We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beach vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam

Save Saved
You added Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   92 Marsa Alam- El Qusair Road | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam 84511, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing beach vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at Concorde Moreen for a week in November. The grounds were beautiful. It is remote but I think most hotels in Marsa Alam are. You don't go to Marsa Alam for nightlife. We had a ground floor, beachfront room looking out to the sea. It was definitely worth the upgrade. We could open our sliding glass door and walk right out to the sea. Or sit on the patio and enjoy the gorgeous view. We were spoiled by the amenities at the Kempinski Nile Hotel in Cairo the week before. But you can't beat the beachfront location at the Concorde Moreen. The room was spacious. It was not fancy but was nice enough. The beds are hard, but I slept fine.
Our room was at the far end, away from the entertainment. For us that was good because the music at the pool and the animation activities were very loud and went late into the night. The animation staff seemed great for kids. They did cater to Italians.
We spent most of our days diving with Emperor. Diving in the Red Sea is amazing. The house reef is very nice. It was convenient to have it steps from our room. Most of the days, I went out on the boat. Those trips left from Port Ghalib, so having Emperors on-site wasn’t as convenient as I hoped.
We had the all-inclusive plan. Since we were diving most of the time, it didn't really make sense for us. But there is nowhere nearby to eat.
The food was just okay. I ate a lot of bread.
There were buffet style snacks by the pool during the day.
Beer was good. Wine was not.
You get one bottle of water a day. If you didn't drink the one from the previous day they did not leave a new bottle. But there were plenty of water dispensers to refill your bottles.
The wifi was only available in the reception area and it never really worked.

Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our beachfront ground floor room on the far end from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    292
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
343
290
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

No wifi in rooms. wifi in reception and in restaurant but painfully slow and sometimes not working at all.
Food was ok and we did not get the famous egyptian stomach.. Waiters were a little too eager to take away plates when you eat.
They had an Italian entertainment crew with daily activities on the beach and also in the evening.
Really good house reef perfect for snorkeling and diving.
Only spa was a room where they offered massage.
No gym at the hotel, however they could drive you to another hotel where they have a gym and you don't need to pay extra.
A lot of rooms seem to be ok to smoke in. Make sure to order a smoke free room if you want one!
The phone rang 2 days early in the morning waking us up even though we never ordered it.
The bars could only make the most simple drinks, and the ones I got were not very tasty..
We only got 1 small bottle of water per day.
To summarize; For a 5 star hotel I would have expected more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossella T, Executive Office at Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completed a review on your recent visit to our Resort.

We appreciate both positive and negative comments as this allow us to improve our services as per our guest's experience.

We are working in order to complete in a good way and in a short time both the Gym and the Spa and we are offering in all the rooms wire internet service free of charge.

We look forward to host you soon.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had two weeks at this hotel from late November, looking for sun, relaxation and a mixture of snorkelling and diving. The weather was perfect, hot during the day and cool in the evenings: pack a jersey! The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, but the build quality is suspect: shelves in our wardrobe fell down, and the basin was about to........ All the staff are brilliant, very friendly and helpful, and Ibrahim kept our room spotless and surprised us each day with wonderful towel art. The supervisor, Mohammed, managed to find time while doing his job, to teach us some Arabic and give us a wider appreciation of his country. Special thanks to them.

The hotel is isolated, but ideally located on a wonderful house reef which is easily accessed from the jetty and teeming with fish and corals. The prevailing northerly wind can generate strong surface currents, and when the red flag is flying you can take advantage of the huge, usually empty, heated pool. This occurred on 4 days out of 14. As well as the fantastic snorkelling on the house reef, we can recommend the dedicated snorkel boat trips run by Emperor Divers (on site) and we swam with both turtles and the dugong.

The food has attracted many adverse comments, but we found it be of good quality, and sufficient variety to suit us. It's not 5*, but an A la Carte Restaurant is being built. The wine is awful.
We did want a relaxing holiday, so peace and quiet are important to us, and the the perpetual loud music from the beach is annoying. The 'Adults Only' beach area provides some relief from the noise, but on windless days it was still invasive.

Overall we were very satisfied, had a lovely holiday, were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and hope to return.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a premium for a sea view. Being on the ground floor helps, so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed all inclusive in November. The hotel is new and some areas are rough around the edges - but this didn't take away from the good holiday. The room was a good size with a sea view. Food was good and the staff were asking for feedback as to how to improve it. The staff were friendly and attentive. The animation during the day on the beach / pool area was loud / italian - but there was a adults only area of the beach away from the music so you could get some peace and quite. It isn't 5 star yet - but they are working on it. At the moment the hotel is quiet so no idea how it will be at peak times. Planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: Block 15 is furthest away from bar / noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our one-week diving holiday in mid-November. We had all-inclusive package which was good value for money.

Rooms: Simple, but nice and clean. The only complaint I have is that the internet connection is slow on best days and non-existence on others.

Food: If you are a diver, half board might be a good option. Lunch is available on diving boats, and it is simple, but very nice as well as affordable (6 euros for lunch and unlimited soft drinks). On the other hand, it is nice to have breakfast and dinner at the hotel before and after a long day of diving.
The food at the hotel was good for the money we paid for it. That said, it was not bad, but not especially good either. They had a lot of choices, but most of them were Italian style food that did not quite hit the spot. As others have already mentioned, the customer base of this hotel is mostly Italians. I guess this is why they go for Italian food. But I do not know if their Italian customers enjoy it either, as everything sort of resembles Italian food yet does not really come up to the standards.
Breakfast was always delicious, though: lots of choices, numerous types of bread, cooked to order omelets, pancakes, etc.
Our package also included (local) drinks, but soft drinks and beer were really the only drinkable choices. Wine was merely awful (I am not very picky, but they should not even call it wine). Rum, whiskey, vodka, etc. were tolerable only as long drinks.

Activities: I do not have much to say about these except for diving. We came to dive and that is what we did. So even though the hotel provides other activities we did not have time to try any of them. Emperor divers have their dive center right at the hotel. We really enjoyed diving with them. Everything and everybody was professional yet relaxed. On some days, we went for boat dives (Elpinstone strongly recommended!). But there is a lot to see on the house reef as well.

It is also worth mentioning that there are a few small shops in the hotel area: a spice shop, a jewelry shop and a couple of shops selling snacks and beachwear, etc. But if you want to do some more shopping you have to arrange transportation to Marsa Alam. This should not be a problem though since the staff at Concorde are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet (and don't mind walking a short distance to get to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We enjoyed the seaview, and the proximity to the beach. Snokelling was also very good, but perhaps not very beginner friendly. Diving on house reef is probably very good and Emperor divers looked good.
However, we were dissapointed with the overall impression and actually moved to Hilton Nubian after three nights, which was was far superior standard-wise.
We liked the staff which was very friendly and the cleaning was excellet, but Concorde didnt quite feel finished, like if the owners had run out of money and everything was on hold t half way into the building project. It felt like everything was running on a low budget in order to make money in order to finish construction. The pool area was very bland (no heated pools and no shade) compared to the Hilton and the were no service at the beach. The beach itself was rocky and not very nice and unsuited to children and swiming. Food was barely OK but the wine was awful, the worst i have ever tried, completely undrinkable. I tried to order a gin tonic but it tasted like poor moonshine. I have tried other local wines which were drinkable, unlike what they were serving at Concorde.
The hotel is mainly visited by friendly italians and the animation team was nice but loud. They had a nice kids playground. But I cant understand how the Italians accepted the poor pasta and the terrible wine?

Room Tip: Try the seaview, away from the loud animation team
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I can honestly say that I had the best vacation I have ever had in my life right there at concorde, enjoying the warmth of the shimmering sun with its radiations lighting the pure water of the sea and the perfect wind blowing every once in a while making it feel like heaven on earth. I even had my first snorkeling on the beach allowing me to have a perfectly perfect clear view of the extraordinary surrounding nature, my first safari at sun set whereas watching the sun fade away in the emptiness of the dessert making way for the darkness to come out and most importantly my first diving session which felt surprisingly amazing being a part of that whole different world and being surrounded by the endless kinds of fish scattered all over the sea. Finally, their gourmet chef who can make the most phenomenal, stupendous food and their bakery is definitely mouth watering. It was the time of my life and I would kill to have just one last moment back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam

Address: 92 Marsa Alam- El Qusair Road | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in heart of Abu Dabab Bay, enjoying a spectacular panoramic view of the Red Sea coast, an upscale beach front luxury resort built on wide lush gardens, overlooking 800 meters beach, The bay is housing one of the most prime diving spots in the area with its natural underwater wonders. It features a private beach and an outdoor swimming pool. All the hotel areas are covered with a free WIFI internet servic includes the beach,swimming pools & restaurants.An upscale 5 stars resort offering relaxing accommodation in the fresh modern contemporary furnished style. Each room features a private balcony with sea and garden view. It includes a seating area, a flat-screen TV and a minibar. The resort houses one of the most prime diving spots in the area. Guests can enjoy a rejuvenating massage or an energizing workout at the gym. Youngsters can play in the playground. A buffet-style breakfast is served daily, while -la-carte specialties are served in the evening, by the beach restaurant. The lobby and beach bar serves alcoholic drinks. 24-Hour room service is available. Concorde Moreen Beach Resort is located 24km from Marsa Alam International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.