We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Marsa Alam
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a week in the beginning of September and had a wonderful time during my stay. The resort is very clean and well cared for. I came for the relaxation, snorkeling, and diving (which was all excellent) but I was also quite pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the food. I am vegan (no animal products) and I found plenty to eat. The Indian dishes in particular were restaurant quality. My only complaint was that there was that after 4 days or so you get a bit tired of eating the same dishes over and over. But this is a small price to pay for excellent food.

Oh and the dates were extraordinary. I must have eaten at least 7 a day.

Snorkeling and diving at the local dive resort was excellent.

I would absolutely come to the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tanny,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza for your vacation; I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectation regarding food quality, I regret to hear about repeating the food dishes. We are the only resort in Marsa Alam that offers for lunch an a la carte experience at our beach restaurant “Cardamom”, included in our all-inclusive package. During dinner, in our main restaurant “Souq Al hana” we have four live stations (Indian, Italian, Oriental and Asian) with menus that are rotated daily.

We strive to deliver our promise Great Hotels Guests Love; and we truly value your comment and hope next time; you will see the improvement and enjoy more variety of food.

Once again, thank you for sharing your vacation experience and acknowledging our efforts, the team and I looking forward to welcome you in your future vacation at Crowne Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    245
    97
    29
    13
See reviews for
214
309
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August for 2 weeks and the hotel was very nice.
They have friendly and professional staff in the whole hotel.
The only lack is the food. Unfortunately you get the same food everyday, for supper and for dinner.After 1 week you are sick of eating everyday the same stuff.
One tiny little other bad thing is the internet.Eventhough in mostly every hotel in the world you get wifi for free, in this hotel you have to pay 4€ for 30 minutes.
But in the end we had great holidays.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort and also for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your recent stay; our first service promise to our guests is to provide great hotels guests love.

I am delighted to read of your pleasant stay but disappointed to learn that we have failed to meet your culinary expectations; we are the only Resort in Marsa Alam that offers for lunch an a la carte experience at our beach Restaurant Cardamom, included in our all-inclusive package. During dinner, in our main restaurant Souq Al Hana we have four live stations: Indian, Italian, Oriental and Asian with menus that are rotated daily. However we welcome your comment and will keep this in consideration.

The team and I would like to thank you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort in the near future!


With My Best Regards,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I just arrived from portghaleb crown plaza it was a nice trip & nice spot 4 relaxation the kids had nice vacation the hotel is nice but it doesn't give u the impression of a 5 star hotel the whole hotel has only 1 restaurant the other one opens only for 3 hrs b4 we came back it began to open at night !!the swimmingpool is small in comparison to the hotel size and the water needs to b changed from time to time. The staff r nice & polite all of them except 4 2 in the restaurant the main one they don't know how to deal with guests ,the management must take into consideration( waitress) I wont mention the names.note when coming there take fullpacKage (bbld&drinks) all inclusive cause there are no restaurants accept t j Fridays in general it is nice place need more time to b more experience good luck .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

room-Excellent
beach- Excellent
animation- Excellent
everything - Excellent
special thanks то Roma,Sveta,Sam,Anna,Luca,Marie,Fadi-They are so funny))))
special thanks то red sea...
red sea is ...
every day turtles,octopus, scates,cuttle.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We take pleasure in knowing that you had a great experience during your recent stay; our first service promise to our guests is to provide great hotels guests love.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and compliments especially in recognizing our great animation team, and we certainly look forward to having you with us again on your future visits to Marsa Alam.

Yours sincerely,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really very good hotel!Nice buildings in nubian style,pool area with a lot of plants.Long beach,where you can always find an undisturbed place,snoorkeling from the trap but there is a place without the reef where you can lay in the water.Reef goes deep,sometimes can see dolphines close to the beach.Rooms are satisfactory except the bathroom doors,which are like in the 'americans saloon'.Beach bar...hmm..it is total tagedy-wooden wreckage,no ice,sometimes barman spoken only arabic.In conclusion,i am satisfied visiting Crowne Plaza!!!Special thanks to Mr.Ahmed Elshaer(restaurant manager) for His kindness and profesionality,Hani and Essam from lobby bar for all.Peter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Peter,

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us, and for recognizing Ahmed, Hani and Essam.

I noted your remarks about the bathroom’s door and our beach bar and I will share it with the management team.

I hope you had a safe trip back and look forward to welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Port Ghalib.

Sincerely,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm just back from Crown Palza Sahara Sands since 10 days. It was my first time to Marsa Allam and for sure won't be the last time to the same destination or same Hotel, what is nice about the Hotel that you feel home, the rooms are so nice and big, the lagoon and beach and all workers in the hotel were so friendly and warm, specially the international animation team, they were great, they are so friendly.. And they work in a team which I think make them more successful in doing their job and it really shows to us as guests at the hotel.. I used to interact with their program and activities all day long…
Thank you all.. Sam, Roma, Sveta, Anna, Mari, Mario and Vito..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just got back from a 10day holiday in this hotel. Very beautiful hotel!

Rooms: nice, large rooms,

Hygiene: could be better, area around the pool isn't cleaned every day,...
The majority of the chairs at the pool are broken or damaged.

Food: good food, lots of variation in the buffet, service not so good (fairly chaotic)
Restaurant too small if the hotel is full.

Animation: very good animation!! Sam, Fadi, Mario, Roma, Anna, Sveta and Marie are doing a great job entertaining the visitors, both the animation during the day as the show in the evening are lots of fun. We had a great time with them.

Environment: beautiful red sea!

Sofie, Gerard, Laurent, Marie from Belgium

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam
Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Hotel
Crowne Plaza Marsa Alam
Marsa Alam Crowne Plaza
Address: Port Ghalib | PO Box 23, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#24 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Getaway. Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort features 345 premier rooms - all beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate comfort. The resort offers a choice of two restaurants, Souq Al hana, the main restaurant serving International cuisines and Cardamom Mediterranean restaurant, serving Italian & Greek specialties. Two bars, the Pool Bar and Lobby Lounge & Bar and a discotheque with superb views of the Red Sea, swimming pool or Port Ghalib International Marina. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, Six Senses Spa, Lulee Kids Club, activity courtyard, and the Lazy River. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of retail outlets on the Corniche and a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Sahara Sands Port Ghalib Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.