We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Port Ghalib

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsa Alam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palace Port Ghalib
Save
You added The Palace Port Ghalib to your Saves list
PO Box 23 | Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Kaluga, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in InterConti on June 15-June 29, 2013.
This was not our first trip to Egypt, but this is the only hotel we would like to come back one day!

The rooms, the food, the beach, the sea were perfect! As for the service, they really do their best even though sometimes small mistakes happen. I'd like to highlight the names of two waiters in the main restarunt: Ahmed and Hussien, both are very responsible with a high level of ownership, good attitude to work. We wish them all the best in their careers! Reception worked perfectly.

Nevertheless some things should be improved, and mainly they refer to the management of the hotel. I hope the management can take these as recommendations.

1. Entertainment
We do understand that the concept of the hotel is calm, relaxing holiday for specific category of people. Still we believe it would be good if once a week the manager of the hotel has a small welcoming party for the just-arrived. This could promote more friendly atmosphere and smooth communication between those who wants.
We had this experience in Malasia and we should say it was very nice, very individual approach and we managed to find some interesting people there.

Please, make the Oriental program more diverse. It is obviously boring to see the same shows with the same people 2-3 times per week. Enlarge your evening program while keeping it relaxing.

2. Use the oportunities
There is a wonderful SPA in the hotel, that should be promoted more actively. Discount day?
There are bowling, billiard and other opportunities in the Port. Why not offer anything with disscount?
There must be an activity board updated daily. And some activities should also take place. Of, course, there is Crown Plaza, but all activities are held there in Italian.

3. Use more of Guest relations desk
It is obviously not enough to ask "How are you?, Good, What is you room number?" to keep the statistics.

We hope that by our next visit the managent of the hotel will have taken our recommendations in account.

Marsa Alam is a wonderful place (not worse then Maldives) and our vacation was splendid!
Keep InterConty standards!

Best Wishes from Nina and Andreas!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    162
    46
    14
    4
See reviews for
235
445
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Short visit due to unfortunate circumstances but will Definately return.
This hotel has class! luxury & staff that make you feel special as soon as you arrive. Everything about this hotel screams 5*. PLEASE DO NOT GO ALL INCLUSIVE!

Thank you all for your kindness shown!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our second visit in one year! We fell in love with the location and charming quiet environment of the Red Sea. Spacious rooms,clean bedroom and bathrooms,clean enjoyable beach with very helpful staff. If you are after parties and noise,then this is NOT your hotel. Only seekers of serenity should check in this hotel.The only means of entertainment is the Marina,which is quite close to the hotel.t boasts a lot of shops selling traditional souvenirs and spices,TGI Fridays.Costa and supermarket.Highly recommended after dinner for a pleasant niht walk.The whole city is safe.Too bad the media doesnt show it.

The hotel is,indeed,5 stars in everything,particularly its staff. From Mr. Hatem Kamal,who was literally every where we went! A very active and cheerful young Front Desk manager:thank you for everything you did to make our stay as comfortable as possible.Mr. Mohamad Salama,since you became Food and Beverage Manager, this hotel had greatly improved in the quality of food and drinks since February. This is besides your courteous manners, helpful attitude and cheerful face.Mr. Ahmad Shawky at the reception desk,who managed to fit us in the hotel after one hasty phone call-we were originally to spend our vacation at Movenpick Al Quessier,but decided to flee to Intercontinental The Palace after an unexpected problem that was dealt with horrible management. So thank you so much. Last but not least,Chef Magdy for his relentless efforts to make our dining experiences as comfortable as possible and Chef Amr,at the egg station,you have enticed us with your omelettes and Ful,traditional fava beans,dishes.Big thanks to Raouf,Mohammad (the tall thin dark waiter) and Hussien who are all hard workers at waiting our table.


Honestly,this is one hotel that you actually feel home away from home via actions not just slogans. Thank you every one,and hopefully we will meet again in February!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aswan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! What a wonderful hotel! Real beauty.Great meeting facilities, meetings dealing with my child minora. We spent a wonderful holiday. Team work is very wonderful, in the interim, great views and good food good entertainment in the evening. Can be no better place to unwind and relax. Excellent diving. Perhaps the best in Egypt. Pristine very clean, unlike Sharm El Sheikh, Hurghada. Hotel not to be missed..........

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Interco mid May and it was a wonderful experience.
We choose for half pension which was an excellent choice as 1. the food was devine at the hotel 2. Port Ghalib is a bit of a ghost town and I would't have enjoyed eating there every night even if it's a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
We choose that desitnation to enjoy the sun and relax, it was a great succes. We enjoyed the sea (wonderful fishes!) and the Spa.
The Spa was a very nice experience but prices are on the high end.
If ever you are staying in Marsa Alam I would certainly advise that hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my 2nd time in this hotel.
I love this place, it is a really special "bijoux" in the world. The resort is beautiful, the pools, the rooms, the restaurants are clean and luxury.
The staff is very competent and cheerful, especially at beach, in the restaurant and in snack bar.
The food is different every day, with a neat presentation.
I went there with my children and i felt in security there.
At the pier and at pool you have always a lifeguard.
The spa is absolutely divine.
The atmosphere is exclusive, calm and glamour
The reef is magic by snorkeling and by scuba dive as well. The position is extraordinary, even a little child will see the merveillous fishes and corals directly by swimming near the beach in a little beat of water without any danger.
My children made the scuba SSI first level and I dive with a trip in the boat of extra divers company . You can do from the hotel directly, they take care of you and drive at the center for the equipement with a golf car.
You can go by foot to port ghalib at just 50 meters, to have a walk or shopping.
You can easier organise lot of trip with the hotel or directly to port ghalib
I am dreaming yet to go back there ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbeek, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The second year in a row we went to The Palace for un unforgettable vacation. A fabulous hotel, great service and friendly staff. Although everything was still at a very high level; there were two things that had changed since last year. The private beach wasn't private anymore (rented to an Italian travel agency), it was crowded with loud Italians and we had to use the beach of another hotel to find the peace we experienced last year. Sundays diner was a menu instead of buffet, on 2 different Sundays we had the same entrée; please stick to the buffet. Nevertheless, we had a great vacation and will certainly be back at the end of 2013.
A special thanks to Hassan (Customer Relations) who always appreciates feedback and is always there to help; and Mohamed El Mehy (Pool bar) who makes the pool bar a fun place to go back to with his service and enthusiasm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.1 mi away
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort
14.6 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Siva Port Ghalib
Siva Port Ghalib
#28 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#2 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#19 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#3 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Port Ghalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Port Ghalib

Address: PO Box 23 | Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. The Palace Port Ghalib is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. The Palace Port Ghalib features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Pool Deck offering Lebanese cuisine, a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, with superb views over the glistening Red Sea and the swimming pool. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, the award winner Six Senses Spa, Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. The Palace Port Ghalib is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Port Ghalib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.