We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dive centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coraya Divers

Coraya Divers
Marsa Alam, Egypt
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 24 Activities in Marsa Alam
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb dive centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Coraya Dive Centre is based on the gorgeous Coraya Bay and boasts a superb house reef. It is smoothly organised, very safety orientated and runs a large variety of different dives, from house reef from jetty or zodiac to all day boat trips and speedboat trips. I did 11 dives with them and took my 13 year old daughter who did the Open Water course. I was impressed with the dive guides and instructors who were all both friendly and professional and exhibited a great knowledge of and understanding of the reef and it's inhabitants. Special mention goes to Shazly, Haitem and Hamdy for their guided dives and to Sylvia, who looked after my daughter so well and took her through her OW course.

Should be noted that this dive centre is German (as it seems are 90% of the bay's guests) but this is no bad thing as it means that if you are a Brit you end up diving with just your guide rather than with a group of six.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    6
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This diving centre is very good. It's in a good position, is run by Germans but they all speak English and I had 2 Italian instructors, all very nice.

Highly recommendable

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic House Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 3rd diving experience with Coraya & it will not be the last. We want to thank Kai, Sonja & all the staff for making our trip one not to be forgotten.

There are numerous dive sites available but our favourite is the house reef. Entry can be from the jetty or zodiac depending on whether you are diving the north or south reef. As we have over 25 dives we can go unguided which suits our way of diving, taking it slow & easy. This year there was lots of plankton in the water so the visibility was not great but it did not stop us enjoying the variety of fish which were about. There is lots of new growth of soft & hard corals. Our highlight this visit was seeing 2 awesome eagle rays.

A special thanks goes to the team at the jetty especially Sabeur for helping with kitting up & entry & exit at the jetty.

We would recommend Coraya Divers to anyone visiting the Marsa Alam area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A large, well run organisation with good dives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We’ve done over 500 dives in the Caribbean, Mediterranean and the Maldives and this must rank as one of the largest and best run establishments we’ve ever dived with.
Pros:
• Good variety of dive venues, dive times and dive types. House reef, dives from a zodiac inflatables, shore dives, half day boar dives, full day boat dives and night dives.
• Although the strict efficiency with which the organisation is run grates at first when you realise that they are catering for over 400 divers at a time, more than 2,000 individual dives per week with over 70 staff you realise why it needs to be run efficiently.
• Good briefings, safety conscious dive guides, well-appointed half day dive boats, friendly knowledgeable service throughout.
• Good house reef – if you just want easy diving then you could dive this all week. Everything from turtles, dolphin, stingray, hard and soft coral in good condition, wide variety of fish all starting 20m from the end of the jetty.
Cons
• Few half day two tank dives - boats largely leave at 9am and return at 1-2:30pm having just completed one dive – for a two tank you leave early and return late afternoon.
• The shore dives can be more of an ordeal than a pleasure. We went to Marsala Egla on a two tank dive
o An hour in the mini bus. No shelter in 43 degree heat, soft drinks are limited in variety (water, sprite, coke) and charged by the can. No washing facilities – they could just rig up a simple gravity shower for post dive freshener – no food. The bus is parked 75 yards from the entry point over soft sand and the reef then starts 75m from the entry point. Several of the women couldn’t manage the tanks in or out and the staff had to be asked to help – they didn’t volunteer assistance.
o The pickup carrying the tanks and the mini bus raced all the way there and back – fortunately there’s next to no traffic but their fun will eventually lead to someone getting injured in a crash.
o The dive guide – unusually - took almost no notice – gave a perfunctory brief and then just sat in the bus listening to music and on the phone – didn’t bother to even get wet.
• If you stay at the Coraya Beach Hotel the dive centre is half a mile away. You can walk round the bay but it’s a bit of a trek. There are shuttle buses but they only run 4 times per day but when you get there they will run you back anytime you want. Drop off AND pick up on demand would be much better.
• The boats don’t have fresh water tanks for cameras post dive.
This was our first time in the red sea and although we had heard good things about diving here it just never appealed somehow. To put the quality of the diving in place its basically much better than anything in the windward islands of the Caribbean (the local appetite for fish and nitrate run off from agriculture has basically ruined diving in the Caribbean and we’ve done over 300 dives in everywhere from Barbados through St Lucia to the Virgins – diving in Cayman is still very good but the rest is pretty poor). It’s also better than the Med but not quite as good as the Maldives.
The variety and health of the corals is very good – both soft and hard corals with vast Acropora hard coral areas. The variety of the fish and invertebrates is also good but you just don’t see the shoals of fish that are so common in the Maldives and the overall impression is that the Red Sea is lower in nutrients than the Maldives. The number of large fish is also low and I assume that is due to overfishing but we did not see any fishing boats at all.
Turtles and dolphin are common and seem totally unafraid of divers. Nudibrachs , pipe fish, giant clams abound but we saw no shark or any pelagics larger than 1 metre.
Although there is a dive guide on every dive (except the shore dive) certified divers with more than 25 dives can go off on their own after the briefing. On the dives we did there was almost no current and the average depth to see good coral and fish was 10 – 20m.
Conclusion
Coraya divers is well run and on a world scale very good value at €25 per dive. It offers all of the certification courses and has designated areas for reception, good locker and gear drying facilities, excellent wash up areas as well as a separate camera tank on land. The dives are posted for each category every day and you just sign up to the one you want to join. Nitrox is available at no extra cost, there is a snack bar, large meetings areas and overall the staff are friendly and efficient. The guides are very safety conscious.
You even get a free video when you leave and a 10% discount card for any returning “members”.
I would use Coraya Divers again and recommend them to a friend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Diving Center in Marsa Alam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Well organized diving center. You will feel like you have been there many times before from the first hour. They make 10 mint orientation for the diving center system as part of check-in process and dedicate a locker as well as place for your wet gears. They are systematic like Rolex watches as a result of a combination of both German and Swiss systems. Most of Dive Guides are professionals and funny. They know how to make the customers happy. They go for fantastic diving sites either by Zodiac, Speedboat, Boot or bus for shore diving sites. Boat trips are combination from half and full day. Also, the house reef is very interesting and they allow unguided dives subject to have 25 dives at least. The most wonderful dive site you can go with them in a full day boat trip is Eliphonstone, where you can sea different types of Sharks and Dulphins in one place in 30m water visibility. Their prices are very good compared to other diving centers in Marsa Alam. It is highly recommended diving center, which is strategically located in the center of 5 fantastic hotels related to Iberotel and Soly Mar on a beautiful bay suitable for both diving and snorkeling as well as swimming. January till November are the good months for diving as water temperature goes from 21C in January till 31C in July befor it goes back to 21C in November.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coraya Divers also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Coraya Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coraya Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.