We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Rotterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A classy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I have spent a jolly agreable and beautifully sunny week by the Laguna.
Our room was spacious, well lit and all along has been kept clean and spotless.
I must confess that all the staff, including the managers were responding very well to all requests and ensured that the service was of the highest quality.
The food variety was very tasty and abondant. This is surely a hotel we will revisit and recommend to our friends

Room Tip: choose a room with sea or lagunaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    286
    115
    33
    17
See reviews for
253
352
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to Marsa Alam for a diving Holiday. Before we went we had some contact with the hotel regarding the birthday of one of our friends and Crowne Plaza was very helpfull to make this a great day.

When we arrived we had a warm and friendly welcome and after check-in we were transported to our rooms in clubcarts. We had 3 rooms next to eachother on ground level next to the lagune. The advantage for us was that we had room to dry our diving equipment could dry on the gras the last day.

The clearner was a nice man who created every day a new creation of some towels, He did a good job on the cleaning and always showed us a smile and he appriciated the compliments we made him. We took the opportunity to keep 1 room longer on our last day due to the fact we had late flight (this was possible for a little surcharge). Even then we received extra towels for 6 persons, without asking.

The food was good and full of variation: meat, fish, pasta, salades and deserts. If you can't find anything you like, then I don't know what you want else. Make sure you don't miss the bbq-stand near the bridge. The breakfast was complete with different types of bread, eggs, salades, cakes, dairy products and drinks. If you want anything to drink there is always a place nearby where you can get anything you like. Unfortunately there are allways people who think they are alone on the world and can pile up the food on their dishes and need to drink heavy liqour all day. My advice on this: ignore them, you're on holiday. The hotel-cooks will make sure they have replaced an empty plate for a full one.

The nearest diving school (extra divers) is outside the hotel in the harbor (approx 10 minute walk). If you need transport with your own diving equipment walk to the beach and look for the Extra Divers hut (next to the towel-switch-point and close to the beachbar). The man inside can call head office in the harbor, to get a club car to make the transport much eassier. The people at the diving school are very friendly. If you have 25 or more logged dives you can dive unguided at the house reef (our favorite part was the route crown plaze - interconti).

Our overall experience: we had a wunderfull trip with a lot of diving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Worst food i ever ate in any hotel , very bad quality and no refill in most of the time with only 1 or 2 main dish only also no activities to do in this resort and most of all the crew were tough and careless at any complain
I truly advice anyone not to go there

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Dina A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Very bad experience i had during 3 days , terrible service, flies allover the restaurants, no activities and regarding the food it was the worst with no varieties and bad qualities enough for a 2 stars hotel
Honestly this is the worst place ever to spend your vacation

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Dr-mohamed-moussa,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was there for one week in Januari. This was my third time in Egypt so I have atleast something to compare with. The hotel is excellent in many ways, especially their service. I made a trip to luxor that my traven agency arranged for about 1100 Euro, and with just a call to the reception the hotel made me a free breakfast bag to bring along on the bus, free wake up call 3:45 am and a free dinner bag since we came back late in the night.

The food and hygiene is good. I've been to Hurghada twice and have been sick both times for atleast one day. I never felt sick during my visit here. The hotel area is beautiful, with a lot of palm-tree's and multiple pools (lagoon, heated pool, lazy river and slide). All inclusive is recommended since there are not many other places to dine at in the area.

The heated pool was alot of fun for the children, and Crowne Plaza has a big and beautiful lagoon there as well with ocean water (not heated). They have activities there such as free to test scuba diving, which leads me to the next part of the review. The extra-divers shop is one of the best diving shops I've ever visited. I took a course in advanced diving while I was there, and they have it all, even the kind of diving you don't find everywhere such as nitrox and scooter diving.

The diving instructors are really good, and the house reef is reeeeally big. You can expect to see everything from dolphins if you are lucky, to beautiful corals.

I recommended hotel for people looking for:
+Relaxing holiday
+Swimming, Snorkeling and Diving
+Trips to other places around central and southern egypt such as Luxor
+ Families with children

I do NOT recommend this hotel for
+ Party vacation (there are basically no clubs or discos in the whole area)
+ Cheap shopping (no major bazars or stores here, only small shops which are kind of expensive, and the lack of competition makes it harder to haggle)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relation Officer at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Port Ghalib just before Marsa Alam is a superb resort with high grade aminities and three excellent hotels to chose from (I have not seen the fourth more pragmatic Marina Lodge yet)
From a bazar, to many large smiles, to top notch finishes, to the choice between good hotel restaurants or stepping out for a 5min walk to the marina and getting street price food at bistros or even Pizza Hut, the choice is yours.
The pools (including heated options) and the beach are very well done and maintained.
The Kids Club is also a great asset although its operating hours should be extended in my point of view and may be add an evening shift for parents keen on adults dinner.

The one weakness, which was not an issue but can become one, is the staff professionalism and experience. I've been staying at Priority Club hotels for years and know the high standards of training they usually have, this time I noticed several of the staff lacked the training or discipline in dealing with guests; from the Guest Relations Mgr who is glued to her desk sending emails vs attending to guests asking for help or even meeting guests around the hotel, to the recreation manager & concierge who are nice but knew nothing about the area and what is there to do to the restaurant waiters who argued with each other or some that were too friendly with the guests especially female guests. I didn't make a fuss of it, despite my interest in Priority Club hotels, this time as I felt pity for the low occupancy and thus income all must be enduring even during the usually peak season.
Again, this is not a major issue and I will definitely be returning during my next holidays to the same hotel.
The one thing I hope for though is that the rooms get equipped with Wifi in the near future, I was lucky to be close to the reception to pick its signal, but other rooms were supposed to use the LAN/Wired Cable which is not practical and going to the reception is not convenient

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs go to a 2nd floor room, the views are even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relation Officer at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments from your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands &Oasis.
Please rest assured that your remarks will be taken under consideration, and sent to the relevant departments. It is always helping us to improve the services we provide to all our guests.
We are happy to read you had a good time during your vacations in our Resort. We hope to see you again soon for another memorable stay in our hotel.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Heerenberg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visit this hotel in Nov. 2012 and we had a really great time because the weather was very good, we had 10days, 28°!!! The food was also good and our bedroom was clean and good. The waiter/waitress are very friendly and helpfull and we had a lot contact with Romany Lotfy. He was also very amusing ! The animation team(Olga, Luca, Justin, DJ-Bazooka, Anna) where also very friendly and helpfull to. Maybe we go back there but normally we go NEVER two times to the same hotel but this was really OK!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relation Officer at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Address: Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Getaway. Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort features 345 premier rooms - all beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate comfort. The resort offers a choice of two restaurants, Souq Al hana, the main restaurant serving International cuisines and Cardamom Mediterranean restaurant, serving Italian & Greek specialties. Two bars, the Pool Bar and Lobby Lounge & Bar and a discotheque with superb views of the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club, activity courtyard, and the Lazy River. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of retail outlets on the Corniche and a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam
Crowne Plaza Marsa Alam
Marsa Alam Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.