We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantazia, Fantazia Fantastica!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantazia Resort

Save Saved
You added Fantazia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fantazia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam | Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam, Red Sea- Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 hotels in Marsa Alam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantazia, Fantazia Fantastica!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our 3th time in Fantazia. And again the whole staff gave us a feeling of being very special guests! But we also realize that all the staffmembers works incredible hard and make many hours to take care of the guests. And we are very grateful for that.
(we only missed Sonia and Roman, who we meet last Christmas!!)
Beautifull reef; good beach; big swimmingpool; clean en large room; good restaurant; good Spa and fittness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    517
    120
    42
    16
See reviews for
711
300
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived at 9.30 in the morning. Appreciated the welcome drink at reception served by a very nice barman.
Then that's were the 'cons' start;
We were told check in being at 14.00 that they do have rooms ready but would really appreciate tips in exchange to give it to us. We paid. Were lead to our room which was a twin whereas we had requested a double bed with one mattress. We told our porter that we want to return to reception to change room. He refused, said no problem I'll push your beds together, which he did promptly. We were not satisfied as there was an obvious gap in between, and I thought it would help to call reception from the room to ask for a room change. They told me that was not possible, but they would send someone over to push the two beds together... We gave up at that point, a bit bitter. We were told later that normally they provide you with a bottle of water a day in the room, but we didn't get it on our arrival day. We again went to reception to claim it and it was sent in 5 minutes to our room... But we already had the feelings we were less than welcome at the reception.
We also asked to be changed room to one on the first floor because we like to sleep with open window and didn't feel completely safe being on the ground floor. Actually one night we left cigarettes and lighter on the table of our 'balcony' and it was gone in the morning. We were said they would try to find an available room for us and call back, which never happened...

As for the restaurant, the food was ok, and we enjoyed the fresh salads. However, here as well the service was disappointing.
We were all inclusive so we went to the same restaurant for breakfast, lunch, dinner... Our waiter was nice the first 2 days, asking us what we'd like to drink and clearing our table from empty plates. Then on the 3rd day, he seemed very busy, so my boyfriend went to the bar of the restaurant to get our drinks. Our waiter saw him, made an angry comment, and ever since that moment ignored us for the rest of our stay!!! And no other waiter ever came either! This plus the fact that the animation team was speaking only Italian, only inviting Italians to join the parties or animation (they talked to us once and when they found out we don't speak Italian they looked very disappointed, finished their brief as fast as they could looking around with hurried looks, and never talked to us again) we felt a tad "ignored" there!

We also got to meet the owner very briefly (he also seemed very disappointed when he saw we are not Italians) who, instead of asking if we enjoyed our stay, talked during 5 minutes about how wonderful his hotel is, 90% occupancy (still wonder then why they could not change our room) then left without looking back!)

Last bad thing: when we visited the sauna, we were told the use of the indoor pool is free... until someone corrected the information saying it is, but only for Italians!!

And now the "pros"
I should say the facilities and amenities are great, beautiful, calm, the hotel is very well taken care of, the Housekeepers are more service-oriented than receptionists, and they do great job, the rooms are nice and comfortable, the bed was extremely comfy (despite having a gap in the middle), and some people were marvelous: Mahmoud Ali (the waiter at the swimming pool), the lobby bar waiters were very nice as well, (especially Shaban and the short man with a little mustache) we loved the cold swimming pool, and enjoyed snorkeling a lot! We swam with inoffensive purple gelly fish, saw a turtle, and beautiful fish..
There was always a nice spot waiting for us with two sunbeds, either at the swimming pool or at the beach, it was never overcrowded, we always had privacy, and we overall spent most of our time reading, swimming, drinking Cuba Libre with no ice cube, and relaxing.

I think we will return though, but we will triple check prior to our stay which room we can get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milowka, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is located 85 km from Marsa Alam International Airport and 25 kilometers from the Marsa Alam. Upon arrival, I found out that in the hotel is "Fantazia time", it was an hour later than in Egypt. In practice, even before sunrise, which was 6.30 Egyptian time, I could eat breakfast. One day when I came at 7, the waiter said that I'm too early, after determining what time is it in Egypt, and what time is it in the hotel, and when the start breakfast I could have a cup of morning coffee. The hotel is located on the beach, after descending from the bridge we could see the coral reef. Next to the hotel is the dive center, which organizes trips for diving and snorkeling. You could go for a ride on the camels and horses or quad. There was a rich entertainment program. Starting from the morning aquagym, dance lessons on the beach, by the pool quiz / in Italian / until the evening entertainment. One of the pools with a bar was heated, so the water was about 26 ° C. There was a huge difference when one day the water in the pool was not heated and was only 22 º C. Oh, it was difficult to go to the water at such a temperature, in windy weather. I loved the taste of food, you could practically eat all day if it were only the power and wish. Meals were in the dining room, in the bar at the pool and in beach bar. You could relax on the beach or by the pool, in sunbeams. Fantazia time passed very quickly and after a week I had to go back to normal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I feel happy for we got everything we had wanted to get from the trip. The absence of any hotels around makes the place ideal for long walks near the sea.

The beach is clean, and the lagoon prevents waves from hitting swimmers against the jetty ladder, bruise free snorkelling is guaranteed =) The coral reef is rich and alive but, not in the lagoon itself but approximately 200 yards away, on both sides of it. We swam with turtles and took wonderful underwater photos.

The garden is well-trimmed. How do they manage to keep those plants alive in the middle of the Sahara? I asked a gardener, but my Arabic classes at school shouldn't have been played truant that often. =(

We enjoyed the food, which is a rare case in Egypt - no tummy bugs at all. Well done meat and poultry, as well as crabs were tasty. However, three times I noticed undercooked chicken and fish. =(
There were plenty of vegetables, salads made from them and fresh fruits. For pancake lovers it will be a feast, hardly ever did we enjoy such delicious round ones. The waiters are fast and friendly, a $ enhances these qualities by 15% =)

The hotel guests are all from Europe; I saw no local families. Most of the guests, except for Italians and Russians, speak English. We made friends with two wonderful Dutch couples.

You might like loud Italian talk-shows next to the pool bar. Language expertise isn't required, for it is all not about figuring out their meaning but pure expression of Southern temper and love for life itself. At first I hated their noise but finally ended up as their devoted viewer. They well compensate for the lack of the animation team's determination. Right, the animateurs take it all easy out there,

There's a free, well-equipped gym and a spa-salon (I heard not all people were satisfied with the spa service).

What a joy not to have free wi-fi. We saved 60 euros and a whale of nerves by not reading online news about euro-crisis (haven't noticed any signs of it on the guests' faces either, it might be well - staged mass hysteria in the media ?) The TV in our room was also out of sight - out of mind, isn't it healing?

All in all - the hotel is ideal for yoga, meditation, reading, snorkelling and watching the world going by. Ideal value for this money (15 days, all-inclusive, two people, 1000 euros for both of us). Good holidays to all good people!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the power station, which makes noise. Better to get one to the left from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Bizarrely has its own time zone "I'm not joking" known as Fantazia time. It is 1hr ahead of Cairo time.... Strange !!

Stayed while working in the area so didn't get to use the pool or most facilities. Poor service at the bar and wouldn't pour more than a small glass of beer at any one time.
Food was also a bit bland but is usual for Egypt ?

Would I return... Not if I was paying myself!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefiore dell'Aso, Italy
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was fabulous. Really well located, fantastic beach, superb coral reef snorkelling directly from the beach, pool complex amazing, food quality and selection outstanding. I would recommend this resort unreservedly. We went for some 'early winter sun' (7-10 November) and got it. 28 degrees every day, not a cloud. The staff were really attentive too. It is why I say is was difficult to fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

EDDY & PASCALE from Belgium:
we stay in the hotel from 24-05-2012 - 07-06-2012
our holiday in the hotel was super.
relax hotel - the food was great - nice coral reef - beautiful rooms - great swimming pools - everything super cleaning.
thanks to the boss ISMAIL.
thanks to gast relations MATHILDE.
GREETINGS TO THEM FROM EDDY & PASCALE
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX maybe till next year.

Room Tip: we stay in room 4244 quite room on the first floor seavieuw great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantazia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantazia Resort

Address: Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam | Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam, Red Sea- Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#5 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fantazia Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantazia Resort Marsa Alam features 700 yards of private beach area and is 15 miles from Marsa Alam City. It has 3 swimming pools, 6 restaurants and bars and a diving school. All rooms and suites at Fantazia have a furnished balcony with sea view. Each room has a small sitting area with a flat-screen TV and a minibar. The bathroom includes a hairdryer and a shower. A breakfast and lunch buffet is served daily at Fantazia Restaurant, while an Italian dinner is served at Valentina Restaurant. Cocktails are available at Lobby Bar and Lagoon Beach Bar. Room service is available 24 hours. Fantazia Resort offers facilities for tennis, volleyball, gym and more. A wide range of tours is available, including horseback riding, diving and camel-back desert safaris by night. The Fantazia Resort is 5 miles from Marsa Alam Airport. Wi-Fi is available for a daily fee and free on-site parking is available. Ironing and laundry can be arranged by the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Fantazia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantazia Hotel Marsa Alam
Fantazia Resort Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantazia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.