We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, yet again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Quseir, Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Wakefield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful, yet again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my third visit to the resort and again treated like a Queen.
The staff are always welcoming, friendly and polite, the food, plentiful, tasty and well cooked. The resort is extremely clean, well maintained and the gardens beautiful and continuously well tended. The beach is clean, the sea is crystal clear and inviting and even if you don't snorkel in the main area, you can still see the odd ray, fish and other fish life in the shallows. There is a floating platform situated a little way off shore and whilst sat on it I saw multitudes of fish swimming close-by.
There are lots of sun beds around the pools & on the beach, always plenty to choose from, no need to reserve one.
The resort is tranquil and peaceful and I'm pleased that Thomson are turning it in to a couple's (adults only) resort. I'm informed by management of the hotel that from this summer, the resort will become exclusive to Thomson, so you will not find other holiday companies selling to families with children.
I love the place and the staff and can't wait to return in March.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for a room change if the allocated room is not to your liking, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    249
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
223
942
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Many many thanks to Mr Saber and all his wonderfull staff for our 5th and best visit to the Coraya Beach Hotel.
For us it is like returning to our second home. From the minute you step off the bus after an incredibly easy transfer from the airport, you are surrounded by lovely welcoming smiles. This continues throughout the resort - the gentleman who brings your luggage, the gardeners who tend to the beautiful grounds, the waiters, the chefs, the barmen, the room cleaner, the beach guys. The executive staff are always around and making sure your holiday goes well.It would be so easy to rattle through the names of the lovely people who always make our holidays such a joy but there are so many it would be easy to miss someone out so we will just say thankyou once more to all. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
We did not use the spa.
John (aka Frank) and Lesley

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is really really great!! The quality of the food is really impressive, both the evening buffé (ranging from freshly BBQd food to 15m desert tables) and the ala carte restaurant (which has got really good lunches). The service is superb. There are a lot of things to do other than sunbathing as well. The snorkling in the bay is really great, and there is the possibility to do scuba diving at the diving center (with scuba teachers from all over europe). We were lucky enough to have Robert, a Swedish scuba instructor who was great. We also took some massage and things which felt like good value for the money.

This was out first stay, but we will return here many times again as it's a great place for relaxing and diving!

Room Tip: Rooms which are not facing the pool area are quieter as there is usually shows at the pool area in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had to label my own luggage upon arrival ! 5 Star Hotel ! the Room paid for was a Deluxe superior room with sea view, we ended up with a view of an overgrown garden and now sea to be seen, Staff were great & pleasant eager to please. Food was bland with exception to the "Gala Dinner" F&B manager together with the Sue Chief promissed to improve, to be seen. Not much to be seen outside the hotel, taxis are extortionatly expensive, even the ones run by the hotel.I would rate the hotel 3/4 star and not 5 as claimed. Yet it has great potential in staff that have vision.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay a bit more, book a Superior Dbl room with Sea View on a higher floor than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our fourth visit to The Coraya Beach and we received the same quality service as we've received on every other visit. The hotel has some of the most professional & friendly staff we have ever met. All the staff are fantastic, with special thanks to the Area General Manager Mr Hossam Saber, as well as Azmir Mohammed, Nina Braband and Mohammed Rasily. The quality of the food is always good with a huge variety available. We have visited the hotel at different times of the year but think that October is probably best, it's still hot but not the highs of August & September. The snorkelling is great, for the first time we saw lion fish, rays, puffer fish & a turtle. We flew with Thomson, I think the only UK company that uses the Coraya, which was okay, however you cannot book an in-flight meal in advance, the downside of this being that of the 5 hot dishes listed only 1 was available on the return flight. I can't really understand why they have taken away an option that would seem easy to control, ie people ordering food in advance, and replace it with "A first come first served" option that will always mean passengers on the return journey are extremely unlikely to get what they want, if anything at all.

Please do not let the food issue on the plane put anybody off from travelling to this wonderful hotel, after all there is a Pizza Hut at Marsa Alam airport where you can buy pizza to take with you on the plane.

PS to Mr Saber - Is it 6 visits for your own palm tree?

Room Tip: High room for reasonable view, not a lot of late entertainment so all rooms are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have just returned from our second visit to this hotel (previous visit in March 2012).

The only bad thing about this holiday is the flight - we paid for extra legroom which makes it more comfortable but the food is awful and the entertainment is non existant, We had a cooked breakfast at Gatwick and took along our own snacks for the flight.

Once at Marsa Alam airport make sure that you buy your visa at the bank on the left hand side as you enter- $15 each. if you do not do this the Thompson reps will charge you £13 each on the coach on the way to the hotel which is more expensive.

The transfer to the hotel is only 10 minutes and you are greeted with a welcome drink and a cool towel, We had requested a pool view room above the ground floor and we had a "Welcome Back" note in the room along with fresh fruit and scented candles.

We thought that the dining room had improved - the food was excellent and so was the BBQ outside, There are now 2 egg stations at breakfast which is better as in March this hotel was only 40% full - it is now more about 90% full which means more people at meal times but better atmosphere in the evenings.

We went all inclusive which meant that we could use the spa and gym as well as get all our laundry done for free - great to return home with a case of clean clothes! Drinks are fine but we took our own bottle of gin as the local gin is not so good - also ask them for a small measure as their idea of a gin and tonic is 4 times as strong! The best barstaff are at the pool bar - they make excellent drinks and listen to what you want.

There is free wi fi in the hotel lobby but it is very slow -I could access my e mails on my kindle fire but if you want to go on other sites it is quicker to buy a card for using a computer along from the reception - $5 for half an hour or $9 for an hour.

I would recommend having a massage - but haggle with the price - I had one of the best ones of my life on the beach on our last day - (they have a tented area on the beach or you can have it done at the spa).

We loved to walk around the bay each morning before breakfast - there is a walking trail with 100 metres markers. Sometimes we went snorkelling before breakfast - this is when you see the best fish. We also walked to the other side of the bay some nights to watch the sunset - they have an "sunset area" by the Lamaya hotel.

There are 4 hotels on the other side of the bay with a few shops - if you want to buy anything use these shops as the prices are less than half the price of the shops at the Coraya Beach hotel.

We noticed that tip boxes had appearred since our last visit in March but we prefer to tip our favourite waiters, barstaff and cleaners as we know they get the money, The staff all work so hard for very little pay and really appreciate a few dollars or euros ( they prefer notes, not coins as they can't use the coins).

All in all a wonderful relaxing holiday and so lovely to have some hot sunny weather ( and warm sea) in November to get us through the winter!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned having spent a week 20th November - 27th November at this very impressive hotel and resort. Booked it relatively late on and having spent the same week last year in a rather cool Cyprus we decided to head further south and this proved to be ideal. The temperature was perfect and the dry desert winds eliminated those sticky sweaty days (and nights) We went half board and although both Thomson and the hotel offered all incusive upgrades we stuck with half board but took advantage of the 'crate of water' deal - 12 1.5 litre bottles for 15 euro's. This hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport and no you do not get any aircraft noise. Rated at 4 star plus this was about right although some elements including the service were probably nearer 5 star. The food was fine, I have had better but also a lot worse only real niggles being that the bacon (beef bacon) was only available some days and also the toaster machine only seemed to operate certain days but these are minor points. I would have preferred to see mandatory hand rub cleaning at the restaurant's and the pricing structure was confusing in that payable items are priced in either US dollars or Euro's but Egypt pounds are not accepted apart from the shop also the final bill is settled in US dollars which I can understand. Also don't buy in the hotel shops if you need anything but souveniers, a small Nivea factor 15 and a packet of crisps cost 190 Egypt pounds (£19) All area's including the pool's ,rooms and restaurant's are immaculate and we were surprised to learn that this hotel was Marsa Alam's first and yet it looks the newest of them all. Plenty of poolside space, never any battles for loungers or shaded areas's. If the sea/beach is more your thing it is a 20 second walk away and plenty of parasol's wind breakers are available but quite rightly you cannot dump your towels there and dissapear for more than an hour without them being removed. Diving and snorkelling all available and although not really viable for a week's stay you can arrange trips including overnight stays to Cairo, Luxor, Aswan etc.
For the price paid I could not really fault this hotel or indeed the resort overall, any shortfall's were minor and the staff from the manager's down are keen to receive feedback to improve where needed which, I add is minimal. Although switching to an all adult set up next year I hope the hotel restricts any wholesale changes. We very rarely visit the same place twice but I would consider this place again and perhaps use as a base for a longer holiday and visit those temples and antiquities.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place we had a top floor one overlooking the pool bit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Address: Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Quseir, Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.