We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fortnight in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantazia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fantazia Resort to your Saves list
Fantazia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam | Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam, Red Sea- Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fortnight in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I feel happy for we got everything we had wanted to get from the trip. The absence of any hotels around makes the place ideal for long walks near the sea.

The beach is clean, and the lagoon prevents waves from hitting swimmers against the jetty ladder, bruise free snorkelling is guaranteed =) The coral reef is rich and alive but, not in the lagoon itself but approximately 200 yards away, on both sides of it. We swam with turtles and took wonderful underwater photos.

The garden is well-trimmed. How do they manage to keep those plants alive in the middle of the Sahara? I asked a gardener, but my Arabic classes at school shouldn't have been played truant that often. =(

We enjoyed the food, which is a rare case in Egypt - no tummy bugs at all. Well done meat and poultry, as well as crabs were tasty. However, three times I noticed undercooked chicken and fish. =(
There were plenty of vegetables, salads made from them and fresh fruits. For pancake lovers it will be a feast, hardly ever did we enjoy such delicious round ones. The waiters are fast and friendly, a $ enhances these qualities by 15% =)

The hotel guests are all from Europe; I saw no local families. Most of the guests, except for Italians and Russians, speak English. We made friends with two wonderful Dutch couples.

You might like loud Italian talk-shows next to the pool bar. Language expertise isn't required, for it is all not about figuring out their meaning but pure expression of Southern temper and love for life itself. At first I hated their noise but finally ended up as their devoted viewer. They well compensate for the lack of the animation team's determination. Right, the animateurs take it all easy out there,

There's a free, well-equipped gym and a spa-salon (I heard not all people were satisfied with the spa service).

What a joy not to have free wi-fi. We saved 60 euros and a whale of nerves by not reading online news about euro-crisis (haven't noticed any signs of it on the guests' faces either, it might be well - staged mass hysteria in the media ?) The TV in our room was also out of sight - out of mind, isn't it healing?

All in all - the hotel is ideal for yoga, meditation, reading, snorkelling and watching the world going by. Ideal value for this money (15 days, all-inclusive, two people, 1000 euros for both of us). Good holidays to all good people!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the power station, which makes noise. Better to get one to the left from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    578
    136
    46
    20
See reviews for
785
343
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Bizarrely has its own time zone "I'm not joking" known as Fantazia time. It is 1hr ahead of Cairo time.... Strange !!

Stayed while working in the area so didn't get to use the pool or most facilities. Poor service at the bar and wouldn't pour more than a small glass of beer at any one time.
Food was also a bit bland but is usual for Egypt ?

Would I return... Not if I was paying myself!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montefiore dell'Aso, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was fabulous. Really well located, fantastic beach, superb coral reef snorkelling directly from the beach, pool complex amazing, food quality and selection outstanding. I would recommend this resort unreservedly. We went for some 'early winter sun' (7-10 November) and got it. 28 degrees every day, not a cloud. The staff were really attentive too. It is why I say is was difficult to fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

EDDY & PASCALE from Belgium:
we stay in the hotel from 24-05-2012 - 07-06-2012
our holiday in the hotel was super.
relax hotel - the food was great - nice coral reef - beautiful rooms - great swimming pools - everything super cleaning.
thanks to the boss ISMAIL.
thanks to gast relations MATHILDE.
GREETINGS TO THEM FROM EDDY & PASCALE
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX maybe till next year.

Room Tip: we stay in room 4244 quite room on the first floor seavieuw great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

5* swimming-pools, 4* rooms, beautiful coral reef all along hotel beach but food-wise it is a joke. Do not take me as a newbe, I've been to Egypt 12 times already.

This was the worst eating experience ever in Egypt.
I am used to rather blant "international" cuisine served in most hotels in Egypt but it was unusually monotonious, tasteless, limited choice-wise offer ever witnessed.

Pasta, smelly fish, rice, potatoes and veg in various gravy served every day.
No Arabic food, no Italian (except that pasta) throughout 2 weeks, even chicken was a rare thing (grilled one served only once during my 2 weeks stay).

For lunch Gazebo bar (otherwise nice and spacious, located between the swimming pools and the beach) served hamburgers every day, except for Tuesdays when a hot-dog was served.
As for salads it was the usual Arab offering of cut tomatoes, cucumber, letucce, olives plus remaining items from yesterday like baked eggplant in oil mixed with pieces of breakfast sausages!
As for water: you get one 1/2 litre bottle on arrival per room and you can fill it up only after midnight. Throughout the day it is prohibited to fill up the bottles from bars' distributors - you can do it only from corridor distributors which are available only from midnight to 8 am (for the rest of day they are locked in service rooms). Unbelievable you say? Well, come and check yourself....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Fantazia is the best resort in Marsa Alam!!!
we travel o fantazia resort from 24 of December till 9 of January.
It has beautiful design, vonderful big territory, the room was very cleaned,reception staff were very helpful and profesional an the garden is very beautiful,the food is tasty ,beach is very big with beautiful view and very collerful fish and some sandy and some coral, the animation was very profesional and do very good activites for all the guest. so we were so happy there and we will come back....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I’ll try to present „naked” fact only:
Hotel location, wonderful because quiet, isolated and pretty. Disadvantage – it’s in the middle of desert, you don’t have any shops outside of the hotel so you need to buy everything in the hotel at rip off prices. Medicine, you over pay 200 or more percent.
Beach is nice for the Egypt standards with a very nice access where you don’t even need boots. Also wonderful jetty for snorkelers and divers, also for swimmers of course. Diving there is just another story, absolutely extraordinary and excellent, so if you go to dive only than it’s great choice.
Rooms and other facilities – very clean and very beautiful, staff very polite and friendly, trying their best to help. Pool bar tender extraordinary.
Animation – night mare if you are not Italian or Italian speaking. Everything is in Italian and Italian only, they don’t speak any other language starting with English. If you hope for some fun at night – forget about it. Anyways 80 % of gests are Italians. If you are with kids that want to attend mini disco be prepare that every evening it will start at different time and you never know, whether they will start earlier or be late as usual.
Food – disappointing comparing to other Egyptian hotels I have visited, poor quality of food, even Italian pasta in the evening, when you couldn’t find anything else eatable was few times rare, not “aldente” but simply not cooked. I am not picky, love Egypt and know what to expect but it was to pore. Another outrages thing was that water was limited. You received one 1,5l bottle on arrival, but after that you had to buy water. Of course all day you could drink as much as you wanted as they had water dispensers available in all bars and restaurants, but refilling bottles was not allowed, so for the brushing teeth you had to pay or break the rules – none of which is pleasant. Coming to water – be very careful, we are traveling to Egypt every year or sometimes twice a year for last 5 years with our little daughter. We always have the same routines and this time, for the first time, all our family got big stomach problems to the extent of visiting the doctor. I have suspicious that in the Lagoon Bar they had some problem with cleaning glasses, but it’s just a theory. Nevertheless we all got sick.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantazia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantazia Resort

Address: Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam | Red Sea 24km South Marsa Alam, Red Sea- Egypt, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fantazia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantazia Resort Marsa Alam features 700 yards of private beach area and is 15 miles from Marsa Alam City. It has 3 swimming pools, 6 restaurants and bars and a diving school. All rooms and suites at Fantazia have a furnished balcony with sea view. Each room has a small sitting area with a flat-screen TV and a minibar. The bathroom includes a hairdryer and a shower. A breakfast and lunch buffet is served daily at Fantazia Restaurant, while an Italian dinner is served at Valentina Restaurant. Cocktails are available at Lobby Bar and Lagoon Beach Bar. Room service is available 24 hours. Fantazia Resort offers facilities for tennis, volleyball, gym and more. A wide range of tours is available, including horseback riding, diving and camel-back desert safaris by night. The Fantazia Resort is 5 miles from Marsa Alam Airport. Wi-Fi is available for a daily fee and free on-site parking is available. Ironing and laundry can be arranged by the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fantazia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantazia Hotel Marsa Alam
Fantazia Resort Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantazia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.