We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bârak Allahu fîkum (thank you)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
“Bârak Allahu fîkum (thank you)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Yesterday we came back from a perfect holiday in the Palace intercontinental in Port Ghalib. This luxurious hotel gave us the perfect relaxed holiday we needed. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. It was nice and quiet, not crowded with people. Beatiful decorated hotel, nice architecture.
Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the terrace with a view over the pool and the sea. A great start of the day. Barakat, Ahmed, Raouf gave all the attention needed. I especially liked the fresh fruit and the small pancakes made by the cook Salâh.
The reef at the sea offered a variety of beautiful fish and coral. On the first day we saw a seaturtle. You could spend the day on the beach under a kind of umbrella , in long deckchairs with cushions. Towels are provided. Next to the hotel is the Crown Plaza, with a beautiful reef as well. No problem to go there. There are also possibilities to make daytrips to other reefs in the area, no need to be bored.
Our room was spacious, well equiped with a separate shower (nice and big) and bath. Comfortable beds, safe, minifridge, tv, fauteuil, balcony, in short, everything one could wish for...and should you miss something, the personnel is always willing to help you.
The fact that there is no all-inclusive is a big plus, because the big tourist crowds stay away and now you can choose whether to eat at the Olive restaurant (to be honest the buffet is nice, but not great) or to go to the Pool deck restaurant or to the Italian restaurant Di Vino in the Marina nearby (excellent Italian food, friendly people, good prices) or even to have a simple fastfood at the Pizzahut or the TGI friday restaurant. I think there will be more variety of restaurants in the future...There are also two restaurants at the side of the Crown Plaza, but we didn' t go there.
We want to thank Nina, Hatim, Ibrahim, Ahmed and all the others who gave us a special feeling that we were treated as VIP’s.
Bârak Allahu fîkum , shoekran jazîlan … un grand merci wa ila l-liqâ !!

Ed and Anja

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our hotel facilities ; Food ; services and staff attitude, which I have shared with my team.
Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the guests expectations .
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    120
    30
    9
    1
See reviews for
194
371
42
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend was there for one week wich i regret that we didn't stay longer. I have traveled a lot but this was the first time in Egypt for me. And there is a lot of sand there so you have to stay at a nice hotel. The first impression was OMG. This is a Palace. They have people who helps you with anything you need from the reception, hotel manager, to restaurant chef, pool guy and so on. Imad can help you with your bags or drive you and he is close to the reception.Everyone was so kind and happy there. They have a spa and i did a massage. They have so high standard and you feel relax just by going inside the spa. Katarina gaved me massage and she was really good. The food was also over our expectations. For breakfast they had anything you can imagine. On the evening they also had buffé and again a lot of different tastes. From Seafood, chicken, ,meet, all vegtebals. You could even do your own pasta by picking out ingredients and a chef made it all. The service from the restaurant was over the top. They'd come for you and make sure everything was good, if you needed anything more. Especially two guys named 'Raouf and Ahmed'. They were so kind and they did everything for you to make you feel good and enjoy your meal.
There was no party in the night wich feelt good for us cause we wanted just to relax. But they had some shows in the night while you eat dinner outside. And if you feel cold they have warm lamps. Its close to the airport and close to market uf you want some shopping. But i assure you that the hotel has everything. They even have some shopping near the spa. Also a nice gym. So if you want to workout they have every machines for that. Its close to the beach you can see it from the pool. There you can scuba diving,snorkling or just swim. We did snorkling and it was so beautiful. If you need anything else you can ask Dalia. She's always there making sure the guest are okey. We are definitely coming back soon beacuse it was the best hotel i have been to and i have traveled a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your OMG and detailed review. The entire team is pleased to note that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Your explanation about the food varieties which was also over your expectations(buffet of Seafood, chicken, ,meet, all vegtebals nice selection of bread and very happy that you loved and appreciate our service... your comments about beach and pool is very detailed and nice...
I have passed on your comments to the entire team and we all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you, your family and friends back more often in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perfect Hotel for stay,
spa experience perfect,
beach with coral reef wonderful,
private beach
staff professional
Second stay , march 2012 and january/february 2013
Intention to spent next winter again a fortnight a the hotel

Room Tip: almost all rooms are good situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you will be coming back again and look forward to welcoming you soon at your second home.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My son and I with friends had a fabolus week in January at the Palace. The room was quite large with a nice bed. Wee had exelent service from all staff. Nina at guest relations really made our week helping us with diving istructor and diving boat. The diving sights in Maras Alam is amazing. We kan also recomend the six senses spa,it´s really a high classy spa. The food in the resturant was for Egyptian standard exelent, nice and fresch. If you like to spoil yourself and have a relaxing quiert vacation this is the place. Over all the palace hotel is a true pearl in the Egyptian desert. We will for sure come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our service and staff attitude, which I have shared with them. Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and i had a lovely stay at the Palace. From arival till departure, i could'nt fault
anything about the service, staff, room, cleanlyness. The building and grounds have a very impressive architecture and invites to enjoy. Everybody is extremaly helpfull. Although, we were glad we booked B&B, as we thought the food was with moments average. We had twice the eveningbuffet and didn't enjoy it at all.The food was cold, overcooked and no good quality, more like a 3star hotelbuffet. So we ate most times at the a la carte resto and at the port in resto "il vino" (fantastic food). We had the feeling, there was every day an other chef in the hotel, as the quality went up and down..... Nevertheless, we had a great stay. I would come back, but on B&B again.

Room Tip: Ask in advance a room with a furnitured terras, not all rooms have
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your nice comments about our service and staff attitude and I’m very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We value your feedback and we will certainly work on improving our food and even more, appreciated the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us. Feedback such as yours allows us to continually improve and correct ourselves as we strive to exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back and please allow us to offer you a unique memorable experience this time.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Been guest at The Palace twice, last time in Januari 2013. I regard this as my second home.....Why ??? Because the staff is excellent, very very serviceminded. Look after you in all perspectives. The settings are marvellous just on the sandy beach and if your are into marine life you can`t find a more amazing, untouched reef just along the shore 2-3km long. Will suit all levels from beginners to more advanced snorklers, free divers and scuba divers.
The Palace is decorated in a light and balanced way, I just love to have breakfast in front of the grandious pool with the marvellous ocean view. Food has really improved from last year, now there´s a theme every evening from various cousins and entertainment couple evenings per week. There´s also a Six Senses Spa where to get the most advanced treatments you can wish for. The Spa staff are really excellent, you must try the Hamman Bath.
As mentioned all staff are really great, but If I am to point out one person who is doing an extraordinary superb work to look after all guests in Palace. Nina, the Guest Relation Manager is one of a kind, outstanding in all her effort to make you feel like home......she is taking care of all guests with there special needs in tremendous way. Without Nina the Palace would have lost a great part of the personal touch and feeling.
Do I recommend this place, ooooyeeeeesssss. You have to try it to believe it....

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view on each side of the center, where dining facilities is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our service and staff attitude, which I have shared with them. as well you enjoyed your SPA treatment....Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Never been to Egypt before but had not heard anything good about the place so when we found this hotel we thought we would give it a go based on its excellent reviews.

We flew with Thompson airlines which is never good and after a five hour flight, short for us as usually all our holidays are long haul only. Quite a good flight, drama free. We were met at the airport by a thompson rep who was very nice and helpful. Queued for a bit, didnt know why.
We were taken to the hotel by private taxi and were greated with a warm smile and friendly welcome. The hotel looks great, very clean and well kept. My wife asked about the coming weather as we arrived at night and the guy on reception quickly showed her on his mobile phone. We had booked a sea view room, for some reason thompson can only book twin rooms which is quite strange, we asked for a kingsize bed and the guy quickly offered us another room. He showed us both rooms and let us decide which one we wanted, we chose his selection 6329, a very beautiful room on a corner with both sea and pool views. Thank you.

I wont bore you but everything about this hotel is first class, the staff, the food the hotel itself. The grounds and location are stunning. Only slight negative is the pool looks a little tired but it was warm and very nice. We loved it here and would highly recommend it, if booking with Thompson book half board. The drinks were top brands and priced a bit higher than the UK but the end bill was not that expensive. We took two bottles of spirits with us and bought mixers, which are not expensive from the shop and the hotel, we had ice and glasses delivered to our room each day at 4.30 which was a nice touch, yes you can trust the ice. Water is put in your room each day but can also be bought very cheaply around the pool. We ate and drank plenty and felt very safe that standards were that high at the hotel we would not get sick. We were right, trust everything in this hotel it is done properly and you have no worries, we were not ill once. (My main reason for not wanting to visit Egypt)
The resort is a good distance away from the trouble spots of poor Egypt so is very, very safe. The staff are all great and cant do enough for you, I wont mention names. This is a great resort for couples who want a truly relaxing holiday with hassle or much entertainment.

We intend going again in September for a week as we loved it so much and its nice not having jet lag after a holiday. Please dont let the news stories scare you and put you off coming to Egypt, its a wonderful country and they need our support until things are sorted out.

Thankyou everyone at the resort for making our holiday great despite the cloudy days and the half day of rain, we will see you all again soon, God Bless

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your detailed comments which I have shared with our staff,
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strongly believe our beverage prices are competitively set and I do apologize if you found them to be expensive.
We value your feedback and, even more, the time and effort devoted to sharing it with us,
Once again Thank You for your sincere recommendation.
We are thrilled to hear that you will be coming back again and look forward to welcoming you soon at your second home.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Address: Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Budour's Court offering Lebanese cuisine, and the Pool Deck offering a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, one bar and a club with superb views over the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;