We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Antwerp
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been in Port Ghalib for 10 days in April 2013. We had an excellent holiday in the InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort. This is a very beautiful hotel with the most friendly and hard working staff. We had a standard room which was perfect, breakfast was very good but dinner was of an exceptional high quality. The resort is a place where you can relax, it is never too busy around the pool and it is an excellent location to go snorkling. This hotel is highly recommended and we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    118
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
193
369
41
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had stayed in Intercontinental Port Ghalib over May bank holiday 2013 and it was fabulous. Firstly the hotel itself is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport so as soon as you get there you can enjoy the beach&sun straight away without prior spending an hour in transfer. The same applies to departure and check out; literally on our last day we enjoyed the beach time till last minute (there is not much to do in Marsa Alam airport with handful of duty free shops after immigration). Secondly the hotel is nicely located between two Crown Plazas in large complex of Port Ghalib and offers not only 5* luxury but foremost very individual tailored approach towards its clients. The service was first class and if I would like to name those who assisted us and made our stay so enjoyable I had to put long list of names. Instead it would be suffice to say than all staff were great but those who excel was our housekeeper Mr Karem (whom on last day I gave my snorkeling fins as a gift), Mr Hatem Kamal who organized our airport pick up and Mr Ibrahim Ahmed who professionally managed our reservations and prepared everything prior to arrival. Thank you all and also big thanks to F&B manager Mr Mohammed for his customer service and also our favorite waiter Mr Mohammed Fahry for his spot on daily service. Overall the fact that we memorized names of all these people in my opinion speak itself for the high level of individual service they provided.

Practical information:

1/ If you could get an upgrade to superior room. We enjoyed standard but next time we'll try get the suite overlooking the sea.

2/ During dinner the drinks are served from the menu-please ask waiter on first day about it. The size of glasses are impressive however not the amount of wine they pour into it (in my opinion it was about 175ml) for the price of LE50 (about £5). The local bottle of red or white (both very good) were price over LE200 (£20). For the privilege of being served in 'al fresco' restaurant under the star night and surrounded with palm trees it was worth it. BTW water is also charged during dinner (LE19) which is little odd as you get the same water FOC during the day.

3/ It's good to have a bunch of small USD notes for tipping the staff. Euro coins are worthless.

4/ Invest in good quality snorkeling set. There is no point of going to such a marine paradise with mask worth £10 and fins from prep school (and yet most of guests used this sort of kits). If you could afford get free diving set and save money on diving with full equipment (not worth the hassle to dive on 5-7 meters).

Have a good time in Egypt.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on first, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A perfect place for relaxing and charging your batteries. The hotel has a nice pool and an even nicer reef. We had read some of the negative reviews about the food which had lowered our expectations. Upon arrival we were both positively surprised. When it comes to the prices for food and beverages it's not the slightest higher than on any other five star hotel I've stayed at. The staff is extremely friendly and committed.

Since the area around Port Ghalib hasn't been fully developed yet it feels a bit like a ghost town. Perfect if you want a nice and quite vacation but don't expect any night life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very good hotel ,it seems new as well. It is huge with a big lagoon and multiple pool, would be great retreat after a diving trip or just going there enjoying the resort.
It is also close to the airport (less than 10 min) and walking distance to the Marina , where u can find some shops (food..etc) and Scuba .
The hotel stuff is very friendly and rooms and spacious and clean.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel really lives up to its name ("the Palace"): You are king of the castle and you will be treated as such! The team at the InterContinental is really doing everything possible to give you an unforgettable stay! The service is of an inimitable high level. Other hotels (worldwide) can still learn something!
The hotel exudes luxury, the rooms are big, the location very well maintained, the buffet has a different theme every night (Indian, Oriental, bbq), the level of housekeeping is very good.
But above all, we enjoyed the peace and quietness. Because it is not all-inclusive formula, and slightly more expensive, a different kind of tourist is visiting this hotel and you can enjoy your holiday in peace and relax. An absolute must for those who desire peace and luxury, and want to be taken care of during their stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

great hotel guest have to love
absolutely friendly and helpful staff
tasty theme buffets and top service
nice beach with wonderful underwater world
unforgettable experience
if you want to enjoy hight quality vacation in egypt thats one of the places!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was in Port Ghalib for the Eastern holidays this year and last year 2012.
I want to congratulate the InterContinental hotel with his great staff at the beach.
Especially Taher Yassen and his crew ! He was always ready to help whenever help was needed.
Information, first-aid, snorkling lessons, swimming etc... Everything you ask for, he will do with a smile He's one of the many people ( including his co-workers) that makes you are enjoying your stay at the beach even when it's cloudy weather !
Keep up the good work and take care of yourselves !
To the management of the hotel : This is a keeper !
Already i make reservation for november 2013.

Patricia (Belgium)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a Trip TripAdvisor review about InterContinental the Palace.
All of your kind comments have been shared with our management team and staff in particular Taher from our recreation team who you took the time to highlight by name as providing an excellent standard of customer service. Everybody here is delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again in November.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Address: Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Budour's Court offering Lebanese cuisine, and the Pool Deck offering a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, one bar and a club with superb views over the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.