day. We're very happy with this hotel, so we are coming back next year, we highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked with Thomson, suffered through the flight on a plane with significant historic value with another approx 400 or how many passengers crammed into space originally designed for 100 people or so. I hope that Thomson will get this right soon, we had a great longhaul flight with them to Domrep in 2011, Egypt is not exactly a shorthaul flight...

Nice room, reasonable food (for Egypt), awful alcoholic cocktails (as usual in Egypt), bad visibility on the housereef - not worth the EUR25 for the dive. The Coraya Divers base is well run and is able to cater for the huge number of divers from all the hotels.

SMELL on the room was really bad, stinking sink, spray against bed bugs, let your imagination work. It was impossible to get rid of, despite the fact that we had room doors and balcony doors on the top floor open almost 24/7. Reception offered us a different room, it was smelling less but still it was.

As we believe that there may be some not smelling rooms and otherwise we enjoyed the holidays, we plan to come back.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent two weeks at the Iberotel Lamaya and had a really good time here. The check in process was extremely quick and we were in our room within minutes of arriving. Our room was clean and had good views over the pool and towards the hills (just a shame that the sunset happened behind a palm tree). Every day we were treated to towel displays on the bed (which is the norm these days) but there was a genius use of them one day that made us both laugh!

The food in the buffet restaurant was nice, with a different barbecue option each night and the daily theme seemed to be repeated each week, although this was not a problem as there was always something to accompany all tastes. We never struggled to get a table, although the hotel didn't appear to be full during our stay.

The beach bar was our choice for lunches most days. Pizzas, burgers, sandwiches and salads (if that's your thing!) as well as ice cream cornets and popcorn!

We spent most of our days down on the beach. Although it was windy the windbreakers came in useful although people tended to take two, doubt they'd get away with it when the hotel is full though! The pool area was clean and having the pool split into two meant the animation team could do play games in one side without interfering with those who wanted to do their own thing.

One downside to us was that you cannot swim directly from the beach because of the coral and so you either have to walk around towards the Coraya hotel or go in from the jetty. The water was quite cold while we were here, so wetsuits (available to hire from the dive centre) were really needed to make the snorkelling a little more comfortable.

However, what makes this place amazing is the staff. They are some of the nicest, most attentitive, friendly, funny and genuinely warm people that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

If you're looking for somewhere to get away for some relaxation in the sun then the Lamaya is definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberotel Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Lamaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.