We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch it while you can, amazing resort at now super value prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #20 of 63 hotels in Marsa Alam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Catch it while you can, amazing resort at now super value prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Port Ghalib just before Marsa Alam is a superb resort with high grade aminities and three excellent hotels to chose from (I have not seen the fourth more pragmatic Marina Lodge yet)
From a bazar, to many large smiles, to top notch finishes, to the choice between good hotel restaurants or stepping out for a 5min walk to the marina and getting street price food at bistros or even Pizza Hut, the choice is yours.
The pools (including heated options) and the beach are very well done and maintained.
The Kids Club is also a great asset although its operating hours should be extended in my point of view and may be add an evening shift for parents keen on adults dinner.

The one weakness, which was not an issue but can become one, is the staff professionalism and experience. I've been staying at Priority Club hotels for years and know the high standards of training they usually have, this time I noticed several of the staff lacked the training or discipline in dealing with guests; from the Guest Relations Mgr who is glued to her desk sending emails vs attending to guests asking for help or even meeting guests around the hotel, to the recreation manager & concierge who are nice but knew nothing about the area and what is there to do to the restaurant waiters who argued with each other or some that were too friendly with the guests especially female guests. I didn't make a fuss of it, despite my interest in Priority Club hotels, this time as I felt pity for the low occupancy and thus income all must be enduring even during the usually peak season.
Again, this is not a major issue and I will definitely be returning during my next holidays to the same hotel.
The one thing I hope for though is that the rooms get equipped with Wifi in the near future, I was lucky to be close to the reception to pick its signal, but other rooms were supposed to use the LAN/Wired Cable which is not practical and going to the reception is not convenient

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs go to a 2nd floor room, the views are even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relation Officer at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments from your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands &Oasis.
Please rest assured that your remarks will be taken under consideration, and sent to the relevant departments. It is always helping us to improve the services we provide to all our guests.
We are happy to read you had a good time during your vacations in our Resort. We hope to see you again soon for another memorable stay in our hotel.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    271
    112
    32
    14
See reviews for
243
342
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
's-Heerenberg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visit this hotel in Nov. 2012 and we had a really great time because the weather was very good, we had 10days, 28°!!! The food was also good and our bedroom was clean and good. The waiter/waitress are very friendly and helpfull and we had a lot contact with Romany Lotfy. He was also very amusing ! The animation team(Olga, Luca, Justin, DJ-Bazooka, Anna) where also very friendly and helpfull to. Maybe we go back there but normally we go NEVER two times to the same hotel but this was really OK!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relation Officer at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was there in June 2010
It was a good accommodation , I enjoyed everything there
The food was good , aqua park games were so good ( free of course )
The snorkeling there was a good experience you will enjoy it.
The sand beach was so nice .
You have to take many photos there.
My room view was so good ( facing the lagoon , beach , restaurant ).
There were a good nightlife there.
You have to walk. Around the resort you will enjoy it ,
There is good place for extra foods , nice restaurants .
I recommend this hotel ,this resort for everybody ( family , honeymooners ,...)
I'm looking to go there again in the next future

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ahmed,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands for your vacation and taking the time to share your feedback with us.
With a great pleasure i had to go through your feedback and getting to know that we have been up to your expectations in terms of services and facilities provided will be shared with all the team members.
We will be looking for the great pleasure of welcoming you again among us for more pleasant vacation.

Sincerest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vargon, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was at Crowne plaza for a week and it was fantastic. The staff were so kind and and took care of you well. Even though some didn't know much English, you could still understand them and they understood you.
The food was lovely. i have never seen so much food before. i'd like to give a speciel thanks to the cooks. Without good food you can't have a good day. My favourite food has to have been the chicken stuffed. I have never tasted anythink so good and tasty.
And i also think that the entertainment team (animation team) have the best job ever. They look like they have so much fun and love doing what they do. They also make everyone around them very happy, even if they don't know it. They entertained very well and the dances they did were great, they may not be professionals, but it looked like they were. They said that they hade made some mistakes, but if there was you couldn't see it because it was very well covered up. They activites were great. I had a real great time. Thank you Entertainment team :D

Shannon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your time in Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort.
I had the pleasure of reading your feedback and you have my assurance that it will be shared with our team members to let them know how they please our guests with their friendliness and response to guest needs.

I will also be pleased to share your appreciation of our food with our cooks and will please our Animation team by sharing your opinion on their good job.
In the meantime please note that we are working on improving the language skills for all our team members to reach the highest performance that satisfy all our Guests.

We will be more pleased by having the pleasure of hosting you again in Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Resort in the nearest future.

Sincerest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a week in the beginning of September and had a wonderful time during my stay. The resort is very clean and well cared for. I came for the relaxation, snorkeling, and diving (which was all excellent) but I was also quite pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food. I am vegan (no animal products) and I found plenty to eat. The Indian dishes in particular were restaurant quality. My only complaint was that there was that after 4 days or so you get a bit tired of eating the same dishes over and over. But this is a small price to pay for excellent food.

Oh and the dates were extraordinary. I must have eaten at least 7 a day.

Snorkeling and diving at the local dive resort was excellent.

I would absolutely come to the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tanny,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza for your vacation; I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectation regarding food quality, I regret to hear about repeating the food dishes. We are the only resort in Marsa Alam that offers for lunch an a la carte experience at our beach restaurant “Cardamom”, included in our all-inclusive package. During dinner, in our main restaurant “Souq Al hana” we have four live stations (Indian, Italian, Oriental and Asian) with menus that are rotated daily.

We strive to deliver our promise Great Hotels Guests Love; and we truly value your comment and hope next time; you will see the improvement and enjoy more variety of food.

Once again, thank you for sharing your vacation experience and acknowledging our efforts, the team and I looking forward to welcome you in your future vacation at Crowne Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August for 2 weeks and the hotel was very nice.
They have friendly and professional staff in the whole hotel.
The only lack is the food. Unfortunately you get the same food everyday, for supper and for dinner.After 1 week you are sick of eating everyday the same stuff.
One tiny little other bad thing is the internet.Eventhough in mostly every hotel in the world you get wifi for free, in this hotel you have to pay 4€ for 30 minutes.
But in the end we had great holidays.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort and also for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your recent stay; our first service promise to our guests is to provide great hotels guests love.

I am delighted to read of your pleasant stay but disappointed to learn that we have failed to meet your culinary expectations; we are the only Resort in Marsa Alam that offers for lunch an a la carte experience at our beach Restaurant Cardamom, included in our all-inclusive package. During dinner, in our main restaurant Souq Al Hana we have four live stations: Indian, Italian, Oriental and Asian with menus that are rotated daily. However we welcome your comment and will keep this in consideration.

The team and I would like to thank you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort in the near future!


With My Best Regards,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I just arrived from portghaleb crown plaza it was a nice trip & nice spot 4 relaxation the kids had nice vacation the hotel is nice but it doesn't give u the impression of a 5 star hotel the whole hotel has only 1 restaurant the other one opens only for 3 hrs b4 we came back it began to open at night !!the swimmingpool is small in comparison to the hotel size and the water needs to b changed from time to time. The staff r nice & polite all of them except 4 2 in the restaurant the main one they don't know how to deal with guests ,the management must take into consideration( waitress) I wont mention the names.note when coming there take fullpacKage (bbld&drinks) all inclusive cause there are no restaurants accept t j Fridays in general it is nice place need more time to b more experience good luck .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Address: Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Getaway. Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort features 345 premier rooms - all beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate comfort. The resort offers a choice of two restaurants, Souq Al hana, the main restaurant serving International cuisines and Cardamom Mediterranean restaurant, serving Italian & Greek specialties. Two bars, the Pool Bar and Lobby Lounge & Bar and a discotheque with superb views of the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club, activity courtyard, and the Lazy River. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of retail outlets on the Corniche and a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam
Crowne Plaza Marsa Alam
Marsa Alam Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.