We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 wonderfull weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Bay to your Saves list
Oriental Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   15 Km North | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Marsa Alam
mundolsheim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 wonderfull weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

we are french but we will share our experience in english, it's maybe usefull.
we spend 3 weeks in this hotel from december the 2nd till 22.
Good points: the staff is really very kind and helpfull, Special thanks to Tarek and his restaurant's team. The housereef is easily accessible for swimmers and snorkellers. Rooms are very big and confortable. Buffet is good and you can find a wide range of different meal and food. Kitchens are very clean and food is safe. Big thanks to Chief Waheed. And you can ask anything or share your ideas with the hotel manager Mr Walid, he is listenning for your suggests.to improve your holidays.
Bad points: after a long long trip arriving at the parking, it will be nice that someone help us with our luggages. At the beach the toilets must be rebuild or at least be claened more often (we talk about that with the manager and it should get better).

As snorkellers we don't exist for the diving center(duck' superior) but this is not the fact of the hotel.

At least, bad points are not more important than positivs and we will return with pleasure in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidadel, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Loic,

First of all I would like to wish you and your family a great new year 2014, as well to let you know that it was a great honor to meet and talk with you during your vacation at Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

On behalf of Oriental Bay family, I'd like to thank you for your positive review which will be very helpful for future expected guests.

As discussed over our meeting the renovation (rebuilding) of our beach toilets is on our top priority list for 2014 projects.

Looking forward for welcoming you in your next vacation.

Best regards

Walid Adel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    277
    103
    41
    24
See reviews for
217
329
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Klatovy, Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

In the hotel Oriental Bay we have spent a very relaxing week in November 2013. For us it was the first time in Marsa Alam and this hotel was the best choice! Everything was just perfect!

The hotel is located in the bay that prevents the beach from the strong winds. As there are no big waves in the bay it is the best place for snorkeling. There is a diving centre near the hotel where you can arrange some trips or just borrow all the things you need for snorkeling or diving.

The most amazing was the staff of the hotel. All of them were very friendly and helpful all the time. Furthermore, most of them can speak variety of languages which was really surprising. They all really good represent motto of the hotel “Come as a guest, leave as a friend”.

The same we can say about the animation team. They cared of all the guests and prepared many various activities so that everybody can choose what to do. There were sporting activities during the day and funny and competitive activities in the evening.

As for food and beverages, the variety and taste was excellent and not only in the main restaurant but also at the pool or beach bars. Everything was very fresh and tasty.

Thank you for great holiday. We hope to come again in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walidadel, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Martin,

On behalf of Oriental Bay family, I would like to thank you so much for your positive review, and please note that we will not save any effords to maintain our service quality.

Looking forward for your next vacation with Oriental Bay Marsa Alam

Best regards

Walid Adel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent in Oriental Bay very good week. We appreciate the decor of the hotel and cleanliness. Delicious food and excellent service, very helpful waiter Hamdy and always smiling Mohamed. At the bars there is also a good service. Congrats for barman form the beach bar and Ahmed from piano bar. The schedule of the activities for guests was amazing, is impossible to get bored with you. I liked the most exercises at the beach, good animators. If I had a chance I would come back.
Regards,
Monika and Robert from Poland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer I, Front Office Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the nice comments, which we will share with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"
Sincerely yours
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetzikon, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

First at all it was a very relaxing, variedand and unforgettable holiday.

The staff is simply perfect.
Very helpful, friendly and attentive.
I would like to specially mention here Hamdy, our great waiter,Chico a lovable swiss german speaking animateur and Ahmed who made great drinks.

The food was always fresh and they had a good selection.

The evening entertainment was very good and varied.

You could just relax on the diffrent very clean pools or join the animation program on the beach.

If you have a problem no matter what, they all will help you to resolve it immdiately.

Thanks for this amazing holiday.
Mirjam

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer I, Front Office Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the nice comments, which we will share with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"
Sincerely yours
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladá Boleslav, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been in this Hotel for the third time in one year. It means, that we found it excellent - dorminatory, service, meal, beach and what is more very friendly staff. I am sure, that the motto of this hotel speaks for its own : Come as a guest, leave as a friend. We are going to go there in a short time. According to me tomorrow, but I must wait for my wife..............
Best regards to my friends in Oriental Bay: Mr. Kenawy, Mr Tamer Ibrahim and Ayman in pool Bar.

Marek Dobrkovský, MD, Czech Republic

Room Tip: Rooms in the buildings 14 to 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer I, Front Office Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the nice comments, which we will share with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"
Sincerely yours
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Oriental Bay. No complaints. Excellent bay for snorkelling which is why I picked this hotel as it is sheltered by the strong winds. Hotel is nice, rooms large and comfortable. Food good and always a variety of dishes, and always hot! I have stayed at all inclusive hotels where the food has been luke warm but not here. I think there does need to be more of a variety of snacks during the day though.
Staff were friendly and happy to help with anything I needed, including booking trips. All in all I would return to this hotel. I love Marsa Alam and it is the second time I have visited but it is VERY quiet so unless you are happy sunbathing and snorkelling dont go to Marsa Alam. Personally I hope it doesnt get too built up because it will ruin it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel with all of personals stuff was very good, thanks for nice holyday. There is i great under water life in local see. You can see a turteles and so many lovely fishs. Food was realy great, but we would like more wine in all inclusive. Every persone from local stuff was very profesionall and nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Bay

Address: 15 Km North | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#21 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Bay Marsa Alam is famous for its private Bay and wide sandy beach, where you can enjoy diving and snorkelling activities in one of the best sites in the area.Rooms are the widest in Marsa Alam, rooms sizes 65-110 m2.You can reserve a Superior room with one bedroom, private bathroom, living room, kitchenette and balcony/terrace or  you can choose a family room with two bedrooms, two private bathrooms, living room and terrace/balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Bay Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.