We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsa Nakari Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marsa Nakari Village to your Saves list
Marsa Nakari Village
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Viterbo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Though the Nakari village is certainly more enjoyable if you dive (we didn't), my girlfriend and I had 4 wonderful days in this resort. Nice and clean room and bathrooms, decent restaurant with a beautiful porch, very friendly and helpful staff. We spent our days just relaxing on the beach and snorkeling on the amazing house reef.
Considering the overall low price, I would definitely recommend it, especially for divers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very nice house reef and some very good dives nearby (Abu Dabbab & Elphinstone). The staff is great and the food is very nice too. The location is very quiet and all you have to think of is dive, relax or eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Warning: if you like to swim, Nakari might not be the best location. Because of sea currents, the little bay on which the resort sits is filled with garbage and it is very rocky. It is possible to dip in the water, but you don't stay there for long.

Most visitors come for the diving (Nakari is also a diving centre), but it is possible to just sit on the beach and read a book. The food at the restaurant is delicious and varied. Nakari is quite a distance from Marsa Alam, the nearby town, and there are not a lot of activities to do there, so be prepared if you don't dive.

There is a small souvenir shop (postcards, t-shirts), and prices are all in euros. These items are prohibitive when compared to regular Egyptian prices, although relatively cheap for European standards (postcard at Nakari is 1 euro, but 0.12 euro in Cairo, for example).

Room Tip: Bring something to do if you're not into diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East Sussex England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just back from Nakari Village with my daughters, and if it's good diving, a bountiful house reef, delicious food, peace and cleanliness you're after, this is the place for you. We booked with Dolphin Swim company and the holiday included a trip to Abu Dabub to swim with the turtles, 3 full day trips out by boat from Marsa Alam to the Dolphin House Marine Park reef, where we spend an amazing 3 and a half hours one day swimming and playing with many dolphins, and a couple of visits to the main sister village Shagra nearby. Our guide, rep and now friend, Khaled, was so helpful and ensured we got the best from our time there. Nakari is small and friendly, nothing but sea and sand to the front and desert and mountains to the back. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a fabulous week at Nakari. The food is outstanding here so much effort has gone into it and it shows. A bit more fun and relaxed than Shagra, they could do with injecting it back there too. Preferred the house reef at Shagra but still had some fabulous dives. Do the trip to dolphin house. Incredible diving plus the chance to snorkel with the dolphins, we were lucky and did, informative trip. Do take the time to wander along the beach and pick up the litter, it's amazing what you find. Sadly all washed in from the liveaboards but not in horrendous amounts, every little stroll with a bag helps. Definitely could do with A/C in the en suite huts. Finally found out the best way to sleep was with my feet at the head of the bed so I was closer to the fan. Stunning sunsets to be seen too. Tip, plenty of insect repellent on in the evenings here.

Room Tip: En Suite Mandarahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Went on a diving holiday for the second time here. My boyfriend has been coming here for years now and here is why: the house riff is amazing. Since I am only an open water diver with at start of the holiday less then 20 dives, I am not trained yet to do dives with high current, entering/exiting on big boats, caves etc. The beach and diving centre are less than 5 minutes walk. Once equipped in your diving equipment, you can immediately walk into the sea and start your dive. There is so much to see for me as a beginner and for the rest of the group who have made 100++ dives. Most beautiful sites at around 8 meters. We stayed in a hut: good beds, no bathroom, no aircon. The shared bathrooms and toilets are cleaned multiple times a day and always in perfect condition. There is always enough hot water to take a warm shower. If you are willing to pay more, you can book the chalets with bathroom and aircon. The restaurant is suberb: great freshly cooked food, a lot of dishes to choose from, never had stomach trouble because of the food. The staff is really nice and really helpful. Overall, we are definitely planning another trip back to Nakari again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

A million miles from western life.

First rate staff, fabulous food, amazing diving.

Relax under traditional palm shades in the Bedoiun area. Wander across the scortching hot sand to the world class diving. And snorkling with the pod of dolphins on the last day - just 2 minutes off the beach was amazing.

Room service - no!
Plasma TV - no!
Spa - no!
Dressing for dinner - no!

Just relax in a different way of life and go home chilled. 2010 was the first holiday I've never felt like coming home from. Im off again in 2011.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marsa Nakari Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Nakari Village

Address: Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Nakari Village 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsa Nakari is a charming sea-side lodge approximately 20 km south of Marsa Alam city. Its main appeal is its proximity to the Sammadai protectorate (Dolphin House); one of the Red Sea’s most important national parks and attraction. There are various other highlights including Wadi el Gemal national park, desert trips, cultural encounters, historic sites, Luxor, daily boat, and much more. Marsa Nakari is also a historical site dating back to the Roman times and known to the ancients as the port of Nechesia. The remains of its ruin are still present atop a hill towards the southern end of the bay. Marsa Nakari is the dream holiday for those seeking to experience Marsa Alam’s true heritage. Expect the silence and serenity of the desert atmosphere and the world-renowned beauty of the red sea reefs. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal impact policy towards the environment. Our accommodations consist of standard tents, luxurious royal tents, huts, or deluxe chalets. Natures beautiful simplicity permeates our village theme and our tourism model will give you a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of Marsa Alam's pristine environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Marsa Nakari Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsa Nakari Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.