We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at a true 5 Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Marsa Alam
Darmstadt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience at a true 5 Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 week at the InterContinental in Port Ghalib. It was our first trip to Egypt and we were unsure what to expect.
The hotel is really great. It it a 5 Star standard also by western european standards. We booked a seaview room which was quite spacious and really nice decorated. Everything was nice and neat and extremly clean. Housekeeping comes at least 2 times per day and checks if anything needs to be tidied up. The view and balocony were really nice. The beach that belongs to the hotel is beautiful. They provide wooden beach chairs and tables, towels and 2 bottles of water per day for free. The best thing is the coral reef directly in front of the beach. You enter the sea through a pier and are directly surrounded by uncountable coulourful fish. We even saw a sea turtle that swam below us. So we did snorkeling for at least 2 hours every day because it is so nice and easy to access.
Staff at the hotel were outstanding and very friendly in a nice way without exception. We had half board and the location for breakfast and dinner ist really nice. You can sit outside and watch the pool and beach. The food itself was also good with a lot of varieties. They had themes evey night (Asian, BBQ, Oriental, etc.).
Port Ghalib itself is an artificial town and not much to do. The restaurants and shops at the marina are really empty and some have already closed. It is nice to walk around though and it is really safe because there are guarded entrance gates to the town. From the hotel it is just 1 minute to get to the marina where you can have a nice sundowner.One day we took a bike and explored the town.
So if you plan to relax and see the underwater life, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our service and hotel facilities, Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    95
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
150
315
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our 8th trip to Egypt and the 6th to the Marsa Alam / El Quseir region. By no doubt we stayed in the best hotel so far. Rooms clean and luxurious, Food divers, tasty and well prepared. After having been in AI hotels many times before it was so nice to be in a HB hotel. Drinks being served .... in a glass. It made us feel a lot more special, enhancing the holiday feeling.

Coming from cold Europe and being able to have dinner outside was very nice. Also the private beach with towl service (including a cooler with water) is a welcome additional feature.

For us, being divers, that was not the only reason to return to Port Ghalib. The other main reasons are: The House Reef, and, the nearby Extra Divers shop. The House Reef is a dream. With 2 jetty's to enter from you can spend 4-5 dives here. The local dive shop will drop you at the jetty (dive gear on the Golf Car) and pick you up when you return.
Like last time we also enjoyed a Scooter Fun dive.

Room Tip: We looked around and find all rooms to be quite similar. So it depends on whether you want a view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and evaluate your stay with us.
We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay among us and we are Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at your next Visit.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 young kids) just had a great long weekend at this hotel. It is by far the nicest beach location we have seen in Egypt and the hotel was outstanding. We had a wonderful stay. Beach was lovely and the access to coral and marine life does not get better. Hotel staff, especially Ahmed at the front desk, were very helpful. It does not get a 5 star from us as the food was just okay. It did not take away from a wonderful time. It was very easy for us to go running in the local area and we brought scooters and roller blades for the kids to enjoy the pathways. Rooms were beautiful and the decor of the hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing, perfect for families and worth the extra cost. A lovely king room with bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and passionate words, it's always a pleasure to have you in our resort waiting for more and more visits from you; I’m really glad to know that our service and staff attitude meet your expectation. I’m sorry to learn that you were disappointed from the food.
Feedback such as yours allows us to continually improve and correct ourselves as we strive to exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We came back from Marsa Alam the 27th of October and still enjoy thinking back of the wonderfull time we had at the Intercontinental Palace! The hotel is in one word fantastic! Well maintained, beautiful lobby, beach and sea (reef) are fantastic, service really good, hotel staff professional and kind, the food is for egyptian standerd very good.
It is the third time we go the Egypt and this hotel is by far the best stay we've had. We had a very relaxing holiday without having to stress about anything. Airport neareby so no long travel by bus. Nina gave us detailed info about what nice things to see. She even gave a guided tour of the hotel facilities (nice Six Senses Spa!). The Divers Club neareby also fantastic! We surely will recommend (and already recommended) the hotel to friends and family... and we would definately go back there ourselves!

Room Tip: We had a garden view room which was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and evaluate your stay with us.
We are pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay among us and we are Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at your next Visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsbybrunn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We just returned and I'll give my comments as long as they are still present.

The topmost advantages are the location with it's snorkel - reef in front of the hotel, the brilliant services of the service oriented stuff and the Six senses SPA. The SPA is a must : we enjoyed the traditional swedish massage as well as the amazing Hammam treatment!

Special thanks to Mr. Hassan Samir who solved every of our tiny problems / answered our questions immediately, very kindly and satisfactory.

A bit disappointing in international comparison was the boring food buffet at dinner time. Just giving each evening another theme but more or less the same main courses is not really challenging.

But the desserts at dinner and the breakfast have been very delicious. In addition the food at the pool bar is recommendable.

Room Tip: Seaside is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that we have been able to create favourable moments during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our resort and the entire team joins me in thanking you for choosing us for your special stay.
We sincerely hope you return in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great Hotels Guests Love?! At this Hotel, it turned out to be.. The Greatest Hotel Guests Adore!! Whatever you have in mind or expecting to get, trust me The Palace team will go beyond your thoughts and impress you BIG TIME !
Since the plane landed, Hassan, bell captain, was there to greet us and escort us to the shuttle. When you get to the Hotel, the whole ambiance takes you from a state of being to another World.. To a Palace Life. From the moment of the check-in, be sure that Ibrahim, Front Office Manager and of course his team, will not give you a chance to think, as they will do the job for you and guarentee you a relaxing time..JUST relaxation. And don't worry about your first impression as you will be amazed:
The room: Superbe! personalized to suit any style with perfect amenities and VIEW!
The Food: YAM! Best you can eat with different varieties and the Chefs always there to do it your Egyption-Way :) Thanks to the F&B team who's always there all the time
The Spa: It will become one of your Senses.. Try not to miss it!!
The Service: AAA+ !
The Beach and Pool: Thought i am in a movie! + A tip for everyone: InterContinental The Palace House Reef is the best! It is WAW; once you get to that other world under Water, especially with Adham, you will never want to come back to real World. And For sure Haitham is always there to guarentee your safe and have everything well arranged for YOU.
But most of all, what made it so special is for sure THE PEOPLE and when you get there you will reveal their Secret: THEIR SMILE! They are smiling all the time..everlasting smiles on all faces and nonstop Energy; Ibrahim, Hasan, Nina, etc. and you will find them everywhere all the time.. YOU ARE THE BEST.
Thank you Ibrahim and thanks for the whole team. You deserve billions of Merci for what our vacation turned out to be because of you!!

For People looking for a great taste in a perfect ambiance: You found the Place !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our service and staff attitude, which I have shared with them. Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is in one word beautiful, beach and sea are fantastic, service really good, hotel staff professional and kind, the food is for egyptian standerd ( we are from italy so spoiled with our kitchen!) really nice.
If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday with all the luxury you ask from a five star hotel, WITHOUT noisy animation music because you just want to enjoy the beautiful place, sea and beach, then this is the place to go to!!! I would definately go back there myself an recommand it to all my friends and family in holland and Italy!!!

Tanya & Massimo from tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the comments about our service, our facilities and our staff. we strongly appreciate your feedback which supports us.
I’m very happy that you liked our Unique Palace ;thank you for your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel
Address: Port Ghalib | Red Sea, Marsa Alam 23, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Budour's Court offering Lebanese cuisine, and the Pool Deck offering a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, one bar and a club with superb views over the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.