We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsa Nakari Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marsa Alam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsa Nakari Village
Save
You added Marsa Nakari Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've visited Marsa Shagra a couple of times so thought we'd give Nakari a go. Good points -very well organised (like Shagra), great food, lovely kitchen, restaurant and housekeeping staff, who couldn't do enough to help or be friendly. The reef not quite as good as Shagra, but still lovely. Visibility not great while we were there, but that was down to the season and the full moon. Prettier than Shagra and much much less busy. We did the wreck trip to Abu Ghusun and really enjoyed the dives, the lunch, coffee and paddle in the lagoon. On our last day a pod of dolphins came into the bay and the guys in charge of the boats and dive shelter piled us into ribs and took us to sit in the middle of the bay so the dolphins kept sweeping right by us. We were the only Brits there so spent our time with several other nationalities, which we really enjoyed.

Less good; there have been several references to the more relaxed laid back dive staff, but I'm afraid that wasn't a plus point for us. Although always helpful and polite, they were generally less pro-active, less engaged and less fun than the staff at Shagra. We felt it particularly because we had a 14 year old and an 11 year old with us. The staff at Shagra made their holiday last year, whereas at Nakari only one person made any real effort with them. Other people there also commented that the dive staff were always polite and helpful but not particularly forthcoming. As an indicator, I don't think any of them knew our childrens' names, yet when we called in at Shagra on the way to the airport, 4 of the dive shelter staff remembered them, their names, and even the nickname they called my husband by (after a year) and met them with smiles and hugs.

One reason for this might be that the Nakari dive and reception staff all seemed to be constantly on mobile phones. While they broke off their conversations to speak, they resumed them immediately afterwards, so you always felt that you were interrupting them. I don't think they intended to be rude, but sometimes their mobile phone use would have been unacceptable in most work or conversational situations.

I wouldn't take our children there again. Though lovely for adults, there were no other children or teenagers there, the dive staff (with one honorable exception) didn't really engage with them and they felt a bit out of place. The orientation dive at the beginning and the truck dive were fine for adults but felt too rushed for my 11 year old and she got rattled, so the two of us ended up diving alone. Obviously we wouldn't want to hold up everyone else, but this never seemed to be an issue at Shagra.

It's a real shame that they charge for even the short rib dives now. It makes it far too expensive for a family of four (E100 for the morning).

In short, an idyllic relaxed pretty place, great food, good diving. Perfect for self-sufficient adult couples or groups. For a family holiday, I'd stick to Shagra.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Though the Nakari village is certainly more enjoyable if you dive (we didn't), my girlfriend and I had 4 wonderful days in this resort. Nice and clean room and bathrooms, decent restaurant with a beautiful porch, very friendly and helpful staff. We spent our days just relaxing on the beach and snorkeling on the amazing house reef.
Considering the overall low price, I would definitely recommend it, especially for divers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very nice house reef and some very good dives nearby (Abu Dabbab & Elphinstone). The staff is great and the food is very nice too. The location is very quiet and all you have to think of is dive, relax or eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Warning: if you like to swim, Nakari might not be the best location. Because of sea currents, the little bay on which the resort sits is filled with garbage and it is very rocky. It is possible to dip in the water, but you don't stay there for long.

Most visitors come for the diving (Nakari is also a diving centre), but it is possible to just sit on the beach and read a book. The food at the restaurant is delicious and varied. Nakari is quite a distance from Marsa Alam, the nearby town, and there are not a lot of activities to do there, so be prepared if you don't dive.

There is a small souvenir shop (postcards, t-shirts), and prices are all in euros. These items are prohibitive when compared to regular Egyptian prices, although relatively cheap for European standards (postcard at Nakari is 1 euro, but 0.12 euro in Cairo, for example).

Room Tip: Bring something to do if you're not into diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East Sussex England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just back from Nakari Village with my daughters, and if it's good diving, a bountiful house reef, delicious food, peace and cleanliness you're after, this is the place for you. We booked with Dolphin Swim company and the holiday included a trip to Abu Dabub to swim with the turtles, 3 full day trips out by boat from Marsa Alam to the Dolphin House Marine Park reef, where we spend an amazing 3 and a half hours one day swimming and playing with many dolphins, and a couple of visits to the main sister village Shagra nearby. Our guide, rep and now friend, Khaled, was so helpful and ensured we got the best from our time there. Nakari is small and friendly, nothing but sea and sand to the front and desert and mountains to the back. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a fabulous week at Nakari. The food is outstanding here so much effort has gone into it and it shows. A bit more fun and relaxed than Shagra, they could do with injecting it back there too. Preferred the house reef at Shagra but still had some fabulous dives. Do the trip to dolphin house. Incredible diving plus the chance to snorkel with the dolphins, we were lucky and did, informative trip. Do take the time to wander along the beach and pick up the litter, it's amazing what you find. Sadly all washed in from the liveaboards but not in horrendous amounts, every little stroll with a bag helps. Definitely could do with A/C in the en suite huts. Finally found out the best way to sleep was with my feet at the head of the bed so I was closer to the fan. Stunning sunsets to be seen too. Tip, plenty of insect repellent on in the evenings here.

Room Tip: En Suite Mandarahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Went on a diving holiday for the second time here. My boyfriend has been coming here for years now and here is why: the house riff is amazing. Since I am only an open water diver with at start of the holiday less then 20 dives, I am not trained yet to do dives with high current, entering/exiting on big boats, caves etc. The beach and diving centre are less than 5 minutes walk. Once equipped in your diving equipment, you can immediately walk into the sea and start your dive. There is so much to see for me as a beginner and for the rest of the group who have made 100++ dives. Most beautiful sites at around 8 meters. We stayed in a hut: good beds, no bathroom, no aircon. The shared bathrooms and toilets are cleaned multiple times a day and always in perfect condition. There is always enough hot water to take a warm shower. If you are willing to pay more, you can book the chalets with bathroom and aircon. The restaurant is suberb: great freshly cooked food, a lot of dishes to choose from, never had stomach trouble because of the food. The staff is really nice and really helpful. Overall, we are definitely planning another trip back to Nakari again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marsa Nakari Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Nakari Village

Address: Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Nakari Village 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsa Nakari is a charming sea-side lodge approximately 20 km south of Marsa Alam city. Its main appeal is its proximity to the Sammadai protectorate (Dolphin House); one of the Red Sea’s most important national parks and attraction. There are various other highlights including Wadi el Gemal national park, desert trips, cultural encounters, historic sites, Luxor, daily boat, and much more. Marsa Nakari is also a historical site dating back to the Roman times and known to the ancients as the port of Nechesia. The remains of its ruin are still present atop a hill towards the southern end of the bay. Marsa Nakari is the dream holiday for those seeking to experience Marsa Alam’s true heritage. Expect the silence and serenity of the desert atmosphere and the world-renowned beauty of the red sea reefs. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal impact policy towards the environment. Our accommodations consist of standard tents, luxurious royal tents, huts, or deluxe chalets. Natures beautiful simplicity permeates our village theme and our tourism model will give you a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of Marsa Alam's pristine environment. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsa Nakari Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.