We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Winter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resta Grand Resort to your Saves list
Resta Grand Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Winter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had 7 days in the Grand Resta Hotel Marsa Alam and we were very impressed with the whole holiday. We went in November for some Winter sun and were not disappointed, 28degrees every day, hotel was about 75% full so there was never an issue with space or getting sun loungers etc.

The 10minute transfer from the airport is great, the check-in at the hotel reception was swift providing you filled in the admisison form on the coach to the hotel. We were then whisked to our rooms on golf carts and our luggage arrived within 10mins. Great first impression.

The rooms were large and very clean and modern, the cleaning staff maintained a great service all week. 2 bottles of bottled water in the room every day was a bonus as its not advisable to drink the water over in Egypt.

The pool area was fantastic, clean, good atmosphere, swim up pool bar. You get pestered alittle by the annimation staff and also by the agents in the hotel arcade to have massages, tours etc. Give them a few days then they start to leave you alone.
We never had any issues with the restaurant at all, there was always plenty of food, lots of choice, tasty and importantly clean. The only issue which several people have commented is there never appears to be enough glasses in the hotel, the staff were always having to rush off and find more juice, wine beer glasses. Occassionaly you would get beer in a wine glass, I can live with that.

Great snorkeling from the jetty on the beach, take your own jelly shoes as lots of coral around.

All in all a great hotel, great super quiet location we will be back.

tip, Buy your entry visa from the bank on the left in the airport as they are cheaper than the travel agents who sell them to you at the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    449
    176
    59
    40
See reviews for
398
724
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighouse
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Resta Grand and having read the two previous reviews fully concur with their findings.

As has been said previously, there is a pleasant and helpful reception team who are always happy to help with any queries you may have. We particularly appreciated the free morning British news update, a lovely little extra.

The rooms were large & clean with good facilities. The Laundry service was excellent, for 15 Euros you can fill a small sack with Laundry and if it is collected before 10.00am it is returned the same day (ours was already in our room when we returned a 5.30pm).

The previous comments on the Restaurant are still accurate, we had fantastic service from Ahmed 7 and all the chefs were very friendly. However, there were still a few issues with the glasses not being available for water/fruit juice and whilst all the tables were set before service as the meal time progressed many tables were not relaid and therefore some people could be seen wandering around the restaurant looking for a table, or selecting a table then looking for cutlery. Though again I must say this was never a problem for us, we headed for the same area of the restaurant each day and the regular waiters on that station would always rush to help us to a table & if required would reset the table immediately, before rushing off to get our drinks. The coffee in the restaurant was poor so tended to have soft drinks with breakfast & lunch and then head to the pool bar where they serve a fabulous coffee, thank you boys.

My husband & I would usually shy away from any "entertainment" and prefer to just sit and have a quiet drink & chat, however, we thoroughly enjoyed listening to Hayley C on the terrace (4 nights per week). Regarding the animation team, for our personal taste we didn't really find some of the sketches funny, however, we overheard many people saying how much they enjoyed it and lots of people were laughing during the shows, so I guess that is just down to personal preference. This lead us to think that one improvement would be to have a quiet area at the end of the terrace where you could enjoy a drink without having to join in with the animation team (also you could chat & not disturb the people who did want to see the show). I would though like to say that they all did a fabulous job, working very hard & were often meeting and greeting at meal times, offering various activities during the day, performing in the evenings, rehearsing for new shows and still managed to find time to come and have a chat whenever they saw you - our special thanks to Faye who always made us feel so welcome.
No mention of the outside Terrace would be complete without thanking Sam for the excellent service, warm welcome & humour he provides - not to mention his talents with the stick! (his performances at the beach party were most impressive - perhaps he will be joining the animation team?). It does come a little cool on an evening so make sure that you take a jacket/cardigan for the evenings.

We were a little surprised to find that a visit to the a la carte restaurant were not included in the stay which does appear to be usual for lots of other hotels. Whilst we had no complaints with the food available in the restaurant it would have been nice to have had a change on one night per week. We also enjoyed the sports bar when we visited for the Cocktail evening and would have perhaps visited again had it been included as a facility in the all-inclusive.

This is a perfect place for a relaxing holiday. Thank you to Sarah (Thomson Rep) her welcome and helpfulness throughout, we really enjoyed our stay and we are sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: Lack of toilets near the pool would suggest you are better requesting a pool view room as the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks at the resta grand. The check in was very quick and we were taken to our room which was huge and very clean. My husband uses a wheelchair and they gave us a room near the main lobby with easy access to everything.
All the staff were very friendly particularly Hussein at room keeping and Sam at the terrace bar. All the waiters remembered your favourite drinks and had them ready for you at meal times or at the pool or terrace. It sometimes seemed that there weren't enough waiting staff but they all worked constantly.
There was a large selection of food and had something different every night.
The entertainment was very repetitive with the daily routine never changing, especially in the evenings.
The sales guys at the pool all try to get you to buy when you arrive but once we said no they weren't pushy but would still often stop to say hello.
The Thomson rep Sarah was lovely and again wanted to do everything possible to ensure you had a lovely stay.
We would definetly reccomend the Resta Grand and would gladly go back if you are after some quiet relaxing sun!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Returned home 21st November and had a great time. No trip is 100% so to start with the down side, the buffet restaurant has some issues with the management of the services such as tables being ready, tea and coffee not available or if it is no cups etc. but in the last few days we were there the new Manager was getting to grips with these points and it had improved. I really hope they get this sorted as the food quality was great and the staff such as Azouz and Sahed work so hard for the guests.

Now for the rest, arriving we found the reception staff to be amazingly efficient and friendly, such a smooth welcome and booking in process. The room was amazing with a sea view overlooking the jetty, a great way to start the mornings. The rooms were clean and well maintained by Mohamed who was lovely. Tea & Coffee facilities, safe, comfortable furniture and plenty of space for clothes and hangers. During our stay it was our 34th Wedding Anniversary and Antonella at the Customer Services was fantastic arranging a little surprise for the evening meal and she was great company during the week. Sarah the Thomson Rep was one of the best we have come across lately, very accommodating and always available for a chat with everyone. The Gardens are fantastic, well done to the grounds team and the pool is spacious with plenty of comfy sunbeds which are cast iron with proper mattresses and far too comfy at times!! The towel boys are good fun and happy to help move beds and sun brollies for guests. The Pool Bar team are exceptional, Sameh's "special" coffee's often saved the day but the whole team including the lads who wander the pool area taking and delivering orders make the whole experience very relaxing. The beach has plentiful standard plastic sunbeds too but was not an area we used much as the beds were more comfortable at the pool. The animation team were nice people and although they spoke to everyone and tried to get people involved I did find them a bit regimented and rigid to their timetable of events which I knew by heart on day three and would have liked a bit more spontanaity,having said that it was not "Catastrophie" (in joke)

The Marsa Club House is a cosy facility and Sam is a star always preempting your order and delivering with a smile and a welcome word. There are no free al a carte restaurant's here but we had a meal at the Plateau for our anniversary which was the set menu,about 13 Euro's each. Well worth the money, food fantastic and plentiful and the service here was first class. Never had a creme brulee served in a soup bowl before. We also ate at Zeit Zatoon twice just for a change of venue and the food was excellent, the duck and lamb ribs can be recommended as well as the steak. Meal for two was less than 300 Egyptian pounds and you don't have to pay for drinks as you can get the ones included in your all inclusive.

If you get the chance go to the Managers Cocktail Party, the food here is amazing and the wine of a higher quality than the restaurant. The sports bar is a nice facility to host this in and it is a great way of meeting fellow guests and the staff. You will probably be amazed how many have been to this hotel before and in some cases how many times they have been here which speaks volumes considering it only opened a few years ago.

All in all the hotel is very good quality with fantastic friendly staff. The send off with the team waving the British flag was a nice touch and just makes you want to go back, if only to see the staff who become your friends. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

To start off with 1st impressions the hotel looks very grand. We arrived and checked in with staff on hand offering drinks and was then taken to our room on a buggy and had suitcases delivered.
The room was spacious and clean and kept clean throughout the whole week by the room cleaner.
The pool was big, quite cold but if you jump in quick you soon get used to it. All the bar staff around the pool are great, always walking around collecting glasses and offering to get drinks, they always seem to be working very hard all hours.
Never a problem getting a sunbed.
The beach was our favourite place as it was quieter and has more of a breeze, we didnt use the beach bar as where we sat it was a bit far we just took a drink ready down with us.
Definately a good tip is to take some sort of beach shoes if you want to get in the sea and have a swim, I did attempt it without and there was a few sharp edges around the small coral pools.
The entertainment was ok. It does get a little repetative, the kids disco does the same songs every night but the children enjoy it and Manwell is brilliant with the little ones so it is bareable and quite cute to watch even if you dont have children.
The singer is ok but we did hear the same songs a few times, I wouldn't say personally it was really my thing and 2 nights we decided to give it a miss and stay in a watch a few films. The animation team try hard to get people involved in lots of different things throughout the day around the pool and in the evening. They are quite helpful and all very friendly. The one bad point was the comedy show, it wasn't really comical and felt very awkward watching as quite a few people looking at one another as if to say 'are they being serious' but cant hate for trying.
All the staff work hard around in the evening too, Sam always made sure we had a drink and the tables were clean. They seem to always be working but are always happy!
The food is ok, there is alot of choice, I feel it would be unfair for me to comment as both of us are quite fussy eaters so just stuck to pasta and bread.
We did venture out to Port Galib one evening, the bus takes you there at 9pm - 11pm which we thought was a bit late so got a taxi from the hotel earlier.
DONT get a taxi unless your happy to put your life in danger! It was dark, in the desert, the driver didnt talk once, had the interiour light on, fulled beamed every passing car or lorry and drove in middle of the road. You are much safer on a bus/coach.
The shops are all quite samey, we used the in house shops, walked over to the 5-6 shops at the end of the drive and even went into the hotel next door shops. Their selling technique is poor. One man asked me if i wanted anything and i said no a few times and told him i was just looking and he then said he would come and look with me, if they left you to look on your own they would probably get more sales but instead they hound you when looking and I personally got annoyed and brought nothing home.
The staff are all very respectful but the men outside the hotel are very pervy. Shops/Port Galib/ Airport anywhere but the hotel they were forever staring and telling me how beautiful I was, it was awkward and i know my boyfriend did not like it.
Over all the hotel is lovely, if your worried about it being dirty or a bit worn there is no need, its kept very well and there is always someone willing to help with any questions.
We liked the hotel and beach but Egypt isnt really a country we would want to return to, it was nice for a short winter break.

Room Tip: Pool view, you may feel slightly isolated from everything if your far away, we enjoyed a bit of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Marsa Alam airport - through in ten mins, 5 minute drive to hotel. cant get much better than that.

Hotel is really nice, reception, pool, rooms, bar , everything is really nice and clean. Sunbeds are good too! TV with Enlgish channels, nice bathrooms and good A/C!

Snorkeling at the end of the jetty was amazing, definitely recommend to anyone. Went on Thomson snorkeling trip, swam with giant see turtles, this was awesome. You were like a meter away from them and they were the size of like a sofa!

We smoked at Shisha pipe a couple of times too, this is a right laugh (you dont need to be a smoker and theres no tobacoo) it costs $5 to keep it the whole night.

Only let down to the hotel was the food, the food was nice, its just that it wasnt hot and there wasnt enough choice. Also the staff were not very good in the restaurant.... took ages to bring you a drink, and there wasnt really any 'service'.

Overall for the price we paid it was really good, the weather was like 28,29 everyday, which is awesome fro November!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved this hotel so much last year we decided to return again for another week, stayed 7th to 14th November, weather was lovely. Arrived at hotel to be greeted by Amr Ashraf at reception who said "Welcome back", it was a joy seeing Amr again as he is just excellent at his job & it was such a lovely welcome from him. We were giving a room upgrade to 3011 a lovely spacious sea view room, this was kept very clean by our room boy Mohamed. Food again was very good, so many choices. We were not hassled around the pool just a polite "no thank you" & they don’t bother you again. We attended the cocktail party on Monday & the food was divine & a good time to meet other nice guests. We ate in Ziet Zatoon Restaurant, the food was divine so we went twice in a week, well worth the extra cash. When we left the hotel all reception staff & animation team all came out to say goodbye & wave the GB flag as we departed, another lovely gesture, well it was sad to leave but im so looking forward to return again late next year for another winter break & so hoping to see Amr as manager as he so deserves it, Thank you all at the Resta Grand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa, Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
396 Spacious, comfortable guest rooms, fitted with modern amenities• Standard single room: 46 sqm• Twin room: 46 sqm• Family room: 52 sqm• Individually controlled air conditioning• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV• Satellite television• Hairdryer• Iron and ironing board upon request• Safety deposit box• Mini bar• Tea & Coffee making facilities• Sound system and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resta Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.