We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHRISTMAS IN COMFORT AND SUNSHINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Resta Grand Resort to your Saves list
Resta Grand Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CHRISTMAS IN COMFORT AND SUNSHINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Been back home for 3days after a 2week stay and would love to go back to the Resta Grand, the hotel was very comfortable clean and spacious as were the rooms with the added bonus of the flat screen t.v., just what was needed after a hard day relaxing on the beach, to come back to the room late afternoon, shower and chill on the bed before getting ready for evening meal!!!. The food was plentiful we always found something to eat, we did eat in both the a la carte resturants but to be honest the food in the main resturant was better with more selection, the service was great, we dont tip at the start of the holiday like some people do, we prefer to wait until the last nite and then give good tips to the staff we think have given us the best service for our stay. We did indulge ourselves by having 5 massages each, the spa had a fantastic atmosphere, we had our last massage at 11am the day we were to fly home and it set us up for the journey brilliantly!! having said that the day we left we had a torrential storm and the hotel was in chaos, i really did feel sorry for the mangement, staff and new arrivals, who wouldnt have seen the hotel at its best. We spent most of our time on the beach which was lovely and not over crowded, my partner had a few days on the live reef snorkling which he said was great and I went in the shallow pools the fish and sea life was great, I am not a snorkler, so it was good to go into the shallow pools and see all the fish clams etc. All in all an excellent holiday and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    462
    179
    60
    40
See reviews for
409
747
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

h
Having visited Egypt on several occassions and stayed at many five star hotels in the country as well as other parts of the world this hotel did not disappoint us. Having read some of the reviews both prior and since travelling we woinder whether some people stayed at the same hotel! When you travel to foreign lands you should be prepared to adopt their customs and be aware of their culture as standard courtsey to both the local inhabitants and and the country in general. It must be borne in mind tghat Egypt is a Muslim country and comments like no Christmas decorations at the begining of December are not helpful. The hotel actually put up vast amounts of decorations in the week leading up to Christmas; this in a country that does not celebrate Christmas in the way Europeans and others choose to.

The range of food available was good with both a vast salad and cold meat selection as well as a varied choice of hot food well presented and prepared. There was always a plentiful supply. The waiter service was very good and the staff were very attentive.

The rooms are spacious and clean;no dust or dirt.

We read with interest the comments about no toilets around the pool and would comment that this is normal in most hotels we have visited as there are always toilets nearby. The hotels visited include those situated in USA, Europe, Africa, and Dubai.

The gardens are well maintained and clean.

All of the staff were pleasant and polkite at all times and maybe some of the visitors who have complained should learn that clicking your fingers or waving at the staff to get attention is in our opinion rude. After all they are human beings!!!

The comments made about dust around various areas is unreasonable as if you open your eyes you will see desert on one side and a beach on the other.

In summary a good hotel with plenty of space in which to relax with good staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragør
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

A new and attracting hotel. Lovely big rooms, clean and with large bathroom.
my first time with all-inclusive I had low expectations about the food. It was great! But i cannot recommend the two a la carte restaurants. The food was below expectations and the service slow.
Finally the internet rates are too high.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Looks great, but you can`t help being a little disappointed.
When you want to go out for a swim/snorkeling, they often do not hoisted the staircase at the jetty down, and then you can´t get in the water, especially if you want a morning dip.
We had all inclusive, it could have been better, for instance, there were no fresh juice for breakfast, waffles for the kids, was only once a week, only one servant who made scouts eggs and omelette, there's always a long queue.
The children had looked forward to the ice cream served at 1430-1530 but all too often there was only one type of ice: the mango and only one ball in a mini cup, if you do not like mangoes, there was no ice
There is no hand sanitiser anywhere in or around the hotel and it is a must in egypt.
The hotel is placed quit remote, so you need transfer to go 6 km to Port Ghalib for shopping and the hotel have a transfer bus, but charge every person 10 euro at normal only discount when going 9 00 pm and back 2300 pm ( most big hotel have this service for free at least once a day!) what we really liked was the staff always helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

After reading a few of the negative reviews before we arrived at the hotel we were slightly apprehensive about what to expect when we arrived, we need not have worried. This hotel really did live up to all our expectations, we have travelled all over europe, egypt and mexico and other long haul destinations and stayed in 5 star all inclusive hotels and none have bettered this one, considering that they are still building the hotel the service and quality is second to none.
You cannot fail to be impressed upon arrival at the beautiful reception and the ease of the check in, when you get to your room it is impressive yet again, the best rooms we have ever had with great 37" Flatscreen TV, really good quality furniture and bathroom, very very impressive.
The food quality was very good, breakfast always nice and if you go in when we did at 7am when they first open it is always quiet and relaxed and easy to get to the food unlike some other hotels we have stayed in in the past, Lunch at the Plateau by the beach was also very nice, a set menu every day which was either pasta, pizza, burgers, hotdogs and always very nice and served to your table if you fancy lunch sat in the sun without having to serve yourself at the buffet, dinner was always good with plenty of choice of freshly cooked meats or fish and pasta and bread and always plenty of cakes and desserts to choose from. the a la cartes were also good although we chose to eat in the main buffet restaurant most night as we had two young children who didn't always want to eat a set menu. The club house bar was a really nice place to relax and enjoy drinks at night or a coffee in the afternoon overlooking the pools and the red sea beyond.
We could not believe some of our fellow British guests and some of the complaints they had about this hotel, the custard was the wrong colour, it was dusty in reception (even though we had a sandstorm that day), not enough christmas decorations, too hot, too cold, no nightlife (check the brochure) to name just a few.
If you want to go somewhere where you can go out to macdonalds or kfc or go out to a local bar to watch the football or go to nightclubs then don't go to Marsa Alam (stick to Benidorm) because you really are in the middle of nowhere at this hotel, in the middle of the desert is the best way to describe the location which is exactly what we expected and wanted.
If you want to stay in a 5 star hotel where you can relax in the sun with good food and very very good service in beautiful surroundings then this place cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Just returned from Marsa Alam, Resta Grand Hotel, very good reviews before we went, very long flight the plane was only a standard and we felt you needed the extra legroom seats. The one coming back was bigger although all the inflight tv's seem to be very small and often difficult to watch, food on plane not very good in my opinion, no wonder nearly everyone gave it a miss(does that tell you something Thomson).

Very impressed with hotel quick transfer although you have to pay the visa £13 on the coach, there are a number of hotels on the coast and not much else, building going on to extend the comlex already very large with over 700 rooms. no where near to our room and seemed well contained. Asked for a double bed and got a 6ft one, large 32inch flat screen tv with connectors if you wanted to plug in a dvd player(we did) tea coffeee facilities and small fridge.(you get 2 water bottles complimentary each day)

Although bed is quite firm had no difficulty sleeping, very large room, in small blocks of about 8-10 rooms, reasonable size balcony with table and chairs, only 2 storys high and well spaced out. Well manicured gardens undergoing lots of work when we were there never seen so many gardeners all in one go

You get the usual towels and mattress on sunloungers which are of the metal type lots of sunbathing areas, the small pool was undergoing extensive work loads of drilling and banging but did not hinder our sunbathing or relaxing too much. the entertainment is very 70's.birdy song and all that but they try hard, and to sell the spa's and massages every day.

Food was better than we have had for a long time edible but seemed to go downhill after a few days chips most days and reasonable selection of meat, deserts looked lovely but all artificial cream and quite hard. drinks ok but mainly flat pepsi and lemonade got the Egypt tummy again after trying to be very careful got to day 5 before it hit home. Good winter break weather fantastic considering it was below zero at home but still think they charge or the holiday companies do for the standard of food we get.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston lancashire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a week stay at the Resta Grand in early December and what a super hotel this is, we had such a good time, we are going to go back next year. The hotel was very confortable, very clean, and the staff very friendly,nothing too much trouble. the food was good plenty of choice, and a good variety every day. The 2 restaurants on site were also exellent, on the 2 nights we dined in them. The tui rep was most helful and efficient and very knowledgeable on the area/trips available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
396 Spacious, comfortable guest rooms, fitted with modern amenities• Standard single room: 46 sqm• Twin room: 46 sqm• Family room: 52 sqm• Individually controlled air conditioning• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV• Satellite television• Hairdryer• Iron and ironing board upon request• Safety deposit box• Mini bar• Tea & Coffee making facilities• Sound system and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.