We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but does not deserve a 5 star ranking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gorgonia Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gorgonia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gorgonia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   International Road 48 KM, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Marsa Alam
paris
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good hotel but does not deserve a 5 star ranking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went for one week at Christmas.
The hotel is nice and well kept though we did not find that they lived up to their 5 stars. We stayed at the Sofitel in Taba Heights last year and there was a huge difference between the two hotels.

The sea is amazing for diving and snorkeling and there is a great diving center nearby, TGI (Great and friendly service, great rates too) my husband got his Divers licensee while we were there)
Please note that if you have small children, there is no pier on the beach so you cannot actually enter the sea except by foot or swimming. Bring adequate shoes for swimming and DO NOT walk on the coral. We saw quite a few visitors doing so and by this rate I fear that the coral will suffer greatly within the next few years. Marsa Alam is still quite preserved and we saw a variety of fish, dolphins and even a dugong ( the last ones mentioned was on a boat excursion)

We found the food really good in general and the hotel prepared an amazing Christmas dinner in a tent for everyone.
The service was quite poor at times. If you arrive for dinner at 9 pm it can be hard to get served drinks at your table or catch the attention of a waiter and also they start clearing away the buffet. Also, the late breakfast served at the beach bar is very poor and they ran out of pastry very early and do not stock up either.
The bar service staff were also a bit moody at times and if you are a keen cocktail drinker ( we are not) pass your way as very few drinks are included in the All Inclusive and the cocktails are of very poor quality.

The Concierges were very friendly and spoke several languages. They were always more than helpful during our stay.

Our room was very big and lovely. We upgraded to be on a top floor and did have a bit of sea view. I'm not sure whether we should have paid for this though it wasn't expensive for the week.

The hotel is about 1.45 hours from the airport and there is nothing to do nearby. The hotel offers excursions and we spent a lovely day on a boat snorkeling and diving. Not too expensive either.
I had a great massage at the spa but they are really pushy trying to sell you all sorts of package deals and the prices changes by the minute! The spa is independent of the hotel as far as I understood.

This is a nice hotel and as I said, great for diving and snorkeling but I doubt that we will return.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor rooms beginning with 20 something. We were in 2092 and had a seaview. It is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    352
    88
    39
    22
See reviews for
336
476
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our week in january was terribly windy, but it is nothing the hotel can do about. Overall impression was therefore a bit cold, but hotel is designed for summerheat and is designed well. In a vinter is best to get a room on the north crescent (buildings named Dolphin and Sea Horse). Rooms with a pool wiev have sunbeds you can sunbath on even if it is windstorm outside. Perfect location for divers and exploring the reef and sealife. Nothing around the hotel but desert. No restrictions on walking around as is common in other bays. A little souk with souvenirs, clothes etc, very good clean and spacious all-inclusive restaurant with fine variety of food. We were satisfied with our week there despite weather.

Room Tip: Dolphin and Sea Horse buildings have balconies/terraces facing sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have been for a week end of October - beginning of November. The weather was perfect - 30 -33 degrees and the sea 26 -28 degrees. At the beginning there was some wind, but the last two days - no wind.
The hotel is nice, rooms are confortable, food is OK. Animations are not very good (especially meant for Italian and German).
The most interesting is to go after the the coral reef - snorkelling paradise. The are two entrances : north - you need to swim for 300 m (you have to be in good physical shape) and south - more easier to access - only 10 -15m. The advantage if you enter north side is that you can go down following the stream and then exit on the south side. It's like paradise: we saw a lot of coloured fishes, turtles and even a big murene of 2m. The corals are fabulous. It was so beautiful that we stayed the majority of our time in the water to admire this paradise.
Also, the lagon before the coral reef is interesting: you can see blue-spotted ray if you go in the middle of the lagon (not near the corals) and also turtles.? There was one turtle (not so big) which was very friendly: when it was going us to breathe, we touched its shell and she was not afraid. it was very nice, especially for kids.
We did also the trip of one day to visit Luxor, Karnak temple, Kings valley : it is a long, but intense trip (it was nice to see the temples, to cross the Nile and to see the well preserved graves).
I recommend this hotel especially for snorkelling, but also for tranquility of the hotel (in the middle of desert).
The only negative point is the charter flights and the timetables (night flight).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Even though I heard several complaints from other people in the resort I can state that I was more than happy with the hotel. The only negative would be the personell with their speed and friendlyness. Yes, it was Ramadan, but especially the personell at the bar were bad.
We had a sea view room right at the beach which was perfect.
The diving base next to the hotel provided everything I needed and I was able to do my 11 dives within 5 days.
Food was sufficient and good. Also it changed regularly.
The animation shows in the evening are not worth visiting.
The pool area is nice and the beach is perfect to relax. The beach is cleaned everyday and due to the set-up you always have privacy.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the animation teams base as it is getting very loud in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice and friendly hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, good furnished.
Hotel staff is friendly, helpfull, ....
Cleanless, enough umbrellas and sun loungers
Hotel was almost full but you don´t feel it....
You have no possibilities for shopping, historical center, ....BUT if you know it, no problem. The resort is space. Close to the Wadi Gamal National Park.

Delicious cuisine, 1 main restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants - pizzeria and fish restaurant. International cuisine, every day - egyptian corner. The food is really excellent, wide choice - maybe too wide :-) (many bars)

The local reef wonderful for snorkellers :-) It´s like a dream ....

I heard mostly italian, german and french.

Would go back and would recommend it to anyone...:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hello again.

Me and my fiance spent a week here after a fabulous cruise on the Nile.

The hotel is not something extraordinary although it was a totally okay place to unwind and relax while working on your tan. The beach is not the white soft sandy beach you would want to find, but a hostile rocky place where you really need to use shoes. The pool is better but it's not a resort for complete relaxation since there are Animators there that, as always, encourages normal calm people to become a nuisance for others.
A guess it's more of a family hotel, and not so much for couples.

It gets a 4 from us, but barely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in May for 2 weeks
So, the best things first:
The outer coral reef is outstanding, one of the best we have ever seen! The outer wall grows and branches in beautiful coral gardens mostly of the porites solida family, hundred of years old, healthy from bottom to the top, reaching 7 metres in height. There are also some nice fire-blade corals, star corals.
Surprisingly the fish variety was poor, maybe depending on the season or overfishing. Anyway we saw some fishes we have never seen before: zebra shark, honeycomb filefish, star puffer,broom filefish, orbicular spadefish. There are hundreds surgeon fish on the top of the reef, some turtles, guitar fish... Not many groups of fish.
The visibility was good on the far left and poor on the right (also depending on the season, they say July is far better, but you have to stand the heat!) due to the cold current catching more the left-north part.
The outer reef is from 150m far from the beach entry on the left-north ( enter at the tip of the small bay past the hotel grounds) to 20m far right-enter at the dive center.
The small book you get in your room is excellent, explaining the reef,entries, etc!
Inside lagoons are murky, the left one is good for swimming, if you are a serious snorkeller, don’t waste your time there, go out, you will be mostly alone!
The wind constantly blows, sometimes strong. It is good, you don’t feel the heat and it is bad, it lowers the visibility, sometimes the sea is too rough for the outer reef. Check the tides for snorkelling!
Diving centre is very helpful and professional, we’ve been to El Qulaan islands, Sharm el Luly, Marsa Figuera.
The hotel: nice big rooms, quiet, little animation (could be even less or none!). The right hand rooms are more noisy due to the generator plant in the vicinity, the staff is very kind and professional- more freely speaking than during our visit to Egypt years before. The inside restaurant is badly aerated and poorly air-conditioned, so we ate outside- not enough space outside,you have to wait for the table.
The food: lots of choice, we avoided the cold starters and salads and nevertheless we got a stomach infection. We were surprised and annoyed, it never happened to us in last 15 years travelling around and eating in low and high places! Possibly we got it in the fish restaurant ( you have a free meal there once a week, if you reserve), from the seafood salad or the nauseating sleazy grouper fillet we only tried. We overheard some others complaining with high fever and vomit,we didn`t have nothing like that,”only” cramps and diarrhoea, cured with homoeopathy, anise tea, gin and 85% dark chocolate in two days!There seems to be an endemic problem in the food chain.
Conclusion: If you are a real reef lover it is definitely worth it !
By the way: In the desert there is a lot of plastic flying around, the Bedouin no longer live in tents, they live now in cardboard shacks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gorgonia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorgonia Beach Resort

Address: International Road 48 KM, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gorgonia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gorgonia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgonia Beach Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorgonia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.