We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everybody and not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Solaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jaz Solaya to your Saves list
Jaz Solaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 67 El Quseir Road, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not for everybody and not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of three hotels around the bay and caters for German and Italian guests - an odd mixture. This hotel has the best access to the sea, but is mainly an artificial beach which seems to have been built from builders sand. They were bringing in trucks of fine sand on our last days, but I doubt that it will really work.
The family rooms are large and have a powerful air conditioning - it will turn on/off depending on the thermostat settings, but is generally loud and when running, is at maximum cold - we left with colds at the end of a week at 32C outside.
The restaurant staff are very friendly in the main dining room and there is an outside terrace which can be nice in the evenings depending on the grill and wind direction. The food, though, is not 5 star - many meals feature minced beef and is generally very bland. The local dishes tend to be the best, but we ate pasta several nights which becomes tedious and not our idea of five star - if like many people, you are there with young children, it might be OK.
The best part of the hotel is direct access to a beautiful reef and good snorkeling - I saw rays, cuttlefish and octopus which speaks both to the water quality and diversity in the nearby water. There is also a big dive centre - lots of clinging tanks from 7am to 9pm, but serious divers who used it were not so impressed - if you want to learn though, it is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    101
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
142
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation and the perfect place for an enjoyable vacation as well, me and my family enjoyed our vacation so much and my sons enjoyed the aqua park which was fantastic

Staff at this hotel is credit to the place as they are very polite, friendly and professional they made our vacation, big thank you to them

Overall the service was fantastic I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends and sure we will visit Sol Y Mar Solya again

Thank you all for such memorable vacation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczekociny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Marsa Alam - Sol y Mar Solaya hotel, the place where You can feel like in paradise. Wonderful staffs and visitors, luxury bedrooms, restaurants, swimming pools and what`s the most important-the coral reefs around You. You don`t have to go anyway-that`s enough to get up earlier (because the sea is calm) take the snorkeling equipments, a towel and go snorkeling moving into the other, better world - the world full of nature, extraordinary shapes and figures, watching You different kinds of fish.I will return there every year-if I can,greetings

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing to the sea because You can watch the corals reefs from your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have stay twice in the Sol Y Mar Solaya, and I must admit the noise was a little overpowering.
But just returning from a holiday in the bay, it is really really quiet. The BRAVO team are no longer there, and the hotel is now International, The animational team are also international, The management are excellent, and cannot do enough for there guests. Anyone willing to give the Solaya another try will not be disappointed. Never be afraid to ask for anything you may need, the staff are more than willing to help, if they can.
Pam
YORK

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are usually the quieter ones, but there are no lifts. In saying that the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We felt so welcomed and the staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The food was delicious and was composed by international meals, an typical egyptian- and a kidscorner. Every evening there would also be a barbecue. The service was perfect and the hotel is very clean. U can do lots of sports; snorkling, tennis, swimming, step, beach-volley, football, stretching,...
the animation is very friendly but discret, there is a mini-club, a playground and an aquaparc with over 8 amazing slides for kids and teenagers.Two pools are heated and really warm. We enjoyed mostly snorkling, diving or just walking on the bridge (landing stage) admiring the riff and all the fishes,... The hotel is not too big and the atmosphere is cosy, it feels like family.
The hotel has a beautifull beach where children like to play because the first 200 meters the water stays very low.
The gardens are wonderfull: grass, palmtrees, cactuses, loads of different flowers and all of them named.
For me, my husband and my kids(2 and5) it was paradise!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine and quite with view to the pool and the sea!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

......... and the most noisy, kitschy yelling and screaming, starting at 10 am at the pool area to finnish at mid-night with more junk and schrott you can possibly imagine only shortly interrupted when the team is having a rest or trying to mend their abused vocal cords. Some of the italian younger guests seemed to like this.

Other than that this is a very nice hotel pleasantly set near the bay with a lovely stately terrace overlooking the pool area and nicely landscaped. The staff is impeccable and most efficient, the food is alright nothing special I like chicken, salads and pasta. The house wine was good to. I came for diving and requested a quiet room which was to the side of the building towards the tennis court , it had a fair sized terrace and I was happy with that. The rooms to the back at the pool area have a pleasant view towards the bay but are exposed to the "entertainment" noise . Had an interesting chat with the chief gardener about the plants, flowers, palm-trees.

The room furnishings, the bed/mattress were OK linen were changed daily, plenty of space in the closets, there is an electronic safe, TV is the old type with several channels, german, french, Al Jazeera in english, I can't remember them all. There is a kettle and a hair dryer, towels are plentiful and you get a nice large beach towel from the pool attendant. The room-man was OK no complaint. But the best is the air-conditioning system, it is quiet and shuts down/restart automatically with the set temperature in the room. I would return to this hotel if they get rid of Villagio Bravo.
Stayed 1st week of October, it was still hot 33 - 34 degree C during mid-day down to about 23 - 24 at night, the sea was at 29 according to my dive computer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Very good location close to the airport, so, no long drive from there will be necessary. Extremely friendly and professional service (a few known words in arabic language are appreciated highly, and will be extended by the helpful staff) To talk italian with the girls and boys of the Bravo-Team its a must, even if they speak several other languages. Snorkeling around the different reefs was always possible, since the bay is a little bit sheltered from strong winds. The breakfast, lunch (either on the poolbar or the indoor restaurant) and the dinner on the terrace were absolutely satisfying and with an enormous choice of different meals. Very clean room-service, indeed all of the public places obviously in good shape and allways kept on a high standard. We felt always as warm welcomed guests and not just as paying clients. So, to give some tips from time to time was a great honour for us and a sign how much we have apreciated all the conveniences we've received. Shurely we will return again, but then for more than a week!

Shukran Sol y mar, grazie Team Bravo!!

Familie Hirsbrunner, Bern

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaz Solaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Solaya

Address: Km. 67 El Quseir Road, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Solaya 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jaz Solaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Solaya Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Solaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.