We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit - Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to your Saves list
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Quseir, Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fourth visit - Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our fourth visit to The Coraya Beach and we received the same quality service as we've received on every other visit. The hotel has some of the most professional & friendly staff we have ever met. All the staff are fantastic, with special thanks to the Area General Manager Mr Hossam Saber, as well as Azmir Mohammed, Nina Braband and Mohammed Rasily. The quality of the food is always good with a huge variety available. We have visited the hotel at different times of the year but think that October is probably best, it's still hot but not the highs of August & September. The snorkelling is great, for the first time we saw lion fish, rays, puffer fish & a turtle. We flew with Thomson, I think the only UK company that uses the Coraya, which was okay, however you cannot book an in-flight meal in advance, the downside of this being that of the 5 hot dishes listed only 1 was available on the return flight. I can't really understand why they have taken away an option that would seem easy to control, ie people ordering food in advance, and replace it with "A first come first served" option that will always mean passengers on the return journey are extremely unlikely to get what they want, if anything at all.

Please do not let the food issue on the plane put anybody off from travelling to this wonderful hotel, after all there is a Pizza Hut at Marsa Alam airport where you can buy pizza to take with you on the plane.

PS to Mr Saber - Is it 6 visits for your own palm tree?

Room Tip: High room for reasonable view, not a lot of late entertainment so all rooms are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    250
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
223
944
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have just returned from our second visit to this hotel (previous visit in March 2012).

The only bad thing about this holiday is the flight - we paid for extra legroom which makes it more comfortable but the food is awful and the entertainment is non existant, We had a cooked breakfast at Gatwick and took along our own snacks for the flight.

Once at Marsa Alam airport make sure that you buy your visa at the bank on the left hand side as you enter- $15 each. if you do not do this the Thompson reps will charge you £13 each on the coach on the way to the hotel which is more expensive.

The transfer to the hotel is only 10 minutes and you are greeted with a welcome drink and a cool towel, We had requested a pool view room above the ground floor and we had a "Welcome Back" note in the room along with fresh fruit and scented candles.

We thought that the dining room had improved - the food was excellent and so was the BBQ outside, There are now 2 egg stations at breakfast which is better as in March this hotel was only 40% full - it is now more about 90% full which means more people at meal times but better atmosphere in the evenings.

We went all inclusive which meant that we could use the spa and gym as well as get all our laundry done for free - great to return home with a case of clean clothes! Drinks are fine but we took our own bottle of gin as the local gin is not so good - also ask them for a small measure as their idea of a gin and tonic is 4 times as strong! The best barstaff are at the pool bar - they make excellent drinks and listen to what you want.

There is free wi fi in the hotel lobby but it is very slow -I could access my e mails on my kindle fire but if you want to go on other sites it is quicker to buy a card for using a computer along from the reception - $5 for half an hour or $9 for an hour.

I would recommend having a massage - but haggle with the price - I had one of the best ones of my life on the beach on our last day - (they have a tented area on the beach or you can have it done at the spa).

We loved to walk around the bay each morning before breakfast - there is a walking trail with 100 metres markers. Sometimes we went snorkelling before breakfast - this is when you see the best fish. We also walked to the other side of the bay some nights to watch the sunset - they have an "sunset area" by the Lamaya hotel.

There are 4 hotels on the other side of the bay with a few shops - if you want to buy anything use these shops as the prices are less than half the price of the shops at the Coraya Beach hotel.

We noticed that tip boxes had appearred since our last visit in March but we prefer to tip our favourite waiters, barstaff and cleaners as we know they get the money, The staff all work so hard for very little pay and really appreciate a few dollars or euros ( they prefer notes, not coins as they can't use the coins).

All in all a wonderful relaxing holiday and so lovely to have some hot sunny weather ( and warm sea) in November to get us through the winter!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned having spent a week 20th November - 27th November at this very impressive hotel and resort. Booked it relatively late on and having spent the same week last year in a rather cool Cyprus we decided to head further south and this proved to be ideal. The temperature was perfect and the dry desert winds eliminated those sticky sweaty days (and nights) We went half board and although both Thomson and the hotel offered all incusive upgrades we stuck with half board but took advantage of the 'crate of water' deal - 12 1.5 litre bottles for 15 euro's. This hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport and no you do not get any aircraft noise. Rated at 4 star plus this was about right although some elements including the service were probably nearer 5 star. The food was fine, I have had better but also a lot worse only real niggles being that the bacon (beef bacon) was only available some days and also the toaster machine only seemed to operate certain days but these are minor points. I would have preferred to see mandatory hand rub cleaning at the restaurant's and the pricing structure was confusing in that payable items are priced in either US dollars or Euro's but Egypt pounds are not accepted apart from the shop also the final bill is settled in US dollars which I can understand. Also don't buy in the hotel shops if you need anything but souveniers, a small Nivea factor 15 and a packet of crisps cost 190 Egypt pounds (£19) All area's including the pool's ,rooms and restaurant's are immaculate and we were surprised to learn that this hotel was Marsa Alam's first and yet it looks the newest of them all. Plenty of poolside space, never any battles for loungers or shaded areas's. If the sea/beach is more your thing it is a 20 second walk away and plenty of parasol's wind breakers are available but quite rightly you cannot dump your towels there and dissapear for more than an hour without them being removed. Diving and snorkelling all available and although not really viable for a week's stay you can arrange trips including overnight stays to Cairo, Luxor, Aswan etc.
For the price paid I could not really fault this hotel or indeed the resort overall, any shortfall's were minor and the staff from the manager's down are keen to receive feedback to improve where needed which, I add is minimal. Although switching to an all adult set up next year I hope the hotel restricts any wholesale changes. We very rarely visit the same place twice but I would consider this place again and perhaps use as a base for a longer holiday and visit those temples and antiquities.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place we had a top floor one overlooking the pool bit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. We stayed for two weeks from the 7th to the 21st November.
I am pleased to say that our second visit was as good as our last and we knew we would get the holiday we wanted.
This is a great place if you need to relax and know your going to get a good service. The hotel is immaculate and is cleaned constantly, even the beach is tidy.
We requested a top floor room overlooking the pool which we were given. The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily. There was tea and coffe in the room as well as a mini bar.we went all inclusive which meant all soft drinks in your room were included, also beach towels were collected and changed daily.
If you are all inclusive guest you can use the gym and spa and get all your laundry done for nothing. I can't think of anything better than going home with a suit axe full of clean clothes.
The food was good with a good choice of met and fish at lunch and dinner. You must check out the barbecue at night which either has a fish or meat option. We had barracuda twice which was great.
The restaurant is open from 6.30 till 10 for breakfast which is great if you go snorkelling earlier as we did. It means you can go snorkelling at 6/7 in the morning and then go for breakfast.
Evening meals are served between 6.30 and 9.30 and we found it was better go around 8 as it was generally the busiest at 6.30.
Soft drinks and beer are in cans and no draft which was better when on the beach, which waiters will bring to you. The wine was resemble and served by the glass. The spirits were local so not the same as the usual whiskeys,gins etc. we took a bottle of purist put with us to have a pre dinner drink in the room. My favourite drink was a hot chocolate and brandy at the end of the evening.
The waiters were great whether you were in the bars, beaches or restaurant, you never had to wait long and they generally remembered what you drank each day.
We also nevere tipped anyone during the holiday as there are tip boxes in eac public area and if you want you can put money in them at the end of your stay.
We went on a snorkelling trip each time we styled, both booked via our Thompson rep and each trip was a great day out. This year we went to Somme reefs in the middle of the red sea. It took two hours via boat and the highlight for my partner was seeing a shark!
The snorkelling at the hotel was excellent an best time to go is first thing in the morning when the sea is really clear. You can also go diving from the jetty across the bay. We saw numerous fish and sea life including: lion fish, blue spot stingray, ells, banana fish, crocodile fish and numerous others.
The entertainment in the evening was ok and the animation team tried to put together activities such as French bowls, arobics, cooking demonstrations with the chiefs.
From next year this resort will be adults only which I think will be even better.
I would definitely go back again just to snorkell and if I needed just to relax.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking pool as all rooms have balconies and it's just great to sit at people watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Coraya Beach Hotel from the 7th until 14th of November and it was 1st class. The public areas were pristine and exceptionally clean, the gardens were immaculate, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. The majority of the guests were not from the UK, but apart from the usual issues regarding reserving the best sunbeds before dawn, the atmosphere in the hotel was convivial and friendly. We have no negative comments at all to make about this hotel and have in fact cancelled our previously booked holiday for February and re-booked to return to The Coraya Beach. Enough said I think.
Paul and Vanessa Oxford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the first hotel my wife and I have ever booked twice. Normally we go to different places in different countries, but adter our firsty experience of Coraya on Marsa Alam we came back. It's perfect for us. Good quality accomodation and facilities. Good quality food with a good selection. Very helpful staff. Excellent location on the bay. Great snorkeling and best of all, Coraya Divers is on the other side of the bay. Coraya Divers has its own jetty in to the bay with its own reef. Its an excellent place to dive, for any ability level. The dive centre is top quality and run very well by a German couple. W will be going back lots more times for the excellent hotel and fantastic diving. Highly recommended.

Hotel has a kids club.

Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss and the shops at the hotel for tourist souviniers are a bit expensive.

Most people are there all inclusive. My wife and I go half board, which works out sbstantially cheaper for us as we're not huge drinkers and only have light lunches. Top tip for half board is there is small shop complex about 5 mins walk just ouside the hotels where we bought bottled water and coke at a fraction of the price at the hotel.

Other top tip is to buy your visa at the bank counter at the airport on arrival, it's a lot cheaper than queing with all the other tourists in the tour operator line or paying on your transfer bus.

Airport to hotel transfer by tour operator bus takes about 15 mins.

Everything is well organised and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Firstly, I would wholeheartedly agree with great majority of the nice things said about the hotel by other reviewers (so won't repeat them). It is a very nice hotel. Alan, the Thompson rep is absolutely fantastic - very friendly and extremely helpful.

Have a couple of minor issues to mention: dress code for gents. My husband ended up wearing jeans every night for dinner rather than his smart shorts which were marginally too short (knee-length as opposed to below knee). These shorts were perfectly acceptable as dinner attire in 5* hotels in all hot countries we have visited.

We both dive (and watch our waistlines) therefore given a choice never go all-inclusive. Again, in most 5* hotels where we stayed on a half-board basis bottled water was provided free of charge to reduce risks of dehydration. Some hotels even provided ice for the evening mini-bar raids but I appreciate that's quite decadent. In Coraya, 1.5L bottle of water cost £1.50, and only small bottles are left in the mini-bar so unless you are all-inclusive bottle water works out quite expensive. There are no local shops as an alternative. The supermarkets in the resort on the other side of the bay offer limited choice of products at highly inflated prices.

Little luxuries like slippers, bathrobes, body lotions were initially missing from our room (supposed to be 5*, right?) but to be fair those items were promptly provided following my comments in the hotel's weekly questionnaire. I like the fact that customers' opinions are regularly sought and issues addressed - full marks for continued efforts.

We really liked the the paved walkway all around the bay, quite long and well lit at night. What we liked a little less is the electric buggies driving there at night with no lights.

I may sound picky but all these issues can be easily rectified. It's a nice hotel, with really good management, very friendly staff so we would definitely stay there again.

General info about duty free at Marsa Alam airport: alcohol is (reasonably) priced in USD, cigarettes are priced in EUR. While they say that all currencies are accepted, the exchange rates applied are pretty random if you want to spend your left-over egyptian pounds. Also, they have no scanners, all purchases are written down by hand, including price and serial number of each item, in triplicate and later transferred onto computer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Address: Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Quseir, Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.