We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valuable hotel for the good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsa Alam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel
Save Saved
You added Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel to your Saves list
Km 20, Marsa Alam El Quseir Rd. Marsa Shagara, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Valuable hotel for the good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel is oriented on italy customers. The food was delicious, enough enterteiment , nice sea. I could recommend this hotel for small children. The staff was friendly only if you give some tips. We hat all inclusive, but they didn´t have 4days white wine in all bars in the hotel. The beer was often hot not cold. The massage team in the relax part was grade.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    14
    15
    16
See reviews for
25
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
aswan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

i recomend it -it is so quite -nice beach -helthy -beauteful show at nite-free drinks

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We have just come back from 1 week at this hotel,thank god it wasn't 2.Do not go to this hotel,unless slimming world or weight watchers isn't working for you because we can guarantee you will come back alot lighter than you went.We travelled as 2 adultsand 4 kids 14,13,11 and 3.Its awful,i read the reports before we went and expected little but we got alot less than that.Food awful,staff awful,hotel outdated,pool tiles sharp and dangerous and yes nearly all the guests are italian.Theres nothing for the kids as the animation team don't speak or won't speak english so games during the day are a non starter and as for the eveninhg unless you can speak italian don't bother going to any shows.Oh yes and the alcohol,served during the day in plastic vending cups and very lucky if you got any alcohol in it!!! Don't try and shower in the evening when getting ready to go to the canteen for dinner as it's guaranteed to be cold thats if you can get the shower to work! if not you can have a bath in brown tea looking water.Theres nowhere to get money,you have to take a taxi to another hotel and its 30 euros return.On the plus side weathers fantastic.Please,please,please do not waste your money on a holiday here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just retuned from a good holiday in egypt,stayed at the flamenco beach resort,hotel was truly a 4 star,staff ,cleanliness and food,brilliant,but found out that we had a 24 hour delay coming home.They shipped 300 passengers off to what I would describe as a modern day concentation camp,they threw our bags up to the rooms,demanded money,corridors were filthy and dark,rooms basic and hot and stuffy,mealtimes were in a large room that reminded me of Birch services on M62.Good job we were only ther 20 hours.A bad end to what was a good week.Full of not fussy Italians,keep well away.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just got back from this hotel today. I had to stay here overnight due to a 24hr delay, but what a dump. I really felt sorry for the people who were coming to stay at this hotel for a week or two. First of all it was organized caious due to the delay, but when we arrived in our room the porter was anchoring for a tip, which my mother at the time was giving him, but when she give him the money he refused and asked for more and wanted it in english, my mother tried to explain she didnt have any english, but he kept saying more, making her feel bad, but in the end i lost my temper and told him basically you either take that or dont have any and to leave as he was trying to take the money from my mothers hand. Then later i had to make a call home, which u can only do from reception, so there is no privacy, which i thought okay as i didnt intend on being long anyway. i got told we were entitled to 3 mins free then it would be 15 egyp pounds per min after that. i called home and just gone 3 mins as the clock on the phone was counting down, but they charged me for 4 mins intead i tried to explain that i had only just gone over but he tried to say the clock on the phone was not working propely, which was counting down pretty well to me. We went to the restauraunt for evening dinner and it was foul, the place was like a school canteen and the food wasnt much better. Morning at breckfast wasnt any better either then on leaving i was taking our bags to reception ourselves and another man approached us and said he would take them i told him we would take them as i had no money but he insistered, then afterwards he took money from his own pocket and said you have , i told him no and he said no money i said no again and he scowled at me and dropped the bags down where he stood. it wasnt that i was being mean it was the fact we should of been home by then and instead had to go to this hotel, which by then we were running out of cash anyway and only had enough for the mini bus at the other end. not a good start i thought. so anyone going here, i thought u should know the type of people you will come up against when you are there. We had stayed at the dreams beach marsa alam, it was great the staff were extremely friendly smiling hardworking and always wanting to help. You were not pressured into giving tips by anyone and when we did they were very obliging, these are the type of people you dont mind giving anything too as they are not after ur money as soon as see you. The Cataract hotel was rated a 4* the same as the Dreams Beach, but i would definately give dreams a 5* even if its just for the staff as they were 1st class.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Arrived Christmas Eve and stayed until 7th Jan 2009. Had no hot water for a 3 days, but were offered and accepted a tranfer to another block which was fine. Found all staff very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and varied in choice, (certainly there were always pasta dishes available - but then it is classed as an Italian resort ! ) and the way it was presented - excellent. A new restaurant was completed and opened whilst we were there, and open at lunch times. The whole complex and gardens were well maintained, and most important of all the rooms were cleaned and bedding and towels changed every day. We knew before we went this was an Italian resort so were not surprised or unhappy that all entertainment was in Italian, and we found their staff friendly. Unfortunately the swimming pools were cold, but then it was the winter ! As for comments about only allowing plastic cups around the pool area from the poolside bar, I feel that is a sensible thing to do- especially at busy times when young children may be about. The beach area was raked daily and always clean. There is a jetty out to the reef for snorkellers to set off from, but as a virtual non swimmer, still enjoyed the walk along it and watched the colourful fish in the clear water. - even saw some dolphins pass along one day !

  • Liked — The decor and cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This resort caters for Italians only !!!
All notices,all entertainment is in Italian .
The food was very good,pasta pasta pasta.
Most of the staff were very helpfull,and friendly.
Could do with a bottle or two of complementory
water in the empty mini bar .
The diving was very good but very expensive .
The snorkling from the end of the jetty,has to be the best !!!
and its free !! Then there is a shuttle bus to a snorkling beach 10 min down the coast,which is also fantastic,and that is also free !!
The hotel is kept in a very clean condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel

Address: Km 20, Marsa Alam El Quseir Rd. Marsa Shagara, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessole Alexander the Great Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.