We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Bay

Save Saved
You added Oriental Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oriental Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   15 Km North | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent a last minute week here with First Choice and overall it was a good value holiday and enjoyable.

Firstly, absolutely everyone we came across in Marsa, from the airport staff, transfer reps, resort reps to hotel staff, all were extremely friendly, positive and eager to help. I cannot fault the service we received at all.

We requested a room change after the first night, due to a generator noise nearby that was disturbing me. The request was dealt with quickly and the problem resolved entirely satisfactorily with a move to another area of the grounds.

The bar and restaurant staff were good. There's a few waiters that fill their time doing absolutely nothing, but the majority are great. I was struggling a little towards the end of the week with vegetarian options in the dining room. I couldn't have found more helpful staff. Straight away I was asked what I wanted and good veggie food was provided without any issue at all from there onwards. Generally the food options were good and varied. I heard comments from other British people that the food catered too much for the German and Polish guests. I would quite simply say that that was nonsense.

We did attempt to eat at the beach bar one lunchtime, but sadly the food was extremely cold. We didn't try again, but went to the main restaurant instead. It was slightly disappointing not to have the option of eating somewhere else, just for a variance in the view!

There is very little to do at night, and not much entertainment. That suited us entirely, but might present an issue for those that require distracting from one anothers company!

I've only visited Egypt once before, staying at a golf resort in Sharm. That was a 5 star and the hotel itself was more impressive, but the staff were terrible. I would say that the Oriental Bay hotel is not 5 star, but is an acceptable 4 star. What it lacks in 5 star impressive reception areas, imposing staircases and ornate hallways, it more than makes up for in customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

“Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    226
    74
    28
    14
See reviews for
181
257
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was out 5th trip to Marsa Alam so it is fair to say that the location cannot go far wrong for us. The coral is as stunning as anywhere else on that coastline. It was a bit disappointing that there was no effective rope protecting the reef and it was sometimes difficult to avoid encroaching especially if the water was a bit murky. But I would go again just for the snorkelling.

The Hotel was acceptable if not spectacular. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The choice of food was more limited than at other hotels in the region but it was ok and it was a nice touch to invite guests for a complimentary meal in the Lebanese Restaurant.

Overall the Hotel seemed a bit 'tired' but the room was clean and the most annoying thing was the mosquitoesbut they can even be a problem in the South of France!

This would not be my first choice but I would go again if the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Your feedback is our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
All your remarks and comments will be considered with immediate effect.

We look forward to welcoming your good self once again in the near future.

"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from the Oriental Bay for seven days. It was to be a peaceful break with my 21 year old daughter. Did not know what to expect in Egypt but wWe had the best time ever. The hotel was beautiful and the pools amazing with a swim up bar. The rooms were always clean and clean towels and sheets. We spent all our time on the beach. There were sun beds with cushions and towels. The sea was so clear and the snorkelling great, so much life to see in sea. The beach bar was good and the staff looked after us well. The food in restaurant was full of choice, something different every night (no English food like in Spanish resorts). I did not hear of a single person having any sickness and did not come across any bugs or mosquitoes.The staff couldn't do enough to make you happy and definitely were treated like princesses. We will definitely be returning again for a relaxing break.Thank you so much Oriental Bay. Jayne and Jade x x

Room Tip: Ask for low floor with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

“Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just arrived back from marsa alam terrible week.Will not be going ever again could not wait to return home.on arrival we was greeted well the luguage was taken to our rooms then it all went down hill from then on. the room was very dirty went to complain but was told this is the best room of the hotel ha ha . the food in the restraunt was very poor,main hotel toilets need updating and dayly cleaning,entertainment not enough in the evening none in the day.
Three other families had same and similar complaints & issues so we all carnt be wrong.
I do think there is a problem with bed bugs and flys badly bitten on legs ,
positive points;Bar staff and waiters are realy great entertaining and funny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
I checked our records, but did not find your room change request or complaint.
I checked with Thomson & First Choice rep, but did not find any record of your request or complaint.
In the future I recommend your good self to report any discomfort to the hotel management or your rep.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just return from a week at the Oriental Bay. The reviews I read prior to booking suggested this was a great choice. We arrived and were very disappointed with our room as we're other guests we meet. The rooms were big but they were not very clean. We meet people from Bury and Leeds. The earlier reviews are not a true reflection of the hotel. The food was basic and nearly the same every day. The hotel advertised entertainment and then changed it at the last minute. The bar staff tried very hard there was the pool bar and the lobby bar staff who were excellent. The gym was very good and we would recommend a massage. The hotel has a problem with flys and people even suggested bed buds. Most people had been bitten. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.
Unfortunately we did not receive any negative comments from your good self during your stay, although we are collecting daily feedback from guests and Tour Operator reps.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and were glad to get home. Having read the reviews prior to our departure we were looking forward to relaxing in a 5 star hotel? How wrong could we be.

The flight and transfers were great but when we arrived at the hotel our first impression of the hotel was disappointment. On arrival we used the toilets in the reception and they were dirty and this did not change during our stay. This started to cast doubts on the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel. To be fair the bedroom was very good. It appeared to be clean, large and with a pool view. It had 2 bedrooms which was just right for our needs as my wife and I were sharing it with my sister. After our first meal that evening we all thought that it would not be that bad.

When we woke after our first night we all had been bitten by mosquitos. They did come and spray the room but this should have been done prior to our arrival. Having talked to other guests they had the same problem.

The first morning we decided to go to the beach this is a quarter of a mile away from our hotel room and across the main road. The beds on the beach were fine and the sea was good for snorkeling. The staff on the beach were great and could not do enough for you. The food though at the beach bar was very limited and cold.

The weather turned cloudy for the next 4 days and on the 5th day it rained, so this put a dampener on the whole holiday, as the hotel put very little entertainment on during this period. The hotel is miles from anywhere with very little walks where you can venture out of the hotel.

So to recap the whole holiday :- 1) Staff great. 2) Rooms good. 3) Food average. 4) Location poor. 5) Weather awful.

We have stayed in Egypt many times but this hotel is the worst and we will not be coming back

Room Tip: Have one overlooking the pool as the garden rooms face the busy main road which is very busy with tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.
I know you are aware that rain and cloudy weather is out of our hands, but it rarely rains in Marsa Alam.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

First impressions of this hotel- we were disappointed. we have previously stayed at Coraya, Lamaya, Three Corners and Sol Y Mar Abu Dabbab and this hotel seemed neglected and tatty in places. We still enjoyed our holiday and think it is good value for money but would only go to this hotel again if the price was right compared to others. In our opinion the positives were:
Comfortable double bed, effective air con, powerful and hot shower.
Pool complex, including heated pool in winter.
Big and thick beach towels. Lovely reef- lots of beautiful fish and turtles most days.Big, wooden sun beds with thick cushions.
soup was hot and tasty. Croissants good. Pancake station appreciated. liked coffee machines.
Piano bar was well maintained and comfortable.

what we did not like:
did not need the kitchen area- seemed like wasted space and being all inclusive seemed pointless. Bathroom looked old and tired. Limited provision of toiletries ( other hotels had wall dispensers of shower gel, soap, etc)
Food was ok. Limited variety compared to other hotels, even on the grill section, which was the same every day. I found the wine undrinkable so stuck to beer and spirits with mixers. bread uninteresting and toaster inefficient. Very limited options on the beach- Other hotels had nice beach restaurants, especially Sol Y Mar. Very limited snacks or ice cream.
walking over the road to the beach. Not far but just a bit awkward. reef not very well cared for- rope left hanging down and reef becoming damaged. When the water was murky it wasn't always easy to find your way and easy to encroach on the reef. Outside the beach area lots of litter lying around.

Not related to the hotel, but the area- We were convinced this area is always sunny but this year we had 4 cloudy days including a days' rain- very unlucky but obviously it is winter there. also the last 2 days the sea was full of tiny stingers, presumably jellyfish. Ok with a wetsuit, but My legs have loads of itchy spots. also lots of mosquitoes there. The hotel does spray daily but still got some bites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Oriental Bay, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Bay

Address: 15 Km North | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Bay Marsa Alam is famous for its private Bay and wide sandy beach, where you can enjoy diving and snorkelling activities in one of the best sites in the area.Rooms are the widest in Marsa Alam, rooms sizes 65-110 m2.You can reserve a Superior room with one bedroom, private bathroom, living room, kitchenette and balcony/terrace or  you can choose a family room with two bedrooms, two private bathrooms, living room and terrace/balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Bay Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.