We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina

Save Saved
You added Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Om El Gorayfat Bay, Km 67 Qusier | Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 hotels in Marsa Alam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had a great two week stay at the madina, loved the food and the efficiency of the staff.
Food in the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice.
from the moment we checked in the the minute we checked out we were treated very well.....highly recommended!

I would like to add that the first Choice Rep, Allan, was excellent, please ignore the rude comments made from SEEDO, to be frank I don't know what planet he's on as Allan fully explained to us how to save money, he recommended booking some trips via reception such as El Quesir and how to get to Port Ghalib cheaper than booking with First Choice. I would also like to add that Tiger Marine have a bad name, they sometimes don't even pick up their customers on time or refuse to give people refunds if they cancel their trips. I and my partner went on the Oceans snorkeling boat trip which was just amazing! English speaking crew, all inclusive, equipment included and we all seen the Turtles and Dyson the Dugong, take an underwater camera with you.
Allan was helpful and friendly to everyone and you can see that he enjoys his job, Thanks for getting us our seat requests for our flight home Allan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    196
    30
    1
    9
See reviews for
270
345
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just came back from an amazing week in Marsa Alam. Hotel’s staff were amazing – very helpful and friendly. Room cleaned daily to very high standard and lovely animals made from towels, including an elephant! Food varied, well cooked – no stomach problems through our stay. The best thing about the hotel its shallow sheltered beach with an awesome coral reef. We spent hours snorkeling and saw an array of lovely corals, fish and marine life. Went for a try dive with and instructor from Coraya Divers – what an experience! All in all a lovely holiday:
Amazing weather (5-12 December)
Relaxing hotel – everything provided, very good facilities
Staff exceptional
Just book it!!!
Can’t wait to go back to Egypt!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bedrooms very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by the room boys. There are no fancy extras in the bathroom, however there are soap dispensers by the hand-basin and in the shower area, so ladies if you need shower caps, separate bars of soap, shampoos etc., bring your own along. We slept very well as there is absolutely no noise at all, mainly because there is no traffic anywhere!

Staff throughout the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Food well presented and of good quality. We mainly ate freshly cooked dishes at lunch (pasta) and dinner from the outside grill but had no stomach problems even after eating the salads, desserts or fruit (which we peeled) which are all kept in refrigerated displays.

No need to bring beach towels as these are provided by the hotel on production of the ticket you’re given on check- in. Some of the beach towels are looking a bit faded and worn but the guy in charge of handing them out was very happy, when asked, to change them for newer towels. Everything is done with a smile at this hotel.

Don’t bother buying Egyptian currency in UK, just take Sterling or Euros. There is a cash machine in the hotel opposite Sol Y Mar El Madina which converts Sterling/Euros etc to Egyptian currency if you require local money for the shops in the medina, but most prices quoted in Euros anyway, otherwise as it’s All Inclusive can’t think what you would need cash for.

Entertainment team work hard, speak good English and are very friendly without being pushy.

The snorkelling in the bay (just a couple of minutes out of the front of the hotel) is AMAZING.
Either walk into the sea within the roped off area (it’s very shallow for quite a long way out, and therefore safe for children) and you can paddle whilst the fishes swimming around your ankles. Alternatively enter the sea off the pier. It really is a paradise for divers and snorkelers.

There are several trips offered by Tour Operators, but quite frankly Marsa Alam is a long way from anywhere of cultural interest and it is probably best viewed as a resort based holiday, unless you want to go diving further along the coast. We researched the area before booking our holiday so were not disappointed at being so far from the sights - we'll visit them from somewhere more convenient in the fuure.

Weather was consistently hot whilst we were there in November, occasionally quite windy but there are wicker wind shields and parasols on the beach which you can move to block the draught if necessary.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Sol Y Mar El Madina for a resort based holiday as cleanliness, quality of food and pleasant staff are high on our list of “must haves” for a holiday, and this hotel scored very highly on all these criteria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a week here from 27th November, the staff are exceptional, they try very hard to make sure your stay meets your expectations.
The rooms are good, clean, no issues, the food is really very good. The chef makes a personal apperance and talks to all guests and asks if the food is good, is there anything they could do better. The hotel manager really has a grip on what makes a good hotel and experience. And all the staff have bought into the vision. When we return to Marsa Alam I will use this hotel again.

The Rep. ALAN. My opinion. a complete waste of time, and very unproffesional, not that we had any great dealings with him. welcome meeting was enough for me. they way he presents himself is very poor, he insults your intelligence and straight out lies about his competition. His trips are overpriced, he is only interested in himself and your money. I dont have an issue with sales, but question everything he tells you, be very specific. And dont book anything until you speak to a few other people. Take some advice from the dive school coral diving just on the beach. .

Go on a trip with Tiger Marine, they will pop up and down the beach, they have a centre at the other end of the beech. Great people great trip. Unles you listen to Alan who will tell you they are unsafe and have no toilets on the boats blah blah.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went here from 27th Nov - 4th Dec and loved every minute. Our expectations were low given we have not been to Egypt before and were a bit concerned over the media reports however we shouldn't have been worried.
Key points:
- hotel probably cleanest we have ever been to
- staff could not do enough to help you they were excellent - every single one!
- temperature in Dec really good 27deg plus - really comfortable
- water is provided in all inclusive
- shower is not great but seriously - you are in middle of desert so u have to take this into account. it's not europe!
- food is excellent and lots of choice
- try the egyptian beans for breakfast
- go snorkelling!! (thanks to our thomson rep being more interested in selling trips we did not realise that there is an excellent snorkelling experience on the beach of the hotel until the 3rd day when we wandered down the pier!)

Thanks to everyone who made our holiday a good one. For Egypt virgins, just try it, and stay at this hotel it's great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just got back from a week in a very sunny Marsa Alam. Never been to Egypt before but we'll definitely be returning!!! we went with three other families, all the husbands dive so they joined the dive school & had an amazing time, the mum's enjoyed the pool, beach & cocktails whilst the kids loved the snorkelling & water park. Something for everyone here.
Staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for you & Hany the Thomson rep was a gem. The food was of a very high standard & varied throughout our week. The choice was endless & the children were catered for too. Not many Brits at this resort so really felt like we were away from it all. We caught a taxi into Port Ghalib one nite which was well worth it, great handbags!!! We also went on a trip to Abu Dabab (organised by the dive school) & saw turtles swimming in an amazing reef. Loved our week, 5 out of 5 on every level.

Room Tip: Small hotel with only 140 rooms on 3 floors, some face the pool so if u fancy that then ask when boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We're just back form a week at Sol Y Mar and had a really fabulous time. The hotel yes is fairly small so that means less options at mealtimes but what is there is presented beautifully and is fresh and tasty made with what seemed to be very good quality ingredients. They try hard to accommodate your needs and have a varied option on every night. Breakfast got a little boring as it never changed from day to day and I would say that just having one chef only doing all the egg products wasn't enough as by the time you got back to your table the rest of the family had finished theirs or were back in the queue for their crepe/omelette or whatever. Crepes are going to go so would make sense if they cooked batches constantly not one at a time.
There was plenty of choice of sunbeds and outside tables for meals, something a guest from one of the bigger hotels we met said was an issue at theirs where the restaurant closed for half an hour at 8 to restock!

Most of the staff, not all were terribly friendly and would go out of the way to make you feel special, they learnt childrens names and what you liked to drink so they could get it for you. A couple of the staff made you feel like you were a complete nuisance which was a shame. The pool area, bedrooms, public areas etc were exceptionally clean and comfortable. My only gripes about the room was that the air con was v noisy and the shower was extremely disappointing!
We didn't engage much with the animation team but what we did see of them i was very impressed by and our children (girls aged 7 & 4) loved all the team, especially the mini disco!
The beach area was exceptional! Gorgeous bay with v warm shallow clear water and beautiful fish to look at even if not snorkelling. Our girls mastered this on day one due to the lovely water and loved every minute. The beach facilities were also excellent, good beach bar and i loved having a massage in the outdoor 'tent' with the sound and smell of the beach breezing through the muslin curtains, bliss.
Our rep Hany was brilliant, great sense of humour, always a smile and went out of his way to do something for us which was beyond his duty. Sadly he was moving off to another resort after we left but we were lucky enough to meet Sarah who just joined as we left and was on our desert safari trip for familiarisation training and she was a joy to spend the day with, even in her 'civvies' was fantastic with our girls and will no doubt be an asset to the resort.
We took two trips - one on the seascape submarine which we all really enjoyed and were lucky enough to see sea cows as well as hundreds of other stunning fish. Good value and well executed.
And we went on the desert safari trip. In hindsight it was very good if a little 'set up' and throughly enjoyed the whole experience, quad biking, camel riding, seeing the 'raw' desert and the moon rising etc. Lots of things to see and do, good food and bedouin entertainment. It was very pricey though (over £300 for family of 4) but a good experience to try though i wouldn't do it again, its a one off trip.
All in all loved Marsa Alam and this hotel, will definitely go back in another october, 33 degrees, sunshine everyday and 31 degree sea temperature, its a perfect half term destination.

Room Tip: lots of people recommend getting a pool view but frankly you could see that all day! We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina

Address: Om El Gorayfat Bay, Km 67 Qusier | Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Dar El Madina Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Dar El Madina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.