We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resta Grand Hotel, Marsa Alam, Egypt October 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Resta Grand Resort to your Saves list
Resta Grand Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Resta Grand Hotel, Marsa Alam, Egypt October 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a week's break with my wife and 14 year old daughter. Similar experiences as other guests i.e. food ok but not amazing and we didn't have any dodgy stomachs! The staff were all very helpful especially Sam in the main bar area and the other waiters in the pool bar area and the 'Plateau' where we had lunch most days.

Every day was around 30 dgs C and only one day could have been remotely described a cloudy!

The pool complex itself is really good and very clean throughout our stay. The beach is very nice but we were slightly disappointed with the snorkelling as to get the best snorkelling you need to go off the jetty which goes out some hundred yards or so. That isn't a problem in itself but most days it was too windy and they - quite rightly - stopped guests from going off the end because the sea got a bit too rough.

We had room 3033 which was about midway between the beach and the main hotel building. All very clean except for black mould which was trapped between the lower edge of the shower screen and it's fixing on the bath edge. Otherwise though everything else was just great with daily new towels and bed linen etc. And because the hotel was less than half full, there were loads of sun beds and umbrellas to choose from every day and all day.

Two things were particularly disappointing though.

1. The wine measures in the main restaurant were a joke and I see that other guests have said the same in the forum. Filling wine glasses up barely half way was a con and through Ishmail the Thompson rep, we found out that it is all about cutting costs because of the hugely reduced guest numbers, due to the ongoing political climate. The operations manager told Ishmail that they only filled the glass half way because otherwise the drink wouldn't stay cold long enough during the meal!!! What a load of rubbish and shame on you Mr Operations Manager for treating us like idiots! The red wine was also served in half measures and that doen't start off cold so what was he on about!? All other cold drinks served in glasses were up to the brim so how come they weren't served up short to keep them cool?!

It wouldn't have been so bad if the waiters regularly came up to you to get you a refill but they didn't - probably because (according to the Operations Manager) a number of waiters were 'on holiday' and so they were short of staff. Er, no, the staff numbers had been reduced because of the fewer guests and so they weren't able to come around and top up glasses. Or maybe they had been told not to do so to save costs?

Whatever, it meant that we had to go and get our own drinks from the table 'bar' where we were served by a member of staff so even then we were still only given half a glass - you would have thought they made enough from us without resorting to such underhand measures.

The second issue we got annoyed about was the check-out arrangements. Our flight with Thompson wasn't until 2225 so a 12 oclock check out was ridiculous. We were of course offered a 'deal' to keep our room until 2000 which of course meant giving the hotel yet more money - Egyptian stealth tax maybe?! Our holiday was purchased on an 'all inclusive' basis so Thompson should get their act together and ensure that the term 'all inclusive' means just that, right up until the point you leave, especially when flights are so late departing. Why can't big holiday companies sort these things out for customers and just include the extra time in room in the overall bill?

Anyway, those points apart, the holiday was overall really good and we would go back if we didn't want to try other hotels and resorts in the future.

Room Tip: Room 3033 was about midway between the beach and the main hotel complex, less than a minute's wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    462
    179
    60
    40
See reviews for
409
747
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks of R & R at the Resta Grand which was exactly what we needed : ) The hotel is lovely and clean the pools are great plenty of sun beds. All the staff were good to us, a special thank you to Mohammed at the Plateau restaurant who served us a fantastic meal over looking the sea in the moon light for Sue's 50th Birthday plus he and his team sang happy birthday, thanks. Snorkeling in the rock pools was great for us first timers and we did get to snorkel off the jetty twice a plus. A special thank you to Hussain our cleaner who created some amazing sculptures for us, all the staff were great especially Sam and Ahmed at the bar. Ismail the rep is very good and gives loads of advice. Rooms are spacious we had a great room between the pool and sea easy access to both. Shame that Thomson are stopping flights from Manchester to Marsa Allam as although its a quiet place its an excellent place to Relax, we also had massages from Nora and Issy (sorry for the spelling ladies) who were brilliant :)
If your looking for a lovely hotel, sun, pool, beach and relaxation this is the place to go. We also met some great characters thanks for the laughter we shared.

Room Tip: First floor ideal central location 3314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from two amazing weeks at The Resta Grand Marsa Alam this was our second visit the first being in 2009. The hotel was just the same the staff do their best to make your stay memorable from the minute you walk through the door. The Thompson's rep Ismael was very helpful always available if you have a query. Wy Ayman, Alaa, and Abdul at the pool bar were great. Sam and Achmed at the terrace bar had our drinks ready for us by the time we sat down. The food was lovely always a lot to choose from; all of the waiters in the restaurant were very friendly. It's such a shame that it was only 20% occupied with other countries not flying to Marsa Alam. We heard that Thompson's are not going to fly from Manchester next year which will be very sad for the Resta Grand and us Brits.

The managers said that if in future there are no flights to Marsa Alam they will arrange to pick guests up from Hurghada free of charge. But they are hoping to resolve these issues with Thompson.

A big hello to all of the lovely friends we made here, thank you for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Upon arrival at the Resta Grand we were meet by the friendly reception team with an icy cold glass of refreshing apple juice which was much welcomed after the extremely long drive from the airport (5 mins lol). We were then taken by golf buggies to our beautiful and clean spacious poolside room.
We soon found the facilities to be really well laid out and equipped. The food was to a very reasonable standard with varied options over the 2 weeks. (Some of the Egyptian food was outstanding).
The Entertainment Team were just lovely! Alex is the most amazing dancer I have seen in a long time and his talents are wasted there! Sam was also just great, big softy with a heart of gold!! Daniel was great for the kids, but it ends there unfortunately.. The evening entertainment was a little repetitive but i think that was due to not many guests participating and it was really hard work for the guys to get things going!
The Bar staff in the main bar were Excellent, Sam and Ahmed (Sorry if the name is wrong) were spot on. They had our drinks brought to our table without even ordering, they knew exactly what we wanted and refilled without haste! Always had a smile on their faces even with the extremely long hours that they work!! A special mention to Alaa and Abdel Hamed in the pool bar as well. They were fantastic and the service was perfect. Always walking collecting the empties and topping them up very quickly! They made special decaffeinated coffee for my Mum which she was made up about! The cocktails were a bit on the heavy side for me not being a big drinker, but it would have been rude not to sample them 
The restaurant staffs were equally just as great. Amed the restaurant Manager really looked after my Mum who has problems with food. Everyone went well out of their way to make sure she was happy and something to eat everyday!! Thank you 
I was taken quite ill towards the end of my stay and I have to say the Ismail the Thompson Rep, the Hotel and staff at the Port Ghalib Hospital were amazing and could not do enough for me. (Shame about the hotel doctor who unfortunately was the person that put me there) One of the Hotel managers came with me and my Mum to the hospital to ensure everything was ok and I Thank you very much for that. (Sorry I missed your name)
Slight downside – No toilets near the pool. Luckily my room was very close.
Overall, I had an amazing time at the Resta Grant and I will defiantly be going back again next year with my Partner and Son!!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great. Have a facial, did wonders for me :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect for a week of relaxing in the sun! Hot weather all week, managed to go in the sea on the last day & seen lots of tropical fish etc.

Staff were brilliant, friendly, always made effort to say hello including the many gardeners keeping the resort looking lovely. They welcomed us with drinks & held a british flag up as we left. Always cracking jokes & Sam at the bar was brilliant, keeping us entertained & knew our drinks off by heart, legend.

Food was a good variety to choose from, including a chef who cooks pasta as you like it, and plenty of cakes & fruit for desert. Also burgers available at the beach for dinner.

Pool is big & nice, the beach is beautiful, and a nice pier which you can use to go snorkelling when not on black flag.

Room was nice, big & clean with a sunbed & chairs on the patio. Fresh water left every day by cleaner.

Resort was very quiet & I feel sorry for them as they all work long hours etc. This affected the entertainment a little as it's hard to get everyone going/ involved when so few guests, but they still managed to give everyone a laugh with funny couples games & kareoke etc. Also water music & water aerobics occasionally every day.

Great place, great staff. Would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We wanted a restful 7 day break in the sun and rest we did. Before we got off the aircraft we were told to go to the Thomson's desk to buy the visa, we had to fill out a form and were told that we had to pay on the coach for it and we were charged £13 only to discover that we could of purchased the visa inside the airport for just under a tenna (naughty). Plenty of space around the pools, the rooms were spacious and the housekeeping was attended to every day. The hotel was 20% full and was so quiet, therefore we were told the choice of food had to be reduced but very nice and we managed to find something each day (chips were to die for). Fruit was only available as fruit cocktail. The cut backs were very noticeable ie. beer was served in wine glasses, wine 1/3 of a glass (only with meals) and sometimes had to serve ourselves, we gave up asking for cocktails at the pool bar as they were so sweet and couldn't taste any alcohol. The staff were great though and worked really hard obviously under pressure from the management but we would like to say a special thank you to Sam in the main bar, he couldn't do enough for you, worked so so hard and a real credit to the hotel, the management should be really proud of him.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Abbey, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week break at the Resta Grand Resort. We had a great time from the off, from greeting and welcome drinks, to the check in process and luggage delivery to our room, which was of a good size and immaculately clean. Fresh bedding and towels every day and also a couple of large bottles of water daily, there were a couple of minor room issues, a light bulb and TV problem, these were fixed during the time we were in for evening meal!! excellent service. The food incidentally was good, and if you wanted something special the kitchen staff were happy to oblige, the bread was so fresh you could eat a full loaf if not careful. All the staff were great, couldn't do enough, all the bar staff were on the go all the time, and deserve a special mention - Ayman, Sam and Ahmed, with Alaa and Abdel Hamed at the pool bar, thanks guys. Restaurant staff, Ahmed,Sammy and Ahmed, I can't remember any more names, but you all know who you are. Of particular note was the Thompson rep' Ismail, probably the best holiday rep' we have had!!!! made a great effort to ensure everyone had a great time without being obtrusive. The hotel was probably only 20% occupied which is an indication of the perceived troubles in Egypt, I can honestly say that at no time was there any sign of this in Marsa. Never any shortage of sun beds on the beach or around the pool!, on a slightly negative note, the entertainment/animation was not of the same standard, the 3 guys were rather under resourced, probably due to the low occupancy, and probably a lack of understanding as to what the English find funny!!!. The gardens were kept well, massive lawns kept neat and well cut. A smallish gym, massage area, and children's facility were in a separate block, the outside play area was excellent for the kids. The swimming pools were massive and always clean, not terribly warm though, probably due to the windy conditions, but, on the downside there were no toilet facilities around the pool area, so the choice was back to your room or lobby, this does need addressing. All in all a great relaxing holiday to celebrate my wife's birthday, even found a birthday cake waiting for us in our fridge on arrival :)

Room Tip: Our room was 1501, about equidistant from pool beach, and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
396 Spacious, comfortable guest rooms, fitted with modern amenities• Standard single room: 46 sqm• Twin room: 46 sqm• Family room: 52 sqm• Individually controlled air conditioning• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV• Satellite television• Hairdryer• Iron and ironing board upon request• Safety deposit box• Mini bar• Tea & Coffee making facilities• Sound system and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.